This is the winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize, Britain's most prestigious architecture award
Updated 16th October 2015
riba 1
This is the winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize, Britain's most prestigious architecture award
The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announced the winner of its 2015 Stirling Prize on Thursday.
Burntwood School, designed by London-based practice Allford Hall Monaghan Morris (AHMM), was named "the clear winner" by the award's judging panel.
The RIBA Stirling Prize is considered the UK's most prestigious architecture honor, bestowed annually since 1995.
This year's winner is Burntwood School designed by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris Credit: royal institute british architecture
Buildings are judged based upon criteria such as innovative design, accessibility, sustainability, as well as how successfully the structure is able to engage and interact with its occupants and visitors.
Of this year's receipt, RIBA president Jane Duncan said: "Burntwood School shows us how superb school design can be at the heart of raising our children's educational enjoyment and achievement. Allford Hall Monaghan Morris, experienced school architects, have created a stunning campus."
The firm re-imagines a 1950's modernist secondary school campus for 2,000 students and 200 staff. The structure links two large cultural buildings by architect Sir Leslie Martin with six new faculty buildings. AHMM added colorful touches, by working with an artist to paint large murals onto the buildings.
"They have produced delightful, resourceful and energy efficient buildings that will benefit the whole community in the long term. With the UK facing a huge shortage of school places, it is vital we learn lessons from Burntwood," says Duncan.
AHMM have been shortlisted in the past by RIBA, for their work on Westminster Academy, Kentish Town Health Centre, and for the Angel Building in London. This is their first Stirling Prize.
Five other firms made the shortlist: Nial McLaughlin Architects, Reich and Hall Architects, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, Heneghan Pent Architects and MUMA.
The gallery above provides a closer look at this year's winner and the other nominated works.
By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, revised Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. More information about cookies.
I agree