updated 6:33 PM 26th May 2020
Pledged Delegates
Super Delegates
Date of PrimaryMay 12, 2020
Delegate Allocation: Proportional
Total delegates at stake: 33
In the 2016 general election, Donald Trump won Nebraska with 58.75% of the vote, compared with Hillary Clinton’s 33.7%. Since 1940, Nebraska has voted Democratic only once in presidential elections, supporting Lyndon Johnson over Barry Goldwater in 1964. The sprawling western 3rd Congressional District is a GOP stronghold. Democrats are more competitive around Omaha. Nebraska is one of only two states (Maine is the other) to allow its electoral votes to be split. Two of Nebraska’s five electoral votes go to the winner of the statewide vote. One electoral vote goes to the popular vote winner in each of the state’s three congressional districts. In 2008, John McCain won the statewide vote in Nebraska with nearly 57% but lost the Omaha-based 2nd Congressional District. Thus, Barack Obama won one electoral vote from Nebraska. The unicameral state Legislature is officially nonpartisan, though Republicans hold more seats than Democrats. Montana’s governor office and its congressional delegation are held by Republicans.
2020 Election News
Delegate 101
No recent articles published