WASHINGTON, DC - FEBRUARY 15: U.S. President Donald Trump speaks on border security during a Rose Garden event at the White House February 15, 2019 in Washington, DC.  (Photo by Alex Wong/Getty Images)
CNN  — 

Sixteen states filed a lawsuit on Monday challenging President Donald Trump’s national emergency declaration for the southern border.

The lawsuit was filed in the US District Court for the Northern District of California.

The attorneys general from Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon and Virginia joined California Attorney General Xavier Becerra in the lawsuit.

National emergency lawsuit