On the 15th hole at Whistling Straits against the Spanish pair Jon Rahm and Sergio Garcia, Berger’s drive appeared to nestle in a small thicket of grass next to a drain.
Koepka, who was to take the next shot, called over the official to attempt to get a free drop because he wouldn’t be able to complete his swing.
Just a few weeks ago, Koepka withdrew from the PGA Tour’s Tour Championship after suffering an injury to his left arm when his club hit a tree root beneath the surface of the rough at East Lake.
Koepka could be heard saying: “If you say no, I’ll call for a second opinion.”
The official responded: “I’ve seen you hit plenty like that.”
“I don’t see how you can physically make a swing without making some contact,” the four-time major winner added.
Per Koepka’s request, a second official was called to give his judgment, only for him to side with the original decision, saying he wasn’t permitted a free drop.
After some more grumbling from both Koepka and Berger, he proceeded to prepare for the shot.
However, before he lined up to the ball, Koepka could be heard telling the officials: “If I break my wrist, it’s on f*****g both of you.”
Koepka showed his major-winning resilience with the shot, swinging his iron through the thicket and managing to carry his ball the 173 yards needed to reach the green.
When asked about the ruling by the media after his round, Koepka said: “Yeah, we didn’t get it.”
It wasn’t enough however for the Americans though, as the European pair were able to hold on, clinching a vital point for Team Europe, winning 3&1.