Rep. Beto O'Rourke on stage for a campaign rally in downtown Houston.
Jason Morris/CNN
Rep. Beto O'Rourke on stage for a campaign rally in downtown Houston.
(CNN) —  

CNN will host a debate and a town hall for several highly contested races ahead of the 2018 midterm elections, the network announced Tuesday.

The Florida debate and a town hall originating from the US-Mexico border will air live in prime time across all CNN platforms and be translated into Spanish for CNN en Español viewers.

On Thursday, October 18, CNN Chief Political Correspondent Dana Bash will moderate a live, one-hour town hall with Democratic Rep. Beto O’Rourke, who is running for US Senate, at 7 p.m. ET/6 p.m. CT at the McAllen Performing Arts Center near the US-Mexico border. GOP Sen. Ted Cruz’s campaign initially accepted CNN’s invitation to participate but later declined, a network official said.

And at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT on Sunday, October 21, Rep. Ron DeSantis, R-Florida, and Tallahassee Mayor Andrew Gillum, a Democrat, will participate in a one-hour gubernatorial debate moderated by CNN anchor Jake Tapper at WEDU studios.

Florida Democratic Sen. Bill Nelson and Florida Republican Gov. Rick Scott were slated to participate in the final debate of their senatorial race in an hour-long event moderated by CNN’s Wolf Blitzer, but the devastating impact of Hurricane Michael has forced the debate to be postponed. A date and time for the rescheduled debate will be announced soon.

The debate and town hall will be available for live stream for subscribers via CNNgo and via CNNgo apps for Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire, Samsung Smart TV and Android TV and on the CNN mobile apps for iOS and Android. The programs will also be available the day after they air on demand via cable/satellite systems, CNNgo platforms and CNN mobile apps.

This story has been updated to reflect a new time for the O’Rourke town hall and to note the postponement of the Nelson-Scott debate.