And the Newbery, Caldecott award winners are…

Updated 10:30 AM EST, Tue January 28, 2014

Story highlights

The American Library Association announced awards for young people's literature

Kate DiCamillo won the Newbery Medal for "Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures"

The Caldecott Medal went to "Locomotive," written and illustrated by Brian Floca

CNN —  

Get ready to meet the new classics of children’s literature.

Children’s and young adult books are sporting some shiny new seals after the American Library Association announced its most esteemed literary prizes Monday, including the Newbery and Caldecott medals.

The Caldecott Medal went to “Locomotive,” written and illustrated by Brian Floca. The book follows family and crew traveling together on America’s new transcontinental railroad in the summer of 1869.

The Newbery Medal was awarded to “Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures,” written by Kate DiCamillo, who also wrote “Because of Winn-Dixie” and “The Tale of Despereaux,” and illustrated by K.G. Campbell. It’s the story of a young comic book enthusiast and cynic, Flora, and a superhero squirrel named Ulysses who helps Flora against her greatest enemy.

The awards announced Monday recognize children’s and young adult authors, illustrators and media producers. The winning list guides parents, teachers and libraries, and the books typically remain in print and on store and library shelves for years to come.

The ALA Youth Media Awards were announced during the organization’s winter meeting in Philadelphia and selected by a national judging committee of librarians and children’s literature experts.

Here’s the list of winners:

John Newbery Medal for “most outstanding contribution to children’s literature”

“Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures,” written by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell

Honor books

“Doll Bones,” written by Holly Black

“The Year of Billy Miller,” written by Kevin Henkes

“One Came Home,” written by Amy Timberlake

“Paperboy,” written by Vince Vawter

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the “most distinguished American picture book for children”

“Locomotive,” illustrated and written by Brian Floca

Honor books

“Journey,” written and illustrated by Aaron Becker

“Flora and the Flamingo,” written and illustrated by Molly Idle

“Mr. Wuffles!” written and illustrated by David Wiesner

Coretta Scott King awards for an African-American author and illustrator

Author award: “P.S. Be Eleven,” written by Rita Williams-Garcia

Illustrator award: “Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me,” illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty

Honor books

Author: “March: Book One,” written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell

Author: “Darius & Twig,” written by Walter Dean Myers

Author: “Words with Wings,” written by Nikki Grimes

Illustrator: “Nelson Mandela,” written by Kadir Nelson

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award

Theodore Taylor III for his illustrations for “When the Beat was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop”

Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement for illustrator/author

Patricia and Fredrick McKissack