updated 2:23 AM 12th Apr 2020
Pledged Delegates
Super Delegates
Date of PrimaryApril 10, 2020
Delegate Allocation: Proportional
Total delegates at stake: 19
Because of the coronavirus pandemic, Alaska’s Democratic Party got rid of in-person voting scheduled to take place on April 4 and extended its vote-by-mail deadline to April 10. Alaska’s Republican Party canceled its primary, and all delegates are expected to be allocated to President Donald Trump. The GOP state convention will convene electronically. In the 2016 general election, Trump won the state by 51.28%, compared with Hillary Clinton’s 36.55%. In presidential politics, Alaska is a safe Republican state. It has voted for a Democratic presidential candidate only once since gaining statehood in 1959 — in 1964, President Lyndon Johnson beat Republican nominee Barry Goldwater by almost 32 percentage points. The GOP controls the state Legislature and the governor’s office, and the three members of Alaska’s congressional delegation are all Republicans. The most Democratic regions in Alaska include the cities of Anchorage, the state’s southeast panhandle (including Juneau) and a vast area in the north and west, sparsely populated by Native Americans and Aleuts. The areas surrounding Anchorage and Fairbanks lean Republican.
2020 Election News
Delegate 101
No recent articles published