James Callaghan from United Kingdom, Henry Kissinger, US Secretary of State, US President Gerald Ford, Takeo Miki from Japan (right) German Chancellor Helmut Schmidt, French Foreign minister Jean Sauvagnargues, French President Valery Giscard d'Estaing, French Economy minister Jean-Pierre Fourcade and Mario Rumor from Italy, attend 15 November 1975 at Rambouillet Castle the opening session of the first monetary policy G7 meeting, called than "the Summit of the Six".
CNN  — 

President Joe Biden’s first trip abroad since taking office includes a G7 summit where he’ll look to reestablish US leadership on the world stage.

But what is the G7, and what power does it hold? Here’s what you need to know:

What is the G7?

The G7 is shorthand for Group of Seven, an organization of leaders from some of the world’s largest economies: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the US.

Russia was indefinitely suspended from the group – which was at the time known as the G8 – in 2014 after the majority of member countries allied against its annexation of Crimea. It was the first violation of a European country’s borders since World War II.

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, US President Donald Trump, Italian Prime Minister Paolo Gentiloni, French President Emmanuel Macron, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, and Britain's Prime Minister Theresa May, pose for a family photo at the ancient Greek Theatre of Taormina during the Heads of State and of Government G7 summit, on May 26, 2017 in Sicily.

What does the G7 do?

Members of the G7 meet each year for a summit to discuss pressing issues on the global stage and coordinate policy.

International security and the world economy are often topics of discussion, though recovery from the Covid-19 pandemic is expected to dominate this year’s meeting.

First formal session of the economic summit composed of the world's seven most industrialised nations at the House of Burgesses.