Redistricting in Tennessee

Here’s how new congressional maps shift voting power in every state

Every 10 years, states redraw the boundaries of their congressional districts to reflect new population counts from the census. Tennessee’s new map represents a major change to the state’s congressional districts. It splits Davidson County, home to Nashville, into three separate districts, likely shifting the state’s delegation from seven Republicans and two Democrats to eight Republicans and one Democrat. Democratic Rep. Jim Cooper, who currently represents a Nashville-anchored seat, cited the new map when he announced he wouldn’t be seeking another term.

How the districts voted in 2020, by presidential vote margin in percentage points




Within 5



Old map 9 districts

In the old congressional map, there are 2 Democratic, 0 competitive and 7 Republican districts.


Change in Democratic districts: -1-1D

Change in Competitive districts: 0

Change in Republican districts: 1+1R

New map 9 districts

In the new congressional map, there are 1 Democratic, 0 competitive and 8 Republican districts.

How the new map shifts voting power by demographic

Tennessee will continue to have nine seats in the House. White voters represent the majority in eight of those districts. Black voters represent the majority in the 9th District, which is home to Memphis.

Number of White-majority districts
Old Map
New Map
A chart showing the number of White-majority districts has remained the same with 8.
Black-majority districts
A chart showing the number of Black-majority districts has remained the same with 1.

The group that represents the majority in each district


About the data

Sources: US Census Bureau, Edison Research, each state’s legislature or other redistricting authority, Voting and Election Science Team via Harvard University’s Dataverse

Methodology note: Vote margins for new congressional districts are determined by calculating precinct-level vote totals for each district. If a new district splits a precinct, block-level voting-age population is used to allocate that precinct’s votes to the new districts. Block-level demographic data from the 2020 census is reaggregated into each new district’s boundaries.