2008 Georgia Russia Conflict Fast Facts

Russian peacekeepers talk with Georgian soldiers near the village of Khurvaleti during the conflict in August 2008.

(CNN)Here's some background information about the 2008 military conflict between Russia and Georgia.

The conflict centered on South Ossetia and Abkhazia, two "breakaway provinces" in Georgia. They are officially part of Georgia, but have separate governments unrecognized by most countries.
Abkhazia and South Ossetia are supported by Russia.
During the five-day conflict, 170 servicemen, 14 policemen, and 228 civilians from Georgia were killed and 1,747 wounded. Sixty-seven Russian servicemen were killed and 283 were wounded, and 365 South Ossetian servicemen and civilians (combined) were killed, according to an official EU fact-finding report about the conflict.
    1918-1921- Georgia is briefly an independent state after separating from the Russian Empire.
    1921 - After the Red Army invasion, Georgia and Abkhazia are declared Soviet Socialist republics.
    1922 - The South Ossetia Autonomous Oblast is created within Georgia.
    1931 - Abkhazia's status is reduced to an autonomous republic within Georgia.
    1990 - South Ossetia declares its independence from Georgia.
    April 9, 1991 - Georgia declares independence.
    1991-1992 - Civil war breaks out in Georgia. Zviad Gamsakhurdia is deposed as president.
    1992 - Abkhazia declares its independence from Georgia, leading to armed conflict.
    October 1992 - Eduard Shevardnadze is elected to lead Georgia. He is re-elected in 1995 and 2