Producers nominate 'Max,' 'Short,' leave off 'Star Wars'

"Mad Max: Fury Road" is one of 10 Producers Guild nominees for best film.

Story highlights

  • "Ex Machina," "Sicario" surprise with nominations from PGA
  • "Star Wars," "Creed" among Oscar favorites that didn't make cut

(The Hollywood Reporter)The Producers Guild of America has announced its nominees in the categories of theatrical motion picture, long-form television, digital series and sports programs.

The 10 nominees for the PGA's best film award, officially known as the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures, include both indie and studio fare. Indies "Brooklyn," "Ex Machina," "Sicario" and "Spotlight" will face off against studio releases "The Big Short," "Bridge of Spies," "Mad Max: Fury Road," "The Martian," "The Revenant" and "Straight Outta Compton."
In what's been a wide-open awards season so far, the inclusion of sci-fi tale "Ex Machina" was something of a surprise. While it received strong reviews when released by A24 back in April, it hasn't appeared on most of the prognosticators' tout sheets.
    Noticeably left off the PGA's list were "Star Wars: The Force Awakens," "Room" and two of The Weinstein Company's Oscar hopefuls, "Carol" and "The Hateful Eight." Netflix's first original feature film, "Beasts of No Nation," also failed to score a nomination; nor did Bleecker Street's Bryan Cranston-starrer "Trumbo."
    The guild also announced its five nominees in the category of outstanding producer of animated theatrical motion pictures: "Anomalisa," "The Good Dinosaur," "Inside Out," "Minions" and "The Peanuts Movie." Missing from the list is animated frontrunner "Shaun the Sheep Movie."
    The PGA also unveiled its nominees in the long-form TV category, including a mention for the poorly received second season of HBO's "True Detective." Other nominees in the category, which recognizes miniseries and movies of the week, include ABC's "American Crime," FX's "American Horror Story: Hotel" and "Fargo" and Netflix's holiday special "A Very Murray Christmas."
    The guild previously revealed its feature documentary nominees and nominations in a number of TV categories. All award winners will be announced on Saturday, January 23, at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.
    During the ceremony, the PGA will also honor Jim Gianopulos (Milestone Award), Shonda Rhimes (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television), David Heyman (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures), "The Hunting Ground" (Stanley Kramer Award) and Industrial Light & Magic (Visionary Vanguard Award).
    A full list of the PGA's film, long-form TV, sports and digital series nominees follows.
    The theatrical motion picture nominees are:
    The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
    The Big Short
    Producers: Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner
    Bridge of Spies
    Producers: Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, Kristie Macosko Krieger
    Producers: Finola Dwyer & Amanda Posey
    Ex Machina
    This film is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility
    Mad Max: Fury Road
    Producers: Doug Mitchell & George Miller
    The Martian
    Producers: Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, Mark Huffam
    The Revenant
    Producers: Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, Keith Redmon
    Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Edward L. McDonnell, Molly Smith
    Producers: Michael Sugar & Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Blye Pagon Faust
    Straight Outta Compton
    Producers: Ice Cube & Matt Alvarez, F. Gary Gray, Dr. Dre, Scott Bernstein
    The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
    Producers: Rosa Tran, Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman
    The Good Dinosaur
    Producer: Denise Ream
    Inside Out
    Producer: Jonas Rivera
    Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy
    The Peanuts Movie
    Producers: Craig Schulz, Michael J. Travers
    The television nominees are:
    The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
    *The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and miniseries.
    American Crime (Season 1)
    This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility
    American Horror Story: Hotel (Season 5)
    Producers: Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy, Brad Buecker, Tim Minear, Jennifer Salt, James Wong, Alexis Martin Woodall, Robert M. Williams Jr.
    Fargo (Season 2)
    Producers: Noah Hawley, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Warren Littlefield, Kim Todd
    True Detective (Season 2)
    Producers: Nic Pizzolatto, Scott Stephens, Steve Golin, Aida Rodgers
    A Very Murray Christmas
    This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility
    The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:
    Back on Board: Greg Louganis
    Hard Knocks: Training Camp With the Houston Texans
    Kareem: Minority of One
    Real Sports With Bryant Gumbel
    The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:
    30 for 30 Shorts
    Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee
    Epic Rap Battles of History
    Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Double Agent
    This American Life Presents: Videos 4 U