Skip to main content /US
CNN.com /transcript
CNN TV
EDITIONS

Jim Koch, founder of the Boston Beer Company

graphic
Jim Koch  

(CNN) -- Jim Koch is the Founder of the Boston Beer company, the company behind the Samuel Adams brand. Koch is carrying on the family business with 4 generations of brewers before him. Before joining the brewing business, Koch was a mountaineering instructor.

CNN Moderator: Thank you for joining us today, Jim Koch, and welcome.

Jim Koch: Hi out there! I hope you are all having a beer.

CNN Moderator: How did you first become interested in brewing?

Jim Koch: I had my first beer when I was four years old because my father was a brew master. In fact, I'm a 6th generation brew master. So, I was pretty much born into brewing beer.

CNN Moderator: Do you ever fear you will get sick of beer?

Jim Koch: Well I've been drinking beer for 47 years, and I haven't gotten sick of it yet. In fact, every time I have a Sam Adams, I am always looking for new flavors and experiences in the same beer. So no, I haven't gotten tired of it yet.

Question from chat room: What is your favorite kind of beer?

Jim Koch: My favorite kind of beer is rich malty lager. My favorite beer in the world is still Samuel Adams Boston Lager. I've been drinking that beer almost every day of my life for the last 17 years, and I still haven't gotten tired of it.

Question from chat room: What effect will the market have on beer sales?

Jim Koch: Well, I think that the stock market might hurt the fancy wines, but something like Sam Adams is a very affordable indulgence. You might not be able to go out and buy an expensive bottle of wine, but for $12.00 you can get 12 bottles of great beer.

Question from chat room: How much has competition from micro-brews affected the "mainstream" breweries? Do you consider Sam Adams a micro-brew?