Several dozen candidates are running in a special primary election for Alaska’s sole US House seat after the death of longtime GOP Rep. Don Young. This contest will be the first test of Alaska’s new election system in which all candidates run on the same primary ballot. Each voter gets one vote and the top four candidates in the primary, regardless of party, will advance to an August 16 special general election.