District of Columbia

Pledged Delegates
Super Delegates
Date of PrimaryJune 2, 2020
Delegate Allocation: Proportional
Total delegates at stake: 46
In the 2016 general election, Hillary Clinton won with 90.86% of the vote in DC, compared with Donald Trump’s 4.09%. DC provided Clinton with her largest general election margin of victory. Since its first presidential vote in 1964, the District has never supported a GOP presidential candidate. Only one Republican presidential candidate has ever won more than 20% of DC’s vote — Richard Nixon in 1972, with 21.56%. The worst Democratic showing in DC was Jimmy Carter’s 74.82% in 1980. Under the US Constitution, the District falls under Congress’ jurisdiction. In 1973, Congress passed the Home Rule Act, which allows the District to elect officials to oversee its government (but still allows Congress to review laws). The District’s government is composed of the mayor’s office and its 13-member council, both of which are controlled by Democrats. The District has a nonvoting delegate in Congress, who is also a Democrat.
2020 Election News
Delegate 101
No recent articles published