When every vote counted: Closest U.S. elections

Updated 4:30 PM ET, Wed October 28, 2015
01 close elections 201 close elections 2
1 of 15
Most notably in recent history, Gov. George W. Bush lost the popular vote to former Vice President Al Gore in 2000 but won the electoral vote for U.S. president. Bush won the presidency after a mandatory recount in Florida, and an additional hand recount ordered by the Florida Supreme Court was ruled unconstitutional. Bush led by 537 votes in official results. Pictured, Bush and his wife, Laura, celebrate after he clinched his party's nomination in March 2000. Timothy A. Clary/AFP/Getty Images
In 1839 Marcus Morton won the Massachusetts governorship over Edward Everett by a single vote. Morton had unsuccessfully run for governor 12 times between 1825 and 1840. National Archives and Records Administration
In the 1884 presidential election, Democrat Grover Cleveland won New York's Electoral College votes with a slim plurality of 1,149 votes in the popular election, which put Cleveland over the edge to become the United States' 22nd president. Cleveland defeated Prohibitionist John Blain in a final electoral tally of 219 to 182. Pictured, Cleveland writes at his desk, circa 1900. Kean Collection/Getty Images
Long before serving as the 36th president, Lyndon Johnson defeated Gov. Coke Stevenson in the Texas Democratic primary runoff for Senate in 1948 by 87 votes. Many charged that Johnson stole the office through ballot fraud. Pictured, Johnson addresses the nation in 1963. Keystone/Getty Images
In the closest election in U.S. Senate history, in New Hampshire in 1974, Republican Louis Wyman beat Democrat John Durkin in several recounts. The election was contested for eight months.Ultimately, the Senate called for a revote, and Durkin won by 2 votes. Pictured, Durkin speaks at a Capitol press conference in 1975. Bettmann/CORBIS
In 1984 Frank McCloskey beat Rick McIntyre by 4 votes to represent Indiana's 8th Congressional District. Pictured, McIntyre speaks at a May 1985 press conference after McCloskey is voted into office. The Washington Times/Landov
After two recounts, Sam Gejdenson had 21 more votes than Edward Munster and took a seat in the Connecticut House in 1994. Pictured, Gejdenson speaks to the media in 1998. Sygma/Corbis
In 2000, Maria Cantwell challenged three-term incumbent Republican Sen. Slade Gorton of Washington and defeated him by 0.1% of all votes cast after a recount. Pictured, Gorton listens at a hearing in 2004. Getty Images
In 2004, Jean Schmidt appeared to have won the Republican primary for the 14th District seat in the Ohio Senate by 62 votes. After a recount, Tom Niehaus was awarded the nomination with 22 more votes and went on to win the general election. Pictured, Schmidt speaks at a news conference, 2011. EPA/Landov
While most eyes focused on ballot problems in Florida after the Bush-Gore race in 2000, New Mexico had the closest results. The state gave a razor-thin edge to Al Gore, just 366 votes. Pictured, Gore and his wife, Tipper, attend the 2004 Democratic National Convention. AFP/Getty Images
Democrat Christine Gregoire defeated Republican Dino Rossi in the 2004 Washington gubernatorial election following a machine recount as well as a manual recount. Pictured, Gregoire appears with President Bill Clinton in 1998. AFP/Getty Images
Democrat Jeanne Windham, pictured, defeated Constitution Party candidate Rick Jore by 2 votes in 2004 for a seat in the Montana House. Courtesy Montana Legislature
Al Franken took a U.S. Senate seat for Minnesota from incumbent Norm Coleman in 2008 after two recounts. Coleman led Franken by 206 votes on the first count, Franken led by 225 in the mandated recount, and after Coleman contested the recount, Franken led by 312. Pictured, Franken and his wife, Franny, wave after Coleman conceded the election in June 2009. Getty Images
Incumbent Republican Mike Kelly, pictured, defeated Democratic challenger Karl Kassel by 1 vote for an Alaska House seat in 2008 following a recount. Alaska State Legislators
In the 2012 Iowa Republican caucuses, the initial returns gave Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney a victory by 8 votes. In the final tally Sen. Rick Santorum won by 34 votes, but results from several precincts were missing and the full actual results may never be known. Pictured, Santorum announces in April 2012 that he will be suspending his campaign. Jeff Swensen/Getty Images