MLB All-Star Game Fast Facts

Editor’s Note: This page has been retired and is no longer being updated.

CNN  — 

Here’s a look at Major League Baseball’s annual All-Star Game, where representatives from the National League and American League compete in the contest also known as the “Midsummer Classic.”


July 19, 2022 - The 92nd MLB All-Star Game takes place at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles. The American League defeats the National League 3-2. This is the American League’s ninth straight win.

July 13, 2021 - The 91st MLB All-Star Game takes place at Coors Field in Denver. The American League defeats the National League 5-2.

The American League has won 47 times and the National League has won 43 times. There have been two games that were tied.

Selection Process

The All-Star team managers are the managers of the teams that were in the World Series the previous season.

Typically, each team has a 32-man roster, which includes 20 position players and 12 pitchers. In 2022, Albert Pujols and Miguel Cabrera were selected as legacy selections by MLB Commissioner Rob Manfred so each team had 33 players.

The players and the Commissioner’s Office choose all the pitchers and reserves.

Fans vote for the starting positions, eight position players and one designated hitter from each league, in two phases.

In Phase 1, fans vote from a full ballot of position players. The top two vote-getters from each position and top six outfielders advance to Phase 2, except for the top overall vote-getter in each league who automatically earns a spot on the starting roster. In Phase 2, or the All-Star Ballot Finals, fans select from the two finalists at each position to determine the remaining starters.

All 30 Major League teams must be represented on the All-Star roster.

The Home Run Derby takes place the day before the All-Star Game. Eight players try to hit the most home runs in this bracket-style, timed competition.

2022 All-Star Game Rosters


July 6, 1933 - The first game is held in Chicago’s Comiskey Park. Babe Ruth hits the first home run in All-Star history. The AL team wins 4-2.

1945 - The game is not held as there are strict war time restrictions on travel.

1950 - The game goes into extra innings, a first.

1959-1962 - Two All-Star Games are held each season.

1961 - Due to rain, an All-Star Game ends in a tie for the first time.

1962 - The Most Valuable Player award is introduced. Maury Wills of the Los Angeles Dodgers is named the MVP for the first game, and Leon Wagner of the Dodgers is the MVP of the second game.

2002 - The game ends in a tie for the second time in All-Star history.

2003 - For the first time, the league that wins the All-Star Game will have home field advantage in the World Series. Since 1903, home field advantage has alternated between the leagues.

2008 - The game lasts four hours and 50 minutes, the longest in history. The game also ties with 1967 for most innings played, at 15.

December 2016 - As part of a collective bargaining agreement, the MLB decides the winner of the All-Star Game no longer