2016 Newbery, Caldecott awards honor best children’s books

Story highlights

Winners of Newbery, Caldecott, Printz and other prestigious awards were announced

Matt de la Peña is the first Latino author to win the Newbery

CNN  — 

The winners of the 2015 Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, Coretta Scott King and other prestigious youth media awards were announced Monday morning by the American Library Association. In addition to books, these awards highlight videos and other creative materials produced for children over the past year.

Matt de la Peña is the first Latino author to win the Newbery Medal for outstanding contribution to children’s literature for his book “Last Stop on Market Street,” illustrated by Christian Robinson.

The book tells the story of CJ’s bus ride with his grandma, the child noting the economic differences he sees along the way and Grandma teaching him to appreciate what he has in his life and throughout the city.

The Caldecott Medal went to “Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear,” illustrated by Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick. The book tells the real-life story of a World War I veterinarian who rescued a bear and named it Winnie, who eventually became the inspiration for the fictional Winnie-the-Pooh.

Parents can use these titles as a guide when considering what books to recommend to their children and teens, while teachers and librarians look to the award-winning and runner-up titles as a helpful list of what to keep on the shelves in classrooms and libraries.

Author Becky Albertalli, who explored coming out in her debut book “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda,” won the William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens.

‘Where’s the African-American Harry Potter?’

Parents can use these titles as a guide when considering what books to recommend to their children and teens, while teachers and librarians look to the titles as a helpful list for what to encourage children to read.

The ALA Youth Media Awards were announced during the organization’s winter meeting in Chicago and selected by a national judging committee of librarians and children’s literature experts.

It’s not just books anymore. These awards highlight videos and other creative materials for children from last year.

Here’s the list of winners:

John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature

“The Crossover,” written by Kwame Alexander

“Brown Girl Dreaming,” written by Jacqueline Woodson

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children

“The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend,” illustrated and written by Dan Santat

Coretta Scott King awards for an African-American author and illustrator

Author award: Jacqueline Woodson for “Brown Girl Dreaming”

Illustrator award: Bryan Collier for “Trombone Shorty” (written by Troy Andrews and Bill Taylor)

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award

Author Jason Reynolds for “When I Was the Greatest”

Illustrator award: “Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement,” illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Carole Boston Weatherford.

Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for lifetime achievement for illustrator/author

Deborah D. Taylor

Margaret A. Edwards Award, for an author’s significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature

David Levithan for “The Realm of Possibility,” “Boy Meets Boy,” “Love is the Higher Law,” “How They Met, and Other Stories,” “Wide Awake” and “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.”

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture, recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature

Author Pat Mora will deliver the 2016 Arbuthnot Lecture.

Pura Belpre awards for a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience

Illustrator: Yuyi Morales for “Viva Frida”

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, honoring an author or illustrator whose books, published in the U.S., have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Donald Crews

Stonewall Book Award, the Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award for books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience

“Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress,” written by Christine Baldacchio and illustrated by Isabelle Malenfant

“George,” written by Alex Gino

“The Porcupine of Truth,” written by Bill Konigsberg

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience

Young children’s book: “A Boy and a Jaguar,” written by Alan Rabinowitz and illustrated by Catia Chien

Middle grade book: “Rain Reign,” written by Ann M. Martin

Teen book: “Girls Like Us,” written by Gail Giles

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults

“I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for beginning reader book

“Waiting is Not Easy,” written and illustrated by Mo Willems

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens

“Gabi, a Girl in Pieces,” written by Isabel Quintero

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for informational books for children

“Separate is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation,” illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatieuh

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

“Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek,” written by Maya Van Wagenen

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for a book published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States

“Nine Open Arms,” written by Benny Lindelauf

Odyssey Award for best audiobook for children and young adults

“The War that Saved My Life,” written by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and narrated by Jayne Entwistle

Andrew Carnegie Medal for children’s video

“Me … Jane,” produced by Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Elllard, Weston Woods Studios

Alex Awards for 10 adult books that appeal to teens

“Wolf in White Van” by John Darnielle

“Between the World and Me,” by Ta-Nehisi Coates

“Bones & All,” by Camille DeAngelis

“Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits,” by David Wong

“Girl at War,” by Sara Nović

“Half the World,” by Joe Abercrombie

“Humans of New York: Stories,” by Brandon Stanton

“Sacred Heart,” by Liz Suburbia

“Undocumented: A Dominican Boy’s Odyssey from a Homeless Shelter to the Ivy League,” by Dan-el Padilla Peralta

“The Unraveling of Mercy Louis,” by Keija Parssinen