Story highlights

A new amendment comes from New Jersey moderate Republican Tom MacArthur

The conservative House Freedom Caucus endorsed the health care plan

CNN  — 

Republicans are a handful of votes away from failing to have enough support to pass the current health care bill, according to CNN’s whip count of House lawmakers.

House leaders need 216 Republican “yes” votes to get the legislation through the House, since no Democrats are expected to support the bill.

According to CNN reporting, 21 Republicans have said they will vote against the new version of the bill. Republicans can lose up to 22 votes and still pass their legislation. If 23 Republicans vote against it, then it would likely not be able to pass.

Over a dozen lawmakers Republicans have told CNN they are undecided.

The situation is fluid, as House leaders and the White House continue to lobby individual lawmakers to back the bill. A new amendment Wednesday from Reps. Fred Upton and Billy Long have flipped them from a “no” to “yes” and could dramatically impact the count.

The following count continues to be updated as news develops.

No (21)

Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (Washington)

Rep. Barbara Comstock (Virginia)

Rep. Jeff Denham (California)

Rep. Charlie Dent (Pennsylvania)

Rep. Dan Donovan (New York)

Rep. John Katko (New York)

Rep. Leonard Lance (New Jersey)

Rep. Frank LoBiondo (New Jersey)

Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Florida)

Rep. Tom Massie (Kentucky)

Rep. Andy Biggs (Arizona)

Rep. Michael Turner (Ohio)

Rep. David Young (Iowa)

Rep. Walter Jones (North Carolina)

Rep. Ryan Costello (Pennsylvania)

Rep. Patrick Meehan (Pennsylvania)

Rep. Mark Amodei (Nevada)

Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (Pennsylvania)

Rep. Daniel Webster (Florida)

Rep. Chris Smith (New Jersey)

Rep. Carlos Curbelo (Florida)

Undecided (15)

Rep. Mike Bost (Illinois)

Rep. Mike Coffman (Colorado)

Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (Florida)

Rep. David McKinley (West Virginia)

Rep. Tim Murphy (Pennsylvania)

Rep. Brian Mast (Florida)

Rep. Darrell Issa (California)

Rep. Adam Kinzinger (Illinois)

Rep. Tom Reed (New York)

Rep. Rob Wittman (Virginia)

Rep. Kevin Yoder (Kansas)

Rep. David Valadao (California)

Rep. Erik Paulsen (Minnesota)

Rep. Elise Stefanik (New York)

Rep. Steve King (Iowa)