Senate votes to block Trump's national emergency

3:23 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

Enough senators have voted for the resolution to block Trump's national emergency

In a Senate vote that is still underway, enough bipartisan senators have voted to nullify President Trump’s declaration of a national emergency for the disapproval resolution to pass, according to an unofficial CNN count of the vote. It needed at least 51.

At this point in the vote, 12 Republicans voted for the measure.

Note: The outcome will not final until the vote is officially gaveled complete.  

These are the 12 GOP votes to terminate the national emergency declaration:

  • Sen. Roger Wicker 
  • Sen. Marco Rubio
  • Sen Rob Portman
  • Sen. Susan Collins
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski 
  • Sen. Pat Toomey
  • Sen. Roy Blunt
  • Sen. Lamar Alexander
  • Sen. Mitt Romney
  • Sen. Rand Paul
  • Sen. Jerry Moran
  • Sen. Mike Lee

2:31 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

The Senate is now voting on the resolution

The Senate vote is starting now on a resolution to block President Trump's emergency declaration on the southern border, which funds his wall.

2:28 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

Sen. Roy Blunt to vote yes on the resolution

Sen. Roy Blunt, a Missouri Republican, member of leadership and veteran appropriator, will vote YES on the national emergency, he told reporters.

2:40 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

Sen. Thom Tillis says he now plans to vote against the resolution

Alex Wong/Getty Images
Alex Wong/Getty Images

Republican Sen. Thom Tillis will vote "no" on the resolution to block President Trump's emergency declaration.

That is counter to his op-ed from a few weeks ago when he said he’d vote with Democrats.

Here's a portion of what he wrote:

As a U.S. senator, I cannot justify providing the executive with more ways to bypass Congress. As a conservative, I cannot endorse a precedent that I know future left-wing presidents will exploit to advance radical policies that will erode economic and individual freedoms.

A White House official told CNN that Vice President Mike Pence has been working the phones and helped flipped Tillis back to the no column. 

1:44 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

Sen. Rob Portman will vote to block Trump's national emergency

Drew Angerer/Getty Images
Drew Angerer/Getty Images

Sen. Rob Portman just announced that he will vote in favor of the resolution to terminate President Trump's emergency declaration.

This makes 10 Republicans who will join Democrats.

1:29 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

Here are the Republican senators who may vote to block Trump's declaration

Aaron P. Bernstein/Getty Images
Aaron P. Bernstein/Getty Images

Republican Sen. Pat Toomey will vote for the resolution to terminate the President’s national emergency declaration, his spokesperson said.

Here are some of the other senators voting "no":

  • Sen. Susan Collins
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski
  • Sen. Mike Lee 
  • Sen. Rand Paul 
  • Sen. Mitt Romney 
  • Sen. Thom Tillis (Note: Tillis has been somewhat circumspect about his vote in the last few days as he’s worked on a compromise with the administration.) 

Likely "no" votes:

  • Sen. Lamar Alexander
1:19 p.m. ET, March 14, 2019

GOP senator: "The national emergency right now is that Washington is in a mess"

Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images
Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

Republican Sen. Johnny Isakson told CNN he’s voting against the resolution and talked to President Trump about it this week.

“I’m voting for border security,” the Georgia Republican said.

Asked if the President pushed him to vote against the resolution, Isakson would only say, “He may be a lot of things but he’s never— he’s straightforward, which is a good thing ... he’s good about being precise.”

Isakson said he didn’t know how he was going to vote until about 11 p.m. last night after a lot of research. 

“The national emergency right now is that Washington is in a mess,” he said.