updated 11:26 PM 7th Apr 2020
Pledged Delegates
Super Delegates
Date of PrimaryMarch 17, 2020
Delegate Allocation: Proportional
Total delegates at stake: 79
Arizona’s Democratic primary will take place on March 17. Arizona’s Republican Party canceled its caucuses, and all delegates are expected to be allocated to President Donald Trump. In the 2016 general election, Trump won the state with 48.67% of the vote, compared with Hillary Clinton’s 45.13%. Only two Democratic presidential nominees in the past 70 years have won Arizona in the general election – Bill Clinton in 1996 and Harry Truman in 1948. Republicans hold both chambers of the state Legislature, as well as the governor’s office. The state’s congressional delegation is more evenly split between Democrats and Republicans. Maricopa County, which includes Phoenix, is home to a majority of Arizona’s registered voters. Largely white-collar and home to a sizable high-tech economy, the county usually tilts Republican, although Democratic votes can be found in the university community of Tempe and in Phoenix’s Latino community. Pima County, home to Tucson, often tilts Democratic. More sparsely populated northern Arizona has increasingly leaned Republican in recent years, except for the Navajo reservation.
2020 Election News
Delegate 101
No recent articles published