Redistricting in Kentucky

Here’s how new congressional maps shift voting power in every state

Every 10 years, states redraw the boundaries of their congressional districts to reflect new population counts from the census. Kentucky’s Republican-controlled legislature enacted a new congressional map, overriding Democratic Gov. Andy Beshear’s veto.

While Republicans had considered a map that would break up the Louisville-based 3rd District (the only one currently represented by a Democrat), they instead opted for a map that’s largely similar to the existing one. The biggest change was moving the capital city of Frankfort from the 6th District to the 1st District, which is a safer district for Republicans.

How the districts voted in 2020, by presidential vote margin in percentage points




Within 5



Old map 6 districts

In the old congressional map, there are 1 Democratic, 0 competitive and 5 Republican districts.


Change in Democratic districts: 0

Change in Competitive districts: 0

Change in Republican districts: 0

New map 6 districts

In the new congressional map, there are 1 Democratic, 0 competitive and 5 Republican districts.

How the new map shifts voting power by demographic

Kentucky will continue to have six House seats. In all six, White residents represent the majority.

Number of White-majority districts
Old Map
New Map
A chart showing the number of White-majority districts has remained the same with 6.

The group that represents the majority in each district


About the data

Sources: US Census Bureau, Edison Research, each state’s legislature or other redistricting authority

Methodology note: Block-level demographic data from the 2020 census is reaggregated into each new district’s boundaries.