College Football Playoff Fast Facts

(CNN)Here's a look at the College Football Playoff, a four-team seeded postseason format which began for the 2014 season and replaced the Bowl Championship Series (BCS).

January 7, 2019 - The Clemson Tigers defeat the Alabama Crimson Tide 44-16 in the College Football Playoff National Championship, at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara, California.
December 29, 2018 - The Playoff semifinals take place. No. 1 Alabama defeats No. 4 Oklahoma 45-34 at the Orange Bowl in Miami Gardens, Florida, and No. 2 Clemson defeats No. 3 Notre Dame 30-3 at the Cotton Bowl in Arlington, Texas.