Same-sex marriage in the United States

updated 12:51 PM ET, Tue March 31, 2015

More than 30 states and the District of Columbia allow marriage for same-sex couples. This map shows which states recognize marriages for same-sex couples, which have a constitutional or statutory ban and what the tax implications of these laws are in each state, based on data compiled by accounting firm Marcum LLP. As a result of the Supreme Court's June 2013 decision to strike down a key part of the Defense of Marriage Act, same-sex couples married in states that allow it are now entitled to federal benefits afforded to heterosexual couples.

Same-sex marriage is legal
Constitutional ban on same-sex marriage
Statutory ban on same-sex marriage

Sources: CNN, Pew Forum, Human Rights Campaign, Marcum LLP