« Homepage CNN

The price of pot

updated 11:33 AM ET, Tue September 2, 2014

Penalties for the personal use of marijuana vary across the country, a discrepancy that has grown wider as more states legalize medical and recreational use. Possession of an ounce of pot in Colorado is penalty free but if you’re in Kansas, that same ounce could land you a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.

See the table below for laws and penalties on a state-by-state basis.

This week on Erin Burnett OutFront, David Mattingly investigates two marijuana cases involving stiff penalties, including one man spending life in prison on pot charges. OutFront asks: does the punishment fit the crime?

Watch the two-part OutFront investigation Tuesday and Wednesday, September 2-3 at 7 p.m. ET.

Source: NORML

Alabama

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount Misdemeanor 1 year $6,000

Alaska

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 4 ounces, in your residence Not classified N/A $0
Less than 1 ounce Misdemeanor 90 days $2,000
1-4 ounces Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
4 ounces or more Felony 5 years $50,000
Any amount within 500 feet of school grounds or recreation center* Not classified 5 years $50,000
* If charged with possession of marijuana in a school zone, an affirmative defense may be raised in court that the conduct took place entirely within a private residence.

Arizona

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 2 pounds Felony 4 months-2 years $750
2-4 pounds Felony 6 months-2.5 years $750
More than 4 pounds Felony 1-3.75 years $750

Arkansas

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 4 ounces (first offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
1-4 ounces (subsequent offense) Felony 6 years $10,000
4 ounces-10 pounds Felony 6 years $10,000
10-25 pounds Felony 3*-10 years $10,000
25-100 pounds Felony 5*-20 years $15,000
100-500 pounds Felony 6*-30 years $15,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

California

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
28.5 grams or less Infraction N/A $100
28.5 grams or less on school grounds; person over 18 years old Misdemeanor 10 days $500
28.5 grams or less; person under 18 years old Misdemeanor 10 days* $250
More than 28.5 grams Misdemeanor 6 months $500
* Detention center

Colorado

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less; person 21 years old or older No penalty None $0
Transfer of 1 ounce or less for no remuneration; person 21 years old or older No penalty None $0
1-2 ounces Petty offense None $100
Open and public displays or uses of less than 2 ounces Petty offense 15 days $100
2-6 ounces Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
6-12 ounces Misdemeanor 18 months $10,000
More than 12 ounces Felony 1-1.5 years $100,000

Connecticut

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than ½ ounce (first offense) Civil penalty N/A $150
Less than ½ ounce (subsequent offense) Civil penalty N/A $500
½-4 ounces (first offense) Civil penalty 1 year $1,000
½-4 ounces (subsequent offense) Civil penalty 5 years $3,000
More than 4 ounces (first offense) Civil penalty 5 years $2,000
More than 4 ounces (subsequent offense) Civil penalty 10 years $5,000

Delaware

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount Misdemeanor 6 months $1,150
Within 1,000 feet of a school Felony 15 years $250,000
Within 300 feet of park, recreation area, church, synagogue or other place of worship Felony 15 years $25,000

District of Columbia

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 1 ounce Civil violation None $25
1 ounce or more Misdemeanor 6 months $1,000

Florida

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
20 grams or less Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
More than 20 grams Felony 5 years $5,000
Less than 25 plants Felony 5 years $5,000
25 plants or more Felony 15 years $10,000

Georgia

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
More than 1 ounce Felony 1-10 years $0

Hawaii

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 1 ounce Misdemeanor 30 days $1,000
1 ounce-1 pound Misdemeanor 1 year $2,000

Idaho

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
3 ounces or less Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
3 ounces-1 pound Felony 5 years $10,000

Illinois

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
2.5 grams or less Misdemeanor 30 days $0
2.5-10 grams Misdemeanor 6 months $0
10-30 grams (first offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $0
10-30 grams (subsequent offense) Felony 1*-3 years $25,000
30-500 grams (first offense) Felony 1*-3 years $25,000
30-500 grams (subsequent offense) Felony 2*-5 years $25,000
500-2,000 grams Felony 2*-5 years $25,000
2-5 kilograms Felony 3*-7 years $25,000
More than 5 kilograms Felony 4*-20 years $25,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Indiana

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
30 grams or less Misdemeanor 1 year $5,000
More than 30 grams Felony 6 months-3 years $10,000

Iowa

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount (first offense) Misdemeanor 6 months $1,000
Any amount (second offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $1,875
Any amount (third offense) Misdemeanor 2 years $6,250
Offenders who are chronic abusers of marijuana may be sent to rehab.

Kansas

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount (first offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
Any amount (subsequent offense) Felony 10 months*-3.5 years $100,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Kentucky

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 8 ounces Misdemeanor 45 days $250

Louisiana

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 60 pounds (first offense) Not classified 6 months* $500
Less than 60 pounds (second offense) Not classified 5 years* $2,500
Less than 60 pounds (subsequent offense) Not classified 20 years $5,000
60-2,000 pounds Felony 5**-30 years $100,000
2,000-10,000 pounds Felony 10**-40 years $400,000
More than 10,000 pounds Felony 25**-40 years $400,000
* First and second offenders may be eligible for probation
** Mandatory minimum sentence

Maine

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 2.5 ounces Civil violation* N/A $600
2.5-8 ounces Misdemeanor 6 months $1,000
8 ounces-1 pound Misdemeanor 1 year $2,000
1-20 pounds Felony 5 years $5,000
More than 20 pounds Felony 10 years $20,000
* Possession of a "usable amount" with proof of a physician's recommendation is not punishable.

Maryland

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
10 grams or less Misdemeanor 90 days $500
10 grams-50 pounds Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000

Massachusetts

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less Civil offense N/A $100
More than 1 ounce (first offense) Misdemeanor 6 months $500
More than 1 ounce (subsequent offense) Misdemeanor 2 years $2,000

Michigan

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount Misdemeanor 1 year $2,000
In a park Misdemeanor or Felony 2 years $2,000
Use of marijuana Misdemeanor 90 days $100

Minnesota

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 42.5 grams* Misdemeanor N/A $200
42.5 grams-10 kilograms Felony 5 years $5,000
10-50 kilograms Felony 20 years $250,000
50-100 kilograms Felony 25 years $500,000
More than 100 kilograms Felony 30 years $1,000,000
More than 1.4 grams inside one's vehicle (except the trunk) Misdemeanor 90 days $1,000
* A conditional discharge is possible for first time offenders. There is a possible drug education course requirement.

Mississippi

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
30 grams or less (first offense) Not classified N/A $250
30 grams or less (second offense) Not classified 5*-60 days $250
30 grams or less (third offense) Not classified 5*-6 months $500
30 grams-250 grams Felony 3 years $3,000
250 grams-500 grams Felony 2*-8 years $50,000
500 grams-5 kilograms Felony 6* -24 years $500,000
5 kilograms or more Felony 10*-30 years $1,000,000
In any part of a vehicle besides the trunk Misdemeanor 90 days $1,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Missouri

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 35 grams Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
35 grams-30 kilograms Felony 1 year $5,000
30 kilograms-100 kilograms Felony 5-15 years $20,000
More than 100 kilograms Felony 10 years-life $20,000
Possession of more than 100 kilograms is considered trafficking.

Montana

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 60 grams (first offense) Misdemeanor 6 months $500
Less than 60 grams (second offense) Misdemeanor 3 years $1,000
More than 60 grams Felony 5 years $50,000

Nebraska

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 1 ounce (first offense) Infraction N/A $300
Less than 1 ounce (second offense) Misdemeanor 5 days $400
Less than 1 ounce (third offense) Misdemeanor 7 days $500
1 ounce-l pound Misdemeanor 3 months $500
More than l pound Felony 5 years $10,000

Nevada

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less (first offense) Misdemeanor N/A $600 or mandatory assessment for addiction
1 ounce or less (second offense) Misdemeanor N/A $1,000 or mandatory treatment.
1 ounce or less (third offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
1 ounce or less (fourth offense) Felony 1*-4 years $5,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

New Hampshire

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount Misdemeanor 1 year $2,000

New Jersey

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
50 grams or less Disorderly person 6 months $1,000
More than 50 grams Felony 1.5 years $25,000
Violation within 1000 feet of a school adds 100 hours of community service, as well as an additional fine.

New Mexico

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less (first offense) Misdemeanor 15 days $100
1 ounce or less (second offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
1-8 ounces Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
More than 8 ounces Felony 1.5 years $5,000

New York

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 25 grams (first offense) Not classified N/A $100
Less than 25 grams (second offense) Not classified N/A $200
Less than 25 grams (third offense) Not classified 15 days $250
25 grams-2 ounces Misdemeanor 3 months $250
2-8 ounces Misdemeanor 1 year $250
8 ounces-1 pound Felony 4 years $250
1-10 pounds Felony 7 years $250
More than 10 pounds Felony 15 years $250
In public view Misdemeanor 90 days $250

North Carolina

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
½ ounce or less Misdemeanor N/A $200
½-1.5 ounces Misdemeanor 1-45 days $1,000
1.5 ounces-10 pounds Felony 3-8 months $1,000

North Dakota

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than ½ ounce Misdemeanor 30 days $1,000
Less than ½ ounce while operating a motor vehicle Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
½-1 ounce Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
1 ounce-500 g Felony 5 years $5,000
More than 500 grams Felony 10 years $10,000

Ohio

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 100 grams Misdemeanor N/A $150
100-200 grams Misdemeanor 30 days $250
200-1,000 grams Felony 6 months-1 year $2,500
1-5 kilograms Felony 1-5 years $10,000
5-20 kilograms Felony 1-5 years $10,000
20-40 kilograms Felony 5*-8 years $15,000
More than 40 kilograms Felony 8 years* $15,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Oklahoma

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount (first offense) Not classified 1 year $0
Any amount (subsequent offense) Felony 2-10 years $0

Oregon

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 1 ounce Misdemeanor N/A $650
Less than 1 ounce within 1,000 feet of school grounds Misdemeanor 30 days $1,250
1-4 ounces Misdemeanor 6 months $1,000
4 ounces or more Felony 10 years $375,000

Pennsylvania

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
30 grams or less Misdemeanor 30 days* $500
More than 30 grams Misdemeanor 1 year* $5,000
* First possession conviction is eligible for conditional release. Subsequent conviction can lead to a doubled penalty.

Rhode Island

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 1 ounce Civil offense None $150
1 ounce-1 kilogram Misdemeanor 1 year $500

South Carolina

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounces or less (first offense) Misdemeanor 30 days $200
1 ounces or less (subsequent offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000

South Dakota

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
2 ounces or less Misdemeanor 1 year $2,000
2 ounces-½ pound Felony 1 year $4,000
½-1 pound Felony 5 years $10,000
1-10 pounds Felony 10 years $20,000
More than 10 pounds Felony 15 years $30,000

Tennessee

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
½ ounces or less (first offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $250
½ ounces or less (second offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $500
½ ounces or less (third offense) Felony 1-6 years $1,000
Fines for possession are mandatory.

Texas

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
2 ounces or less Misdemeanor 180 days $2,000
2-4 ounces Misdemeanor 1 year $4,000
4 ounces to 5 pounds Felony 180 days*-2 years $10,000
5-50 pounds Felony 2*-10 years $10,000
50-2,000 pounds Felony 2*-20 years $10,000
More than 2,000 pounds Felony 5*-99 years $50,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Utah

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than 1 ounce Misdemeanor 6 months $1,000
1 ounce-1 pound Misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
1-100 pounds Felony 5 years $5,000
More than 100 pounds Felony 1-15 years $10,000

Vermont

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less (first offense), by person 21 years old or older Civil violation None $200
1 ounce or less (second offense), by person 21 years old or older Civil violation None $300
1 ounce or less (subsequent offense), by person 21 years old or older Civil violation None $500
1-2 ounces (first offense) Misdemeanor 6 months $500
1-2 ounces (subsequent offense) Misdemeanor 2 years $2,000
2 ounces-1 pound Felony 3 years $10,000
1-10 pounds Felony 5 years $100,000
10 pounds or more Felony 15 years $500,000

Virginia

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Less than ½ ounce (first offense) Misdemeanor 30 days $500
Less than ½ ounce (subsequent offense) Misdemeanor 1 year $2,500

Washington

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
1 ounce or less (private possession or consumption) No criminal penalty None $0
1 ounce or less (public consumption) Civil penalty None $100
1 ounce-40 grams Misdemeanor 24 hours*-90 days $1,000
More than 40 grams Felony 5 years $10,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

West Virginia

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount Misdemeanor 90 days-6 months $1,000

Wisconsin

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Any amount (first offense) Misdemeanor 6 months $1,000
Any amount (subsequent offense) Felony 3.5 years $10,000

Wyoming

Offense Class Incarceration Maximum fine
Being under the influence Misdemeanor 90 days $100
Less than 3 ounces Misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
More than 3 ounces Felony 5 years $10,000
Additional $500 for violations within 500 feet of a school