Story highlights

The HSBC Sevens World Series is nine tournaments held around the world

The series started in October and will conclude in London in May

The sport is famed for speed and athleticism

It's also renowned for the carnival atmosphere created by fans

Editor’s Note: For the best viewing experience please use Firefox, Chrome, or Safari. The map may not display correctly in some versions of Internet Explorer.

(CNN) —  

It’s the ultimate sporting world tour.

The HSBC Sevens World Series comprises nine rugby sevens tournaments played across eight months in locations all around the world.

The action began in Australia in October and the series will come to a blockbuster conclusion in London in May.

It’s a sport where athleticism is king and is accompanied by a carnival atmosphere everywhere it visits.

In this interactive map, CNN takes you inside the tournaments which make up this truly global sporting celebration.

Read: Japan – Land of the rising scrum?

Read: Jonah Lomu – A rugby trailblazer