Australian Open Fast Facts

(CNN)Here's a look at the Australian Open, one of four competitions that make up the "Grand Slam" in professional tennis. The other three are Wimbledon, the French Open and the US Open.

January 20-February 2, 2020 - The Australian Open is scheduled to take place.
January 14-27, 2019 - The Australian Open takes place.
2019 Results:
Novak Djokovic defeats Rafael Nadal to win his seventh Australian Open in the men's final.
    Naomi Osaka defeats Petra Kvitova in the women's final.
    Other Facts:
    Total prize money for 2019 is a record $62.5 million AUD (about 44.3 million USD), a 14% increase from 2018.
    Youngest winners - Men's singles, Ken Rosewall (18) - Women's singles, Martina Hingis (16)
    Oldest winners - Men's singles, Ken Rosewall (37) - Women's singles, Thelma Long (35) - Men's doubles, Norman Brookes (46) - Women's doubles, Thelma Long (39)
    Most successive singles wins - Roy Emerson (five) 1963-1967 and Margaret Court (seven) 1960-1966
    Most singles titles overall - Novak Djokovic (seven); Margaret Court (11)
    1905 - The Australasian Championships are played in Melbourne.
    1927 - The name is changed to the Australian Championships.
    1954 - 35-year-old Thelma Long wins the Women's Singles Championship, becoming the oldest female to do so.
    1969 - The name is changed to the Australian Open.
      1972 - 37-year old Ken Rosewall wins the Men's Singles Champions, becoming the oldest male player to win the Australian Open. He also holds the record for youngest champion, winning at age 18 in 1953.
      2001 - Begin paying men and women equal prize money.