Evolution of the Confederate flag

Updated 8:50 PM ET, Thu December 21, 2017
confederate battle flag 1875confederate battle flag 1875
1 of 6
A veteran of the Confederate States of America examines a Union water bottle in front of a Confederate flag. Here's a look at the evolution of that flag. Clinkerbeard/MPI/Getty images
The first national flag of the Confederate States of America was created in 1861 and had seven stars to represent the breakaway states of South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana and Texas. Shutterstock
The second National Flag of the Confederacy was issued by the Confederate Congress on May 1, 1863. This flag was designed to have a distinct difference from the Union's Stars and Stripes. Shutterstock
The third National Flag of the Confederacy was the final flag of the Confederate government and was adopted on March 4, 1865. The flag was not used long before the Confederacy surrendered. Shutterstock
The Confederate Battle flag known as the "Southern Cross" has 13 stars to represent the defeated Confederate States of America. MLADEN ANTONOV/AFP/Getty Images
Dixiecrats resurrected the "Southern Cross" flag as a political symbol around the time President Harry Truman supported efforts to end lynchings and desegregate the military in 1948. During that same period, the Ku Klux Klan began using the flag more widely. Rolls Press/Popperfoto/Getty Images