Skip to main content /US
CNN.com /transcript
CNN TV
EDITIONS

Irvin Molotsky on the story of the 'Star-Spangled Banner'

graphic

Irvin Molotsky is the author of "The Flag, the Poet, and the Song," a book that tells the story behind "The Star Spangled Banner." Molotsky is a former reporter and editor for the New York Times.

CNN: Thank you for joining us today, Irvin Molotsky, and welcome.

MOLOTSKY: Hello from Paris!

CNN: How did you come to write your book, "The Flag, the Poet, and the Song"?

MOLOTSKY: Up until very recently, I was a reporter and editor for the New York Times. I was with them for 34 years, until I took early retirement in April. In 1999, I wrote an article for the New York Times, one of several that I wrote, on the efforts by the Smithsonian Institution, in Washington, to preserve the very flag that Francis Scott Key saw during the attack on Baltimore by the British during the War of 1812 -- the same flag that inspired him to write the poem, which became the Star Spangled Banner, our national anthem.

RESOURCES

The display on the story was very attractive, and it caught the eye of an editor at Dutton, Doug Grad. Doug suggested that I write a book about the flag, and the poet, and the National Anthem. I got permission from the editors at the New York Times to do this. And I wrote the book. I have since taken early retirement from the New York Times, and the reason that I'm speaking to you from Paris is that I will be working every summer in Paris at the International Herald Tribune as a copy editor.

CNN: How did "The Star-Spangled Banner" come to be our national anthem?

MOLOTSKY: It became our national anthem when it was signed into law in 1931 by President Herbert Hoover. That came after a long period of lobbying and pushing for it by civic organizations, patriotic groups, and veterans who felt we should have an official national anthem. In other words, up until 1931, the United States did not have an official national anthem.