More than 60 cities and states in the US no longer observe Columbus Day

A 76-foot statue of explorer Christopher Columbus in New York City.

(CNN)Columbus Day has been a political lightning rod for states, cities and municipalities around the US for years now. Most recently, Vermont and Maine joined the small contingency of states that have renamed the October holiday to "Indigenous Peoples' Day" to recognize the native populations that were displaced and decimated after Christopher Columbus and other European explorers reached the continent.

Technically, Columbus Day is a federal holiday, which means it is recognized by the US government and thus brings the closure of non-essential government offices, and, usually, places like post offices and banks.
But states and local governments can choose not to observe a federal holiday. And, as is the case with a growing number of places, change the name and intent of the October holiday altogether.
Here's a list of states, cities and other local governments that have chosen to change Columbus Day to Indigenous Peoples' Day, as well as some places that don't observe the holiday at all.


    Vermont: Observes Indigenous Peoples' Day as of 2019
    Though the state made the unofficial switch in 2016 through a gubernatorial proclamation, the legislature just passed a bill making the adoption of IPD official.
    Maine: Observes Indigenous Peoples' Day as of 2019
    New Mexico: Observes Indigenous Peoples' Day as of 2019
    Alaska: Observes Indigenous Peoples' Day as of 2017
    Governor Bill Walker also signed observances of the holiday in 2015 and 2016 before making the switch official in 2017.
    South Dakota: Observes Native American Day as of 1990
    Oregon: Observes Indigenous Peoples' Day as of 2017
    Hawaii: Observes Discoverers' Day in place of Columbus Day

    Cities and counties

    Note: Some of these places observe Indigenous People's Day. Others do not observe Columbus Day, and still others partake in alternate observances.
    Flagstaff, Arizona
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Berkeley, California
    Burbank, California
    Long Beach, California
    Santa Cruz, California
    San Fernando, California
    San Luis Obispo, California
    Watsonville, California
    Boulder, Colorado
    Denver, Colorado
    Durango, Colorado
    South Fulton, Georgia
    Moscow, Idaho
    Evanston, Illinois
    Oak Park, Illinois
    Davenport, Iowa
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Wichita, Kansas
    Amherst, Massachusetts
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    Northampton, Massachusetts
    Somerville, Massachusetts
    Alpena, Michigan
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    East Lansing, Michigan
    Traverse City, Michigan
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Grand Rapids, Minnesota
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    Bozeman, Montana
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Durham, New Hampshire
    Newstead, New York
    Ithaca, New York
    Carrboro, North Carolina
    Asheville, North Carolina
    Columbus, Ohio
    Cincinnati , Ohio
    Oberlin, Ohio
    Anadarko, Oklahoma
    El Reno, Oklahoma
    Lawton, Oklahoma
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Tahlequah, Oklahoma
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Austin, Texas
    Bexar County, Texas
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Charlottesville, Virginia
    Olympia, Washington
    Spokane, Washington
    Bainbridge Island, Washington
    Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
      Madison, Wisconsin