Wall-E, "Wall-E"
CNN  — 

From a biopic about a beloved singer which made Jennifer Lopez a star to a film set in a galaxy far, far away with tree dwelling Ewoks, the annual selection of 25 influential motions pictures to be inducted into the National Film Registry of the Library of Congress is wide ranging.

Among the selections are “Return of the Jedi,” “Selena,” “Lord of the Rings,” “Sounder,” “Cooley High” and “A Nightmare on Elm Street.”

“Films help reflect our cultural history and creativity — and show us new ways of looking at ourselves — though movies haven’t always been deemed worthy of preservation. The National Film Registry will preserve our cinematic heritage, and we are proud to add 25 more films this year,” Library of Congress librarian Carla Hayden said in a statement.

The full list of films selected this year are:

1. “Ringling Brothers Parade Film” (1902)

2. “Jubilo” (1919)

3. The Flying Ace (1926)

4. “Hellbound Train” (1930)

5. “Flowers and Trees” (1932)

6. “Strangers on a Train” (1951)

7. “What Ever Happened to Baby Jane?” (1962)

8. “Evergreen” (1965)

9. “Requiem-29” (1970)

10. “The Murder of Fred Hampton” (1971)

11. “Pink Flamingos” (1972)

12. “Sounder” (1972)

13. “The Long Goodbye” (1973)

14. “Cooley High” (1975)

15. “Richard Pryor: Live in Concert” (1979)

16. “Chicana” (1979)

17. “The Wobblies” (1979)

18. “Star Wars Episode VI — Return of the Jedi” (1983)

19. “A Nightmare on Elm Street” (1984)

20. “Stop Making Sense” (1984)

21. “Who Killed Vincent Chin?” (1987)

22. “The Watermelon Woman” (1996)

23. “Selena” (1997)

24. “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” (2001)

25. “WALL-E” (2008)

The movies are selected because of their “cultural, historic or aesthetic importance to the nation’s film heritage.”

Turner Classic Movies (which is owned by CNN’s parent company) will host a television special at 8 p.m. ET Friday featuring some of the films selected this year.