Stanley Cup Fast Facts

Tampa Bay Lightning's Nikita Kucherov (86) hoists the Stanley Cup after defeating the Dallas Stars in the NHL Stanley Cup hockey finals, in Edmonton, Alberta, on Monday, Sept. 28, 2020. (Jason Franson/The Canadian Press via AP)

(CNN)Here is a look at the Stanley Cup, the annual championship of the National Hockey League.

September 28, 2020 - The Tampa Bay Lightning defeat the Dallas Stars 2-0 in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final.
The Stanley Cup Playoffs were scheduled to begin April 8, 2020, but were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. The round-robin tournament plan the NHL laid out in May began August 1, 2020 with the winners from the qualifying rounds.
June 12, 2019 - The St. Louis Blues win their first Stanley Cup in their 52-year history after defeating the Boston Bruins 4-1 in Game 7.

    Other Facts

    In the traditional structure of the playoffs, 16 teams play in an elimination tournament. The top three teams in each of the four NHL divisions are the first 12 teams in the playoffs, and the next four spots go to the remaining top two teams in each conference, as wild cards. All playoff rounds are the best of seven games.
    The Montreal Canadiens have won the Stanley Cup a record 24 times.

    The Cup

    The trophy is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, a Canadian governor general appointed by Queen Victoria. Lord Stanley promoted amateur hockey competitions in Canada during the 19th century.
    In 1892, he donated a trophy that was unveiled during a dinner honoring the Ottawa Hockey Club.
    The trophy was originally called the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup.
    The names of every player on the winning team are etched onto a tier of the trophy.
    Since 1995, members of winning teams take turns holding on to the cup. Chaperones, including the Hockey Hall of Fame curator, keep watch over the trophy during its tour.
    In its travels over the years, the cup has been forgotten on the side of the road and kicked into a canal. In 2017, the son of Pittsburgh Penguins forward Josh Archibald was baptized in the cup. It was not the first Stanley Cup baptism.