Skip to main content /TECH

Election Watch

Republic of Paraguay Vice - Presidential August 13, 2000
At stake in this election:
  • Office of the vice-president of the Republic of Paraguay
Description of government structure:
  • Paraguay's bicameral Congress (Congreso), is composed of the Chamber of Senators (Camara de Senadores) and the Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados).
  • The Chamber of Senators consists of 45 members.
  • The Chamber of Deputies consists of 80 members.
Description of electoral system:
  • The president is popularly elected for a five-year term.
  • Members of the Camara de Senadores are elected by a closed party-list proportional representation system.
  • Members of the Camara de Diputados are elected by a closed party-list proportional representation system.
Results of the election for vice president:
  • Vice Presidential Candidate: Julio Cesar FRANCO
    Party: Authentic Radical Liberal Party (PLRA)
    Valid Votes Received: 597,431
    Percentage of Valid Votes: 49.64%

  • Vice Presidential Candidate: Félix ARGAÑA
    Party: Colorado Party (ANR-PC)
    Valid Votes Received: 587,498
    Percentage of Valid Votes: 48.82%

  • Vice Presidential Candidate: Ricardo Buman
    Party: Humanist Party (PH)
    Valid Votes Received: 18,496
    Percentage of Valid Votes: 1.54%

When was the last presidential election?
  • Vice presidential elections last held: May 10, 1998
  • Luis Maria ARGAÑA was elected vice president on the same ticket as former president Raul CUBAS Grau; they received 55.3% of the vote.
    *Note: Luis Maria ARGAÑA was assassinated on March 23, 1999.
Population and number of registered voters:
  • Population: 5,434,095 (July 1999 est.)
  • Number of registered voters: 2,059,164 (July 2000)
Of Interest:
  • Normally, the vice presidential office is elected on the same ticket as the presidential. The August 13, 2000 election was called to replace former VP Luis Maria ARGAÑA following his assassination.
  • Felix ARGAÑA, son of Luis Maria ARGAÑA, was the vice presidential candidate from the Colorado Party (CP).
For additional information: IFES ElectionGuide Online


Back to the top