Amanpour Janet Yellen
Janet Yellen weighs in on inflation, the debt limit and Bono
10:20 - Source: CNN
CNN  — 

The Senate voted on Thursday to advance a bill to create a fast-track process allowing Democrats to raise the federal debt limit, a crucial next step as lawmakers race the clock to avert a catastrophic debt default.

To get there, the plan’s supporters needed to break a GOP filibuster, which required 60 votes to succeed. The vote tally was 64 to 36, meaning 14 Senate Republicans crossed the aisle to vote with Democrats, who control only 50 seats in the chamber.

These are the 14 Senate Republicans who crossed the aisle to vote to advance the debt limit fast-track process bill:

  1. John Thune of South Dakota
  2. Mitch McConnell of Kentucky
  3. John Barrasso of Wyoming
  4. Roger Wicker of Mississippi
  5. Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia
  6. Susan Collins of Maine
  7. Roy Blunt of Missouri
  8. Thom Tillis of North Carolina
  9. Lisa Murkowski of Alaska
  10. Richard Burr of North Carolina
  11. Joni Ernst of Iowa
  12. John Cornyn of Texas
  13. Mitt Romney of Utah
  14. Rob Portman of Ohio