Editor's Note — This story was updated in its entirety on March 1 and will be updated periodically. However, you should still check with the official state websites before you commit to travel plans. Top photo: Ranch to Market Road 505 in West Texas / Lisa Roe
(CNN) — Total cases of Covid-19 have reached past the 28.6 million mark in the United States, and some states continue to enforce travel restrictions and quarantines.
Even if some US states have no restrictions on allowing leisure travel, all their official websites have important Covid-19 safety information. For instance, most states have mandates on face masks in public settings.
This list is alphabetical and includes links to state websites that have important details you should read before you cross state lines:
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in Alabama. However, visitors should be aware of the state's mask mandate, as it applies to travelers, too. It's effective through March 5 (though it's been extended numerous times). You can check here for updates.
Alaska's Turnagain Arm near Anchorage makes for a scenic drive.
UPDATE: Visitors to Alaska are no longer required to have a negative result from a Covid-19 test to enter, though voluntary testing is still recommended. Gov. Mike Dunleavy said the state's emergency Covid-19 declaration has been allowed to expire, according to a news release from the governor's office. As of March 1, the state's official Safe Travels site did not reflect the announced change.
The Cholla Cactus Garden is a quick, flat quarter-mile loop at Joshua Tree National Park.
Courtesy Glauco Puig-Santana/NPS
California has lifted its stay-at-home order but discourages out-of-state visitors. People are encouraged to quarantine for 10 days upon entering the state. San Francisco and Santa Clara counties have a 10-day mandatory quarantine. Los Angeles County requires visitors to fill out this online travel form. In most counties, restaurants can serve patrons outdoors and hotels can accommodate visitors. Part of US Highway 1 in Monterey County continues to be closed because of a mudslide.
Find out more:
You'll need to fill out a health affdavit to stay overnight in Aspen.
Jeremy Swanson/The Little Nell
UPDATE: Pitkin County, Colorado (which includes ski resort Aspen/Snowmass), requires overnight visitors to complete a health affidavit and provide a negative Covid-19 test taken within 72 hours before your arrival or face a mandatory 14-day quarantine. This will remain in effect until at least April 30.
There are no other known travel restrictions in the rest of Colorado, though nonessential travel is not recommended. Find out more:
Anyone traveling to Connecticut from anywhere other than New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island must self-quarantine for 10 days. You must also fill out a travel health form. Failure to do either could result in a $500 fine. You can be exempt from the quarantine with a negative Covid-19 test result taken within 72 hours before your arrival or after getting a negative result for a test taken after arrival.
If you have tested positive for Covid-19 within 90 days and have clinically recovered or not been symptomatic for 10 days, you're not required to self-quarantine. But you must provide written proof of a positive test result to the Commissioner of Public Health via email to: DPH.COVID-Travel@ct.gov or via fax to: (860) 326-0529.
Sanibel Island is just off the Gulf Coast in southwest Florida.
UPDATE: Hawaii has a complicated and evolving set of travel requirements, and you can expect variation even within the islands. You should read them thoroughly before you plan a trip and check often for updates.
Travelers 5 and older who want to bypass the 10-day mandatory quarantine must have their negative Covid-19 test results -- from a trusted testing partner -- taken within 72 hours of the final leg of departure. You must upload your negative test result to the Safe Travels system before you leave or, as an alternative to uploading, bring a hard copy of a negative test result before boarding your flight.
If you want to take in the Chicago skyline in person, learn about the city's Covid-19 protocols first.
As of March 1, there were no statewide restrictions in Illinois, but visitors heading to Chicago have been placed in two categories -- orange and yellow. Anyone from an orange state must quarantine for 10 days or have a negative Covid-19 test result no more than 72 hours old to avoid the quarantine. There are no specific requirements if you're coming from a yellow state.
While mostly open, Kansas has some specific quarantine requirements subject to change. Check here for updates and more details.
Louisville is known for its parks, which are excellent places to go for outdoor rest and recreation. This is Cherokee Park pictured above.
The Bluegrass State is discouraging out-of-state leisure travel. If you decide to go anyway, the state asks you to self-quarantine for 14 days. Read Kentucky's travel advisory here.
Travelers must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival or fill out a travel protocol form stating they've received a negative Covid-19 test within 72 hours. You may also get tested upon arriving in Maine but must quarantine while awaiting results. Residents of New Hampshire and Vermont are exempt. Check here for updates.
Before you try to see Baltimore's Inner Harbor, get familiar with Maryland's Covid-19 measures.
Joe Sohm/Visions of America/Universal Images Group Editorial/ via Getty
UPDATE: People who travel to Maryland must either get a negative Covid-19 test result within 72 hours of arrival, get a test immediately upon arrival and self-quarantine until getting a negative result or self-quarantine for 10 days. This applies to people coming from all places except Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia and Washington, DC. Check the following for updates: VisitMaryland guide | The governor's recovery plan | PDF with detailed instructions (pages 2 and 3).
Otherwise, visitors must quarantine for 10 days, have proof of a negative Covid-19 test taken within 72 hours of arrival or test upon arrival and quarantine until a negative result is returned. You could be fined $500 a day if you don't comply. Check here for updates.
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in Michigan, though some of the activities and venues vacationers might enjoy are not open or very limited in operations for now. Check here for updates.
The Stone Arch Bridge crosses the Mississippi River in downtown Minneapolis.
Dan Anderson/Courtesy of Meet Minneapolis
UPDATE (March 2): As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in Mississippi. Gov. Tate Reeves also announced March 2 the end to all county mask mandates and that businesses can reopen at 100% capacity. The new orders will go into effect March 3, Tate said. Check here for updates.
The Mission Valley holds some of Montana's most spectacular scenery.
The Neon Museum in Las Vegas is open with limited capacity for social distancing. And you must wear a mask.
Visitors to New Hampshire are asked to self-quarantine for 10 days unless they are arriving from elsewhere in New England. People who get a negative Covid-19 test result on or after the seventh day of quarantining can break it early.
If it has been 14 days or more since you got your second Covid-19 vaccine, you do not need to quarantine or get tested.
You can also bypass the requirements if you have previously tested positive for active Covid-19 infection in the past 90 days. If you had a previous infection that was more than 90 days ago, you must still follow all quarantine requirements. Check here for updates.
Tourism is discouraged. Travelers not from New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania and Delaware should self-quarantine at their home, hotel or other temporary lodging with the following in mind:
-- If travel is unavoidable, you should consider getting tested with a viral test (not an antibody test) one to three days before the trip and again three to five days afterward.
-- If you test negative, you should quarantine for seven days after travel.
-- If testing is not available or results are delayed, you should quarantine for 10 days after travel.
-- You're requested to fill out a voluntary online survey. Please click here for details and updates.
Before you visit places such as Taos Pueblo in New Mexico, you'll have to follow quarantine restrictions.
People traveling from out-of-state are required to self-quarantine for 14 days or the length of their stay in New Mexico, whichever is shorter. Exemptions from low-risk states are allowed, but currently, only Hawaii is deemed low risk. Check here for updates.
UPDATE (March 3): Current guidelines allow travelers to New York to test out of what is otherwise a mandatory 10-day quarantine. Travelers from states that are contiguous with New York will continue to be exempt from the travel advisory. Covered travelers must continue to fill out the Traveler Health Form. You can check for important details on how to test out along with other updates.
On Wednesday, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced that US visitors from other states who have been vaccinated within the past 90 days of their second Covid-19 inoculation would no longer have to test and quarantine.
Sugar Mountain, North Carolina, knows a thing or two about snowfall.
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in North Carolina. Check here for updates and details on closings and mandates.
Travelers visiting Ohio from states reporting positive testing rates of 15% or more are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days. This list updates each Wednesday. Check here for details.
Crater Lake in Oregon is beatiful all year, but there's something really special about it in winter with the snow cover set against the deep blue of the lake.
National Park Service
UPDATE: As of March 1, travelers arriving in Pennsylvania are no longer required to quarantine for 10 days or provide a negative Covid-19 test result. The state encourages masking, physical distancing and hand hygiene. Check here for updates.
To visit this US commonwealth, you need a negative result from a Covid-19 molecular test taken within 72 hours before arrival. If you come without a test result, you must self-quarantine for 14 days or the duration of the trip, whichever is shorter. You must also fill out an online travel declaration form. Please check here for details and updates.
Those traveling to Rhode Island from a state that has a positive testing rate of 5% or more must quarantine for 10 days. Travelers can opt out of the quarantine if they can provide proof of a negative Covid-19 test taken within 72 hours of their arrival. This exception does not apply to international arrivals. You can check that list of states here. Those waiting on test results must self-quarantine until a negative test result arrives. You must also fill out a certificate of compliance and a travel screening form. You still must follow quarantine guidance if you've gotten a Covid-19 vaccine. If you've tested positive for Covid-19 in the past 90 days and finished your isolation period, you are not required to quarantine or retest unless you display symptoms. You can check here for updates.
Charleston, South Carolina, is famous for delicious seafood dishes.
Zero Point Zero
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in South Dakota. Some routes through Native American lands might be closed. Check here for updates.
UPDATE (March 2): As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in Texas. However, some areas of the state are still coping with the aftermath of a recent crippling winter storm. And on March 2, Gov. Greg Abbott announced he's lifting the mask mandate in Texas. Abbott said businesses of any type will be allowed to open 100% beginning March 10. Check here for updates.
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in Utah, though there is a statewide mask mandate. Check here for updates.
Magic Mountain Ski resort in Londonderry is open, but you'll have to adhere Vermont's strict testing and quarantine rules before hitting the slopes.
Vermont has had one of the strictest travel policies and one of the lowest Covid-19 rates in the country. There's a mandatory 14-day quarantine upon arrival for nonessential travel. You have the option of taking a Covid-19 PCR test on day seven of the quarantine and ending the quarantine early with a negative reading. Check here for updates.
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions in Virginia. The state suggests getting tested one to three days before travel and again three to five days after you return. Check here for updates.
On clear days, Mount Rainier in Washington can be seen from many miles away.
Washington state recommends a 14-day self-quarantine for interstate and international travel. Tourists are being discouraged from visiting. Check here for details, including information on the Covid variant.
As of March 1, there were no statewide travel restrictions. However, the state is discouraging nonessential travel. Check here for updates.