Daytime Emmys Fast Facts

Alex Trebek accepts the Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Game Show Host onstage during the 46th annual Daytime Emmy Awards at Pasadena Civic Center on May 05, 2019, in Pasadena, California.

(CNN)Here's a look at the Daytime Emmy Awards, which recognize television programming from the hours of 2 a.m. to 6 p.m.

May 5, 2019 - The 46th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony takes place.


    Daytime Emmys are presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.
    Emmy Awards are named after "Immy," an abbreviation for the image orthicon camera. It was later changed to "Emmy," which seemed more feminine.
    The first Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony was held in 1974. Prior to this, a small number of daytime awards were presented along with the Primetime Emmy Awards.

    2019 Winners (selected)

    Outstanding Drama Series:
    "The Young and the Restless"
    Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series:
    Maurice Benard, "General Hospital"
    Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series:
    Jacqueline MacInnes Wood, "The Bold and the Beautiful"
    Outstanding Morning Program:
    "CBS Sunday Morning"
    Outstanding Talk Show/Entertainment:
    "The Ellen DeGeneres Show"
      Outstanding Talk Show/Informative:
      "Rachael Ray"