exp GPS 0205 BHL anti semitism BDS_00010301.jpg
BHL on anti-Semitism and BDS movement
06:22 - Source: CNN
CNN  — 

The US House of Representatives voted 398-17 Tuesday voted to pass a non-binding resolution that opposes the boycott movement against Israel.

The resolution, first introduced in March, supports a two-state solution, argues the global Boycott, Divestment, and Sanctions (sometimes short-handed as BDS) movement is an effort to delegitimize Israel and urges “Israelis and Palestinians to return to direct negotiations as the only way to achieve an end to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.”

It won broad bipartisan support but faced pushback from some high-profile progressives, with 16 House Democrats voting “no” alongside one House Republican.

House Democrats who voted against Tuesday’s resolution

  • Rep. Betty McCollum of Minnesota
  • Rep. Raul Grijalva of Arizona
  • Rep. Mark Pocan of Wisconsin
  • Rep. Gwen Moore of Wisconsin
  • Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman of New Jersey
  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer of Oregon
  • Rep. Barbara Lee of California
  • Rep. Jesús G. “Chuy” García of Illinois
  • Rep. Debbie Dingell of Michigan
  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal of Washington
  • Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York
  • Rep. Rashida Tlaib of Michigan
  • Rep. Ilhan Omar of Minnesota
  • Rep. Bobby Rush of Illinois
  • Rep. Chellie Pingree of Maine
  • Rep Andre Carson of Indiana

House Republican who voted against Tuesday’s resolution

  • Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky

CNN’s Ashley Killough contributed to this story.