Canada, US resume heated hockey rivalry

Published 10:32 AM ET, Tue February 20, 2018
01 canada US hockey rivalry01 canada US hockey rivalry
1 of 9
On Wednesday night, (Thursday in the UK and South Korea), for the third straight Olympics, Canada and the United States will meet in the final of the women's hockey tournament. Canada has won both previous meetings, including a dramatic late comeback in 2014. The United States is looking for its first gold since 1998. BRENDAN SMIALOWSKI/AFP/Getty Images
The two teams have already played once in these Olympics. Canada won 2-1 in the preliminary round despite being out shot by the Americans 45-23. Grigory Dukor/Pool/Getty Images
Not much was on the line in the preliminary round game, but the teams showed that there was no love lost between them. BRENDAN SMIALOWSKI/AFP/Getty Images
In the 2014 final, Marie-Philip Poulin broke the Americans' hearts with two late goals. She scored in the last minute of the third period to force overtime, and then she did the damage there as well to clinch the gold. Doug Pensinger/Getty Images
Poulin also had both goals of the 2010 final, which was played on home ice in Vancouver. Canada has won every women's hockey gold except the first one, which was awarded in 1998. LUIS ACOSTA/AFP/Getty Images
When it comes to women's hockey, Canada and the United States are by far the sport's two superpowers. Both are packed with talent, and neither struggled much on their way to the gold-medal game. Team USA rolled through Finland and the Olympic athletes from Russia in the preliminary round. It met Finland again in the semifinals and won 5-0. Ronald Martinez/Getty Images
Canada crushed the Olympic athletes from Russia 5-0 in the semifinals, a few days after it did so in the preliminary round. In their four victories this year, the Canadians have outscored their opponents by a combined score of 16-2. Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Poulin, shown here after winning gold in 2014, is the captain for Canada this time around. She has two goals and three assists in this tournament. ALEXANDER NEMENOV/AFP/Getty Images
The United States is captained by forward Meghan Duggan, who was also on the 2010 and 2014 teams that won silver. BRENDAN SMIALOWSKI/AFP/Getty Images