Same-sex marriage in the United States

updated 3:30 PM ET, Wed Feb 26, 2014

Sixteen states and Washington, D.C., have passed laws allowing marriage for same-sex couples. This map shows which states recognize marriages for same-sex couples and which states have a constitutional or statutory ban. As a result of the Supreme Court's June 2013 decision to strike down a key part of the Defense of Marriage Act, same-sex couples married in states that allow it are now entitled to federal benefits afforded to heterosexual couples.

Same-sex marriage is legal
Constitutional ban on same-sex marriage
Statutory ban on same-sex marriage
Not banned, but not permitted

Sources: Pew Forum, Human Rights Campaign