Slain TSA officer remembered with moment of silence

Story highlights

  • Airports held a moment of silence for a fallen TSA officer
  • Gerardo Hernandez was the first TSA officer to lose his life in the line of duty
  • A memorial service will be held Tuesday in Los Angeles
Airport operations fell silent in honor of one of their own on Friday at 9:20 a.m. PT (12:20 ET).
The Transportation Security Administration halted security operations at airports around the United States to honor Gerardo Hernandez, the TSA officer who was shot at Los Angeles International Airport a week ago at that time.
Hernandez was the first TSA officer killed in the line of duty.
The TSA will hold a memorial service on Tuesday, November 12, at 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET) at Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena.
How shooting unfolded in LAX
How shooting unfolded in LAX


    How shooting unfolded in LAX


How shooting unfolded in LAX 02:43
The suspected gunman appeared to have targeted TSA officers, walking up to a security checkpoint and shooting Hernandez "at point-blank range," a federal prosecutor said Saturday.
A federal complaint was filed Saturday afternoon charging the alleged gunman, 23-year-old Paul Anthony Ciancia, with two felony offenses -- murder of a federal officer and commission of violence in an international airport, said U.S. Attorney Andre Birotte Jr.
Ciancia, who was shot by airport police, remains hospitalized.