New York City Marathon Fast Facts

NEW YORK, NEW YORK - NOVEMBER 03: Geoffrey Kamworor and Joyciline Jepkosgei of Kenya pose with the Kenyan flag after winning the Mens' and Womens' Division of the 2019 TCS New York City Marathon on November 03, 2019 in New York City. (Photo by Sarah Stier/Getty Images)

(CNN)Here's a look at the New York City Marathon.

The 2020 New York City Marathon is canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.
November 3, 2019 - The winners of the 49th New York City Marathon are Geoffrey Kamworor of Kenya in the men's division, and Joyciline Jepkosgei of Kenya in the women's division.


    The annual 26.2-mile marathon attracts more than 50,000 runners and 12,000 volunteers.
    Over 2.5 million spectators line the course which goes through the city's five boroughs: Staten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, the Bronx and Manhattan.
    The race begins on Staten Island and ends in Central Park.
    The New York Road Runners prize purse totals more than $900,000 annually, including $100,000 to the first place male and female runners of the New York City Marathon.


    September 13, 1970 - The first New York City Marathon takes place with 127 runners (55 finished). The course consists of over four laps around Central Park. The first winner is Gary Muhrcke with a time of 2:31:38. He receives a recycled bowling trophy. There is no female finisher the first year.
    1971 - The first female winner of the marathon is Beth Bonner with a time of 2:55:22.
    1976 - The course is changed to the streets of the city's five boroughs. The race has more than 2,000 runners.
    2000 - The race includes an official wheelchair division for the first time.
    2002 - For the first time, the elite female runners start 35 minutes before the men and the rest of the runners. This allows the lead women unimpeded access to water stations and improved media coverage.
    2010 - Rescued Chilean miner Edison Pena, one of 33 miners trapped underground for over two months, finishes the marathon in five hours and 40 minutes.