Dennis Hastert's political career

Published 8:17 PM ET, Thu May 28, 2015
08 hastert u.s. rep - RESTRICTED08 hastert u.s. rep - RESTRICTED
1 of 8
Dennis Hastert in 1985 as a member of the Illinois House of Representatives, where he served from 1980 to 1986. Seth Perlman/AP
Hastert is sworn in as speaker of the House of Representatives on January 6, 1999, during the opening session of the House in Washington. Hastert replaced Newt Gingrich. PAUL J. RICHARDS/AFP/Getty Images
Hastert stands behind President George W. Bush as he signs Medicare legislation in December 2003. Hastert fought hard for the bill in the House, leading to a three-hour vote on November 22, 2003. Alex Wong/Getty Images
House Rules Chairman David Dreier and Hastert hold a news conference on a GOP lobbying reform package, which included banning privately funded travel and eliminating access to the House floor for former members who are registered lobbyists. On January 3, 2006, Hastert donated $70,000 of campaign contributions from companies associated with lobbyist Jack Abramoff to charity after Abramoff pleaded guilty to corruption charges. Scott J. Ferrell/Congressional Quarterly/Getty Images
Vice President Dick Cheney greets Hastert before Latvian President Vaira Vike-Freiberga speaks to a joint meeting of Congress in June 2006. Earlier that month, Hastert had surpassed Joe Cannon to become the longest-serving Republican speaker of the House. Alex Wong/Getty Images
Hastert celebrates his re-election to an 11th term in Congress on November 7, 2006, with his wife, Jean, at a victory party in the Baker Hotel in St. Charles, Illinois. Republicans lost their majority in the House, meaning Hastert lost his position as speaker when the new Congress started on January 4, 2007.
Hastert announces that he will not seek re-election for a 12th term on August 17, 2007, as he stands on the steps of the old Kendall County courthouse in Yorkville, Illinois. Brian Kersey/AP
Hastert walks through Statuary Hall on his way to the House floor to make his farewell address to Congress on November 15, 2007. He formally resigned on November 26, 2007, after 20 years in office. Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images