The Categories

Except where a specific media is referred to in the category name, all categories are open to print, radio, television, online and photographic journalists.

Culture Award

This award celebrates the coverage of African Culture across the continent. A diverse category covering a range of topics including, but not limited to, The Arts; crafts; destination tourism; African culture and cuisine.

Digital Platform Award

This award recognises the role that new media plays in the dissemination of news stories and engagement with its audiences. Individual journalists submitting stories produced exclusively for a digital audience may enter this category, along with websites; mobile content and apps that demonstrate innovate ways of telling the story and making it relevant to their audience.

The Coca-Cola Company Economics and Business Award

Stories should demonstrate a contemporary, balanced and clear understanding of any aspect of economic and/or business issues on the continent.

Environment Award

Entries should relate to any issues including protection of the environment and innovative ways to combat environmental damage across the African continent

Free Press Africa Award

2012 was one of the worst years on record for press freedom; with a record number of journalists killed and imprisoned worldwide. This award rewards excellence and provides support to African journalists who tell their stories at continuing risk to their lives and safety by covering conflicts, exposing corruption or crises in an atmosphere where information is controlled or often suppressed.

Previous recipients have demonstrated the lengths that journalists will go to and the hardships they endure to continue telling the story; often being tortured, imprisoned and, unfortunately, even making the ultimate sacrifice.

As this category is so specific to the cause of Free Press, it may not always be possible for a journalist to enter his/her own work, so nominations are encouraged from family members, the public, editors or colleagues.

Mohamed Amin Photographic Award

Entries may be either an individual photograph or a photographic essay of not more than 5 photos. Both black & white and colour photos accepted. Images that are available for download on agency websites and have not appeared in African media will not be eligible.

MSD Health & Medical Award

Journalists play a key role in bringing important health and medical issues to the forefront of the news agenda. Submissions in this category may include, but are not limited to, coverage of prevention, protection and treatments of diseases and conditions; training of medical personnel; cost and development of healthcare; and the impact of health issues on communities.

Print General News Award

This award specifically recognises the work of the print journalist in bringing general news stories to the forefront of the news agenda. Entries may be a single article, covering topical news, or an in-depth feature/series of articles or investigative report. Articles must have first appeared in a printed publication, with proof supplied.

Radio General News Award

Radio continues to play an integral part in satisfying listeners' appetite for news. Submissions should be general news stories, interviews or features

Sport Award

Entries should relate to any aspect of sports journalism including, but not limited to, reporting of sporting events; the business behind sport; features on personalities and sports as a tool for developing and building national unity.

Television Features Award

An extended news story, feature or documentary up to 60 minutes duration

Television News Bulletin Award

A general news bulletin story not more than 5 minutes duration

Francophone General News Awards

Please refer to separate entry form. Veuillez utiliser le formulaire d'inscription francophone pour cette catégorie.

Portuguese Language General News Award

Please refer to separate entry form. Por favor, utilize o formulário de entrada em Português para esta categoria

Follow us on
Twitter and Facebook