Cities with longest championship droughts

Updated 4:20 PM ET, Sun October 23, 2016
23 NBA finals 061923 NBA finals 0619
1 of 12
The Cleveland Cavaliers snapped a 52-year championship drought June 19, 2016, when they toppled the Golden State Warriors in a best-of-seven series. With C-Town now anointed NBA champions, let's look at the cities with two or more "Big Four" sports teams (meaning from the NFL, NBA, MLB or NHL ... sorry, MLS and college sports) that have gone the longest without a title. Ezra Shaw/Getty Images North America/Getty Images
San Diego: The San Diego Chargers last won a championship when they defeated the Boston Patriots in the 1963 AFL Championship. The Bolts got close in 1995 but they were outmatched by the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XXIX. The Padres made it to the World Series in 1984 and 1998 but couldn't close the deal. Charles Aqua Viva/NFL/Getty Images
Buffalo: The Buffalo Bills beat the San Diego Chargers in the 1965 AFL Championship. The Bills have the dubious honor of losing four consecutive Super Bowls, from 1991 to 1994, and while the Sabres made it to the Stanley Cup Final in 1975 and 1999, they came away with no silverware. Charles Aqua Viva/NFL/Getty Images
Milwaukee: Anchored by Oscar Robertson and Lou Alcindor (now Kareem Abdul-Jabbar), the Milwaukee Bucks defeated the Baltimore Bullets in 1971 for their last NBA Championship. They returned to the Finals three years later, only to lose to the Boston Celtics. In baseball, the Brewers went to the World Series in 1982. After winning the first game 10-0, they lost to St. Louis in seven games. Focus On Sport/Getty Images
Charlotte: The Charlotte Hornets were founded in 1988 and never won a championship. They left for New Orleans in 2002, and two years later the NBA introduced the Charlotte Bobcats as an expansion team. Still, no trophies. The Carolina Panthers, meanwhile, played their first season in 1995. They made it to the Super Bowl in 2004 and 2016, but they couldn't come away with the prize. Tim DeFrisco/Getty Images
Cincinnati: The Cincinnati Reds last won the World Series in 1990 over the Oakland Athletics. But the Big Red Machine hasn't made it back. The Bengals had two stellar seasons in the 1980s that ended with Super Bowls berths. But they were dispatched in 1982 and 1989, both times by the 49ers. Bettmann/Getty Images
Minneapolis-St. Paul: The Minnesota Twins last won a championship when they defeated the Atlanta Braves in the 1991 World Series. The Timberwolves, founded in 1989, have never sniffed a championship, though they claimed a division title in 2004. As for the Vikings, they lost four Super Bowls in the 1970s. In 1998 they looked like the team to beat, but they blew a 10-point, fourth-quarter lead in the NFC Championship. And the Wild, an NHL expansion team in 2000, has never been to the Stanley Cup Final. Focus on Sport/Getty Images
Washington: The Washington Redskins have not won a championship since their Super Bowl win over the Buffalo Bills in 1992. In more than 100 collective seasons, the MLB's Nationals, the NBA's Wizards and the NHL's Capitals have claimed a grand total of one title -- in 1978, when the Wizards were the Bullets. The Caps came close in 1998, but no cigar. That's OK: the Redskins have five trophies (three in the Super Bowl era) to hold the city over. Andy Hayt/Getty Images
Toronto: The Toronto Blue Jays won back-to-back World Series in 1992 and 1993, but after dispatching the Philadelphia Phillies in 1993, it has been crickets. Despite rapper Drake's most ardent wishes, the Raptors haven't been to the NBA Finals in their 20-plus years of existence. And while the Maple Leafs have 13 Stanley Cups, the last came in 1967. Rick Stewart/Getty Images
Houston: The Houston Rockets lifted back-to-back championship trophies in 1994 and 1995, when the beastly Hakeem Olajuwon led Clutch City to two titles during the Michael Jordan-less NBA era. As for the rest of the city, meh. The Astros made it to the World Series in 2005 but lost to the Chicago White Sox. And while the Oilers won two AFL championships in 1960 and 1961, the Texans haven't been to a Super Bowl since they were founded in 2002. JEFF HAYNES/AFP/Getty Images
Atlanta: The Atlanta Braves have not brought home the Commissioner's Trophy since 1995, when they defeated the Cleveland Indians. Omitting the strike-shortened 1994 season, this was during a run of 14 straight division titles that saw them make the World Series five times. The city has twice seen lackluster hockey teams shipped to Canada, the Falcons have been to the Super Bowl exactly once, and the Hawks haven't won an NBA title since they were in St. Louis. That was 1958. CHRIS WILKINS/AFP/Getty Images
Nashville: Nashville has yet to bring home a major championship. The Predators of the NHL and the Titans of the NFL both kicked off their inaugural seasons in the late '90s -- the Predators as an expansion team and the Titans after relocating from Houston. The closest either team came to silverware was 2000, when the Titans lost the Super Bowl to the St. Louis Rams. You may recall wide receiver Kevin Dyson stretching, reaching, wishing -- but ultimately coming less than a yard shy of a title. Tom Hauck/Getty Images