85th Oscars: The winners list

Ben Affleck may not have earned recognition from the Academy in the directing category, but his movie “Argo” walked away on Sunday with the best picture Oscar.

“Life of Pi” was another big winner during the 85th Oscars ceremony as it claimed four awards, including the best director statue for Ang Lee.

Here’s a list of the rest of the night’s winners:

Best picture

  • “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
  • “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • “Zero Dark Thirty”
  • “Lincoln”
  • “Les Misérables”
  • “Life of Pi”
  • “Amour”
  • “Django Unchained”
  • “Argo” – WINNER


  • Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln” – WINNER
  • Denzel Washington, “Flight”
  • Hugh Jackman, “Les Misérables”
  • Bradley Cooper, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”


  • Naomi Watts, “The Impossible”
  • Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”
  • Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook” – WINNER
  • Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour”
  • Quvenzhané Wallis, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Supporting actor

  • Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained” – WINNER
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman, “The Master”
  • Robert De Niro, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Alan Arkin, “Argo”
  • Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”

Supporting actress

  • Sally Field, “Lincoln”
  • Anne Hathaway, “Les Misérables” – WINNER
  • Jacki Weaver, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”
  • Amy Adams, “The Master”


  • David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Ang Lee, “Life of Pi” – WINNER
  • Steven Spielberg, “Lincoln”
  • Michael Haneke, “Amour”
  • Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Animated feature

  • “Frankenweenie”
  • “The Pirates! Band of Misfits”
  • “Wreck-It Ralph”
  • “Brave” – WINNER
  • “ParaNorman”

Foreign language film

  • “Amour,” Austria – WINNER
  • “No,” Chile
  • “War Witch,” Canada
  • “A Royal Affair,” Denmark
  • “Kon-Tiki,” Norway

Adapted screenplay

  • “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin
  • “Argo,” Chris Terrio – WINNER
  • “Lincoln,” Tony Kushner
  • “Silver Linings Playbook,” David O. Russell
  • “Life of Pi,” David Magee

Original screenplay

  • “Flight,” John Gatins
  • “Zero Dark Thirty,” Mark Boal
  • “Django Unchained,” Quentin Tarantino – WINNER
  • “Amour,” Michael Haneke
  • “Moonrise Kingdom,” Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola

Original song

  • “Before My Time” from “Chasing Ice,” music and lyrics by J. Ralph
  • “Everybody Needs A Best Friend” from “Ted,” music by Walter Murphy and lyric by Seth MacFarlane
  • “Pi’s Lullaby” from “Life of Pi,” music by Mychael Danna and lyric by Bombay Jayashri
  • “Skyfall” from “Skyfall,” music and lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth – WINNER
  • “Suddenly” from “Les Misérables,” music by Claude-Michel Schonberg, lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil

Original score

  • Dario Marianelli, “Anna Karenina”
  • Alexandre Desplat, “Argo”
  • Mychael Danna, “Life of Pi” – WINNER
  • John Williams, “Lincoln”
  • Thomas Newman, “Skyfall”

Visual effects

  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”
  • “Life of Pi” – WINNER
  • “Marvel’s The Avengers”
  • “Prometheus”
  • “Snow White and the Huntsman”

Makeup and hairstyling

  • “Hitchcock”
  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”
  • “Les Misérables” – WINNER


  • Seamus McGarvey, “Anna Karenina”
  • Robert Richardson, “Django Unchained”
  • Claudio Miranda, “Life of Pi” – WINNER
  • Janusz Kaminski, “Lincoln”
  • Roger Deakins, “Skyfall”

Costume design

  • Jacqueline Durran, “Anna Karenina” – WINNER
  • Paco Delgado, “Les Misérables”
  • Joanna Johnston, “Lincoln”
  • Eiko Ishioka, “Mirror Mirror”
  • Colleen Atwood, “Snow White and the Huntsman”


  • “5 Broken Cameras”
  • “The Gatekeepers”
  • “How to Survive a Plague”
  • “The Invisible War”
  • “Searching for Sugar Man” – WINNER

Documentary short

  • “Inocente” – WINNER
  • “Kings Point”
  • “Mondays at Racine”
  • “Open Heart”
  • “Redemption”

Animated short

  • “Adam and Dog”
  • “Fresh Guacamole”
  • “Head over Heels”
  • “Maggie Simpson in “The Longest Daycare”
  • “Paperman” – WINNER

Live action short

  • “Asad”
  • “Buzkashi Boys”
  • “Curfew” – WINNER
  • “Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)”
  • “Henry”

Film editing

  • William Goldenberg, “Argo” – WINNER
  • Tim Squyres, “Life of Pi”
  • Michael Kahn, “Lincoln”
  • Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Sound mixing

  • “Argo”
  • “Les Misérables” – WINNER
  • “Life of Pi”
  • “Lincoln”
  • “Skyfall”

Sound editing – TIE

  • “Argo”
  • “Django Unchained”
  • “Life of Pi”
  • “Skyfall” – WINNER
  • “Zero Dark Thirty” – WINNER

Production design –

  • “Anna Karenina”
  • “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”
  • “Les Misérables”
  • “Life of Pi”
  • “Lincoln” – WINNER