Wonder Woman, Aquaman and more headed to theaters

Updated 10:56 AM EDT, Thu October 16, 2014

Story highlights

"Wonder Woman" is one of many new DC Comics based films announced Wednesday

J.K. Rowling's "Fantastic Beasts" will be a trilogy in the second half of this decade

"Lego Movie" will have two follow-ups

CNN —  

The Amazon Princess’ ardent fans have demanded it for years, and it’s finally happening: Wonder Woman will get her own movie in 2017, Warner Bros. Pictures announced on Wednesday. The movie will star Gal Gadot in the title role.

And she won’t be alone.

Rumors that Jason Momoa was going to play Aquaman in his own movie were confirmed as well, with that film slated for 2018, along with “The Flash” starring Ezra Miller (“The Perks of Being a Wallflower”).

All these movies will follow 2016’s highly anticipated “Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice” (with Henry Cavill, Ben Affleck and Gadot).

2017 will see “Justice League Part One,” which will gather all the DC Comics heroes, similar to “Marvel’s the Avengers” in 2012. A second part is slated for 2019, and Zack Snyder, the director “Batman v. Superman” will helm both films.

“Shazam,” the story of a child who turns into a superhero when he utters the fateful word, will bow in 2019. 2020’s “Cyborg” will star Ray Fisher, who will also be seen in “Batman v. Superman.”

Those who were disappointed by Ryan Reynolds’ take on “Green Lantern” will see a reboot come 2020.

Warner Bros., which is owned by Time Warner, as is CNN, also announced more “Lego Movies:” one about “Lego Batman” (with Will Arnett voicing the caped crusader) in 2017, and “Lego Movie 2” the next year.

Potterheads have much to look forward to as well. J.K. Rowling’s screenwriting debut will take the form of a trilogy of “Fantastic Beasts” movies, in 2016, 2018 and 2020.

Fans of superheroes, wizards and toy blocks may need to start saving up now for all those movie tickets.