Complete coverage on

Opinion

It was late afternoon in Kiev on July 17 when I spotted the tweet: a commercial airliner had been downed over eastern Ukraine.

Latest Stories

Will athletes use their power for good or evil?updated Thu Aug 21 2014 15:21:01

I never set out to be an Olympic gold medalist. I never said out loud that I wanted to be the world's best at any particular thing. As a scrappy little girl I certainly never imagined that I would be the most decorated at any given sport. I was a shy middle child, the peacemaker, growing up in Oklahoma. At 5 years old, I followed my older sister into the sport of gymnastics.

The only way to defeat ISISupdated Thu Aug 21 2014 14:42:28

The major portion of the area Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi is attempting to control for ISIS is the same place I called home for 16 months of my life.

Hey GOP: Don't rig the vote, rock it updated Thu Aug 21 2014 13:42:05

This month, a federal judge allowed North Carolina to put into effect new laws that would make it more difficult to vote. Most of the American public didn't notice.

What Jesus knew about income inequalityupdated Thu Aug 21 2014 11:33:59

Does money make you happy? Does being rich contribute to your spiritual life and its possibilities?

Are we Ferguson?updated Thu Aug 21 2014 08:06:01

We all know the slogans meant to express empathy and solidarity: "We are Columbine." "We are all New Yorkers." "I am Trayvon Martin." The "We are Ferguson" messages have already begun, and we will likely see more.

Beheading video poses challenge for social mediaupdated Thu Aug 21 2014 08:04:41

At first glance, it seems obvious -- of course Twitter and YouTube have the right to take down a video showing the American journalist, James Foley, being beheaded. The question is why taking it down is controversial at all. The answer, I think, shows how important services like Twitter have become, and how this has thrust unexpected responsibilities onto them.

Opinion: What is ISIS hoping its abhorrent beheading video will achieve?updated Thu Aug 21 2014 07:50:14

The recent video depicting the final words and beheading of U.S. journalist James Wright Foley by someone that seems to be a British foreign fighter has sent shockwaves across the West.

James Foley is a reminder why freelance reporting is so dangerousupdated Thu Aug 21 2014 05:53:06

Freelance journalist James Foley was brutally killed yesterday after being held for 21 months by Islamic militants in Syria. Despite the increasing dangers of working in the region, despite the many journalists who have been kidnapped or are still missing, and despite dreading this news, it has taken us all by surprise and we are deeply, deeply shocked.

Black moms shouldn't have to have 'the talk'updated Wed Aug 20 2014 18:14:35

I am a mother who watched her mother bury her only son.

Liberia cannot cope with Ebola updated Wed Aug 20 2014 15:46:06

On Wednesday, angry residents of West Point, one of the poorest slums of Liberia, clashed with police when they discovered that the government has quarantined the entire area in an effort to contain the spread of Ebola. This comes on the heels of another incident at West Point a few days ago, when people attacked an Ebola clinic, releasing patients and taking bedding and other items. When the international community heard about the incident, it could not understand such reckless behavior in the face of a deadly outbreak. But living here in Liberia, we understand.

No, the Pope didn't call for a crusadeupdated Wed Aug 20 2014 13:46:24

Pope Francis' trip to South Korea memorialized the atrocities of the last century. On the way home, the Pope became embroiled in controversy about a conflict raging in the current one.

Ferguson: Police and community can repair the hurtupdated Wed Aug 20 2014 13:21:41

Three summers ago, my wife and I were settling into a short summer holiday when I received an unexpected phone call from the police chief in Tottenham, the part of North London where I grew up and now represent in the UK Parliament. Phone calls from police officers are not uncommon in my line of work, but when the chief's number appeared on my screen I knew this was serious.

ISIS beheading: What should U.S. do?updated Wed Aug 20 2014 13:14:46

American journalist James Foley was murdered, beheaded by an English-speaking member of ISIS, the extremist group that calls itself the Islamic State and has already conquered large swaths of two Middle Eastern countries. The sickening execution, recorded and released online for the world to see, came with a warning to the U.S.: ISIS showed another captive American journalist, believed to be Steven Sotloff, and threatened to kill him too if the U.S. does not stop helping those fighting to stop ISIS advances.

Why James Foley's murder was a message to Britain updated Wed Aug 20 2014 12:30:52

It was a gruesome act performed atop the stage of the global theater -- the grotesque image of a masked man, dressed all in black, beheading an American journalist in a production intended to strike terror into the hearts of millions around the world.

What Michael Brown's autopsy tells usupdated Wed Aug 20 2014 08:57:35

Michael Brown, Eric Garner and John Crawford all have one thing in common: It's not just that they were unarmed men of color killed by police officers -- it's that the responsibility to investigate each of their deaths fell to a medical examiner.

American justice different for black menupdated Wed Aug 20 2014 08:47:48

An autopsy report has revealed that Michael Brown was shot six times. It's among the few bits of concrete information released to the public, another being the name of the officer, Darren Wilson, who shot dead an unarmed and (by some accounts) surrendering Brown on August 9 on the street in Ferguson, Missouri.

My vision for a democratic Pakistanupdated Tue Aug 19 2014 22:43:22

So what kind of new political system do I want for Pakistan?

Why did Ferguson cop need 6 bullets?updated Tue Aug 19 2014 10:22:43

Residents of Ferguson, Missouri, were newly infuriated this week to learn from an autopsy report that Michael Brown, the man whose killing by a police officer on August 9 has set off days of ferocious clashes between police and protesters, had been shot six times. People who are unfamiliar with police work can reasonably ask, why was an unarmed man shot so many times, and why was deadly force used at all?

Can Mexico save the endangered vaquitas?updated Tue Aug 19 2014 09:46:36

Humans have driven to extinction four marine mammal species in modern times: Steller´s sea cow in 1768, the Caribbean monk seal in 1952, the Japanese sea lion in 1970 and the baiji or Chinese river dolphin in 2006. As you read this, we are on the brink of losing the fifth.

The real reason Ferguson has military weaponsupdated Tue Aug 19 2014 07:48:58

It used to be billy clubs, fire hoses and snarling German shepherds. Now it's armored personnel carriers and flash-bang grenades. The weaponry has changed, but the target is still the same.

Enough! We need answers on Ferguson shootingupdated Mon Aug 18 2014 20:42:53

What's going on in Ferguson? It's been nine days since Michael Brown was killed, and his family is still waiting for information from investigators about what happened to their young man.

Navarrette: Don't be afraid of America's changing demographicsupdated Mon Aug 18 2014 17:52:20

For many Americans, the scariest phrase in the English language is "changing demographics."

Ferguson: The signal it sends about Americaupdated Mon Aug 18 2014 17:07:22

The protesters in Ferguson, Missouri, want justice for the unarmed black teenager shot and killed there by a police officer. But the protests also reflect broader patterns of racial injustice across the country, from chronic police violence and abuse against black men to the persistent economic and social exclusion of communities of color.

Does Rick Perry's indictment disqualify him for 2016?updated Mon Aug 18 2014 10:00:19

The indictment and possible trial of Texas Gov. Rick Perry for allegedly applying illegal coercion to a district attorney will complicate -- but not kill -- his all-but-certain run for President in 2016. It's a sure bet that voters outside of Texas will forgive, ignore or overlook any outcome short of a conviction.

ISIS: Is it really a threat to the U.S.?updated Mon Aug 18 2014 08:24:25

U.S. officials are claiming that the terrorist group Islamic State in Iraq and Syria, or ISIS, is "now a credible alternative to al Qaeda."

Can Hillary Clinton win over the left?updated Mon Aug 18 2014 07:02:56

Hillary Clinton got herself into a frenzy of controversy as a result of an interview with The Atlantic in which she took some shots at President Obama's foreign policy.

Gordon Brown: Will world hear a child's cry for justice?updated Mon Aug 18 2014 06:54:33

Almost a century ago Eglantyne Jebb, the founder of Save the Children, said that the only international language the whole world understands is the cry of a child.

Five ways to start a financial revolution updated Mon Aug 18 2014 05:41:42

For many people the financial sector appears to be a sprawling, interconnected mass of colossal banks, complex jargon and mind-boggling numbers.

Ferguson and the lessons from Trayvon Martinupdated Sat Aug 16 2014 13:13:24

I believed we had learned lessons from the George Zimmerman case in how to better handle cases like the Michael Brown shooting. Zimmerman, you'll recall, was charged with shooting Trayvon Martin, an unarmed black teenager in Sanford, Florida, in 2012. I was Zimmereman's lawyer. That case caught national attention for the shooting itself, but almost more for the way law enforcement was perceived to have mishandled it and for the racial animus it exposed over how young blacks are treated in the criminal justice system.

In Iraq, it's not 'mission creep'updated Sat Aug 16 2014 12:34:22

Having had to request and frequently justify force requirements for combat and noncombat missions, I know that terms like "mission creep" and "boots on the ground" in connection with America's intervention in Iraq are frustratingly ill-defined and usually improperly used by those who have likely never had to plan or execute a military operation.

Yazidis' ISIS nightmare far from overupdated Fri Aug 15 2014 17:04:05

The offensive by ISIS militants against civilians and religious minorities in the northern Iraqi governorate of Nineveh has created a catastrophe.

When will Ferguson heal?updated Fri Aug 15 2014 16:23:34

President Obama spoke Thursday about the unrest in Ferguson, Missouri -- an unrest that began in response to the shooting of Michael Brown, an 18-year-old boy with no criminal record.

Obama, can't you see black anger in Ferguson?updated Fri Aug 15 2014 15:31:51

Over the past two days, President Barack Obama has finally weighed in on the tragic shooting of Michael Brown, as well as the wave of protests that emerged in its aftermath. In an official White House statement on Wednesday and a brief speech from Martha's Vineyard on Thursday, the President played his usual role of "the uniter," preaching calm and healing to the American public.

Protect Social Security, don't gut itupdated Fri Aug 15 2014 12:57:43

Seventy-nine years ago this week, as he signed the Social Security Act into law, my grandfather, President Franklin D. Roosevelt, observed, "The civilization of the past hundred years, with its startling industrial changes, has tended more and more to make life insecure. Young people have come to wonder what would be their lot when they came to old age."

Gaza: 'Strive for peace and pursue it'updated Fri Aug 15 2014 11:49:49

My son has recently been released from active reserve duty in the Israel Defense Forces in Gaza, and the two sides are again talking about a serious ceasefire. I am relieved to have my son back and to see that we are talking instead of shooting, and pray that this latest round of negotiations succeeds in bringing us stability and progress towards peace.

Gaza: How can Hamas claim victory?updated Fri Aug 15 2014 11:05:36

It was with some difficulty that Hamas agreed to extend the ceasefire with Israel for another five days Wednesday.

A chance to limit spying on Americansupdated Fri Aug 15 2014 08:44:10

For the first time in nearly 40 years, Congress looks poised to limit the powers of the U.S. intelligence community, an opportunity it should seize.

Obama needs to lead on racial profiling legislationupdated Fri Aug 15 2014 08:26:05

President Obama's remarks Thursday on the death of Michael Brown were an echo of his powerful 2013 speech on Trayvon Martin's shooting. Notably absent was any mention of race.

What millennials want to hear from politiciansupdated Fri Aug 15 2014 08:12:05

Millennials will represent nearly 40% of the voting population by the year 2020, and the race is on to win this crucial voting demographic.

Press freedom in Ferguson: Is this 1964 or 2014?updated Fri Aug 15 2014 06:56:18

Fifty years ago, America's living rooms were interrupted with images of peaceful protesters in Selma or Washington or Chicago being bitten by police dogs, sprayed with fire hoses and pummeled by batons.

As ISIS closes in, is it game over for Syria's opposition in Aleppo?updated Fri Aug 15 2014 04:08:00

The fate of Syria's Western-backed opposition hangs on a knife edge in the northern part of the war-torn country -- and with radical Sunni militants and regime forces closing in on them from all sides, time may be running out.

Bipolar disorder and the creative mindupdated Thu Aug 14 2014 20:15:36

The suicide death of Robin Williams has generated interest in the relationship between creativity and depression. No one knows the nature of Mr. William's problems (added to them today was the revelation that he was suffering with early stage Parkinson's disease), but the possibility of a link between "madness" and creativity is ancient and persistent. It is also controversial; some believe that making such a link romanticizes painful, potentially lethal illnesses and ignores the diversity of temperament and imagination that is essential to artistic work as a pathology.

How Ferguson's citizens can take back powerupdated Thu Aug 14 2014 19:37:25

Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon has appointed Capt. Ron Johnson of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, a black man, to take over the security on the ground in Ferguson. The President has issued a call for calm in the wake of a weekend police shooting that left teenager Michael Brown dead.

Ferguson, a war zone or U.S. city? updated Thu Aug 14 2014 18:21:20

The stories coming out of Ferguson, Missouri, paint an increasingly worrying picture?that of a Middle America city like most any other being turned into a war zone.

Why Ferguson is your townupdated Thu Aug 14 2014 08:52:03

What if this was your town?

What media got wrong on Robin Williams' suicide updated Thu Aug 14 2014 08:45:25

The tragic death of much loved actor and comedian Robin Williams took the world by surprise. There has been a steady stream of news reports -- at first conveying shock and disbelief then, disappointingly, moving on to salacious speculation about the cause and method of his death.

Ben Stein: In '60s, sex was like saying 'hi'updated Thu Aug 14 2014 08:15:12

In 1955, in the midst of the fabulous '50s, as America was roaring through unprecedented prosperity, none of the Top 10 songs of the year contained anything about sex. There were great songs like "The Yellow Rose of Texas," "The Ballad of Davy Crockett" and "Love is a Many Splendored Thing." But they were the kind of songs you could listen to with your grandmother.

What the U.S. can realistically do in Iraqupdated Thu Aug 14 2014 07:43:14

Over the past few days, politicians and experts have been debating the merits of the Obama administration's strategy in Iraq -- or whether there is in fact a strategy.

How religion could complicate U.S. intervention in Iraqupdated Thu Aug 14 2014 05:42:49

The decision by the Obama administration to intervene militarily in Iraq to prevent a potential "genocide" against a religious minority, could potentially strain relations with Sunnis, who constitute the overwhelming majority of Muslims in the Middle East and wider Muslim world.

Why Robin Williams lost to depressionupdated Wed Aug 13 2014 18:44:42

The tragic death of Robin Williams has once again taught us a bitter lesson: Depression does not discriminate, cannot be bargained with and shows no mercy.

Suicide doesn't set you freeupdated Wed Aug 13 2014 18:01:27

Suicide should NEVER be presented by media as a means to resolve or escape one's problems (contrary to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' twitter post, the genie is not free, the genie's pain has now been dispersed to a very large audience).

Lauren Bacall, the last existential heroine updated Wed Aug 13 2014 13:30:48

Lauren Bacall, who died Tuesday at the age of 89, always said, not altogether happily, that she would be defined by her relationship with her husband, the great actor Humphrey Bogart.

Poisoned relationship between police and minoritiesupdated Wed Aug 13 2014 09:45:26

I recently met a woman, the mother of three black teenagers. She told me that after the Trayvon Martin shooting, she forbade her boys to wear hoodies. She warned them never to walk around with their hands in their pockets. She was terrified that someone would find her boys acting suspiciously and one of them would end up being killed.

Kim Kardashian, Queen of Narcissismupdated Wed Aug 13 2014 07:56:17

It hurts me to say this, but I bet when I say "Kim," you know the last name.

The high-tech arms race that's causing stock market 'tsunamis'updated Wed Aug 13 2014 05:35:59

If you have ever tried to grab a bargain that appears online, you'll know you have to be quick. The business of high frequency trading -- using algorithms and superfast computers to conduct trades in a fraction of a second -- is a supercharged version of this, with the potential to execute millions of buy and sell orders electronically each day through the myriad exchanges currently in existence.

Opinion: Why is Pope Francis going to South Korea?updated Tue Aug 12 2014 22:21:25

The simple answer to the question why Pope Francis is headed to South Korea, in the first papal trip to Asia in 25 years, is straightforward. The pope is going to celebrate the sixth Asian Youth Day and beatify 124 martyrs of Korea.

Robin Williams and depression: We all wear a maskupdated Tue Aug 12 2014 19:30:51

Smart, successful, funny and handsome. Robin Williams seemed to have it all. And yet, today he is dead. Apparently, by his own choice.

Hillary Clinton, Barack Obama both wrongupdated Tue Aug 12 2014 16:53:26

In the absence of any serious Democratic opposition, Hillary Clinton appears to have decided to run against Barack Obama in the 2016 primaries. An interview with Jeffrey Goldberg in the Atlantic revealed her frustrations with the over-caution of the White House. Its maxim "don't do stupid stuff" might display post-Bush wisdom, says Clinton, but it also betrays a lack of a plan: "Great nations need organizing principles, and 'Don't do stupid stuff' is not an organizing principle," she said.

Are the police getting away with murder?updated Tue Aug 12 2014 13:05:20

Although details are still emerging in this most recent tragedy, we know an officer repeatedly shot and killed an unarmed 18-year-old black man, Michael Brown, in a St. Louis suburb last weekend -- less than two days before he was scheduled to attend college.

Does Iran back U.S. military intervention in Iraq?updated Tue Aug 12 2014 12:12:56

President Obama's decision to target militants from ISIS -- which is now calling itself the "Islamic State" or "IS" -- operating in Iraq comes as a huge relief to the Iranians. Officials in Tehran have been panic stricken since ISIS forces overran the northern Iraqi city of Mosul on June 10.

Rand Paul: The flip-flop kingupdated Tue Aug 12 2014 08:03:13

Sen. Rand Paul of Kentucky is giving people whiplash. In the last month, he has shifted, flip-flopped and pandered so strikingly on a range of positions and statements that it makes you wonder whether he has suddenly developed a deep disregard for his own convictions, or never had any to begin with.

Why the Earth is farting updated Tue Aug 12 2014 07:58:55

Every day, you have a close personal encounter with methane, a key ingredient of something we don't usually mention in polite company: farts.

Gilbert Gottfried: Robin Williams' generous heartupdated Tue Aug 12 2014 07:43:38

It always made me laugh to hear stories about the insanity that would go on between Robin Williams and Gilbert Gottfried during the making of the movie "Aladdin." The truth was Robin and I didn't bump into each other once during the making of that film. I recorded the Parrot role, and he recorded the Genie separately. So when I saw the film for the first time at the premiere, I was able to laugh along with the rest of the audience at Robin's performance. I had never heard it before.

Robin Williams can't be deadupdated Mon Aug 11 2014 21:21:11

Most of the shock that resounds after hearing that Robin Williams died Monday comes from its utter implausibility. How could Robin Williams, of all people, just stop breathing, moving and, most of all, talking?

Soledad O'Brien: For veterans, the war comes homeupdated Mon Aug 11 2014 19:09:13

Delon Beckett is losing it. He's drunk, stumbling around his living room wrestling with his 3-year-old daughter, Jayla. She kicks him in the groin, and he mumbles "stop."

Why Tony Stewart isn't likely to face charges in racetrack deathupdated Mon Aug 11 2014 11:34:58

Even hardened race fans, accustomed to witnessing spectacular crashes, were stunned to see the shattered body of 20-year-old race car driver Kevin Ward Jr. sprawled on a New York dirt track Saturday night.

Hillary Clinton pummels Obama foreign policyupdated Mon Aug 11 2014 07:54:23

Yes, Hillary Clinton is running for president, and she is running away from President Barack Obama's record on foreign policy.

How many unarmed people have to die?updated Mon Aug 11 2014 07:41:07

I am tired.

Why marijuana's moment has arrivedupdated Mon Aug 11 2014 07:33:43

A few decades ago, marijuana was a topic that relatively few people, mostly counterculture musicians and comedians, spoke about in public. The comedy team of Cheech and Chong made films such as "Up in Smoke" that extolled the pleasures of smoking pot at a time the subject was still taboo.

Male scientists, don't harass young female colleagues updated Sat Aug 09 2014 12:57:06

Senior male scientists hitting on younger women colleagues appears to be the norm, according to a recent survey.

ISIS, Hamas and Boko Haram: Believe their intentionsupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 18:51:22

Grim, unyielding and violent reality is beginning to confront the American political establishment with facts from which it cannot hide.

Can air power stop ISIS?updated Fri Aug 08 2014 18:35:40

The new ISIS offensive in the North of Iraq has both shaken the Kurds and threatened the Yazidi minority with not only genocide, but also cultural extinction. In response the United States early Friday morning used airpower against ISIS targets inside Iraq. This is the first use of force against ISIS both since ISIS rebranded from al Qaeda in Iraq and since the departure of U.S. forces at the end of 2011.

Is S. Korea the coolest place on earth? updated Fri Aug 08 2014 16:54:27

For many years, I had a pretty good working definition of cool: It was the thing that I was not.

Obama knows he can't fix Iraqupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 16:26:12

Barack Obama may be a risk averse president focused more on the middle class as his legacy than on the Middle East. But ISIS' advances against Irbil (where there are U.S. troops and diplomats) and its brutality against the Yazidis and Christians gave him no choice but to become more risk ready.

Obama, the very reluctant warriorupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 15:44:53

When President Obama spoke to the nation about military action in Iraq, it was hard to directly catch his eye.

When a monkey takes a selfie ...updated Fri Aug 08 2014 14:04:41

Selfies are everywhere. Even Indonesian macaques are getting into the game. In 2011, two of these Old World monkeys borrowed photographer David J. Slater's camera and reportedly snapped some pictures of themselves. One of the selfies by a female macaque has since gone viral, making its way to Wikipedia's free-to-use website.

Army colonel: Don't go back to Iraqupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 11:19:19

As a former U.S. brigade commander of several thousand coalition forces during surge operations in Iraq, it is difficult to watch this country fall apart.

Qatar's door open to peace in Gaza updated Fri Aug 08 2014 09:02:32

Israel's monthlong assault on the Palestinians has taken a heavy toll, with some 2,000 Palestinians killed and 10,000 more wounded. Most of these victims were civilians and many of them children, representing just the latest bloody chapter in a tragic history.

Why Rosetta spacecraft chased after a cometupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 08:44:29

More than 200 years ago, part of a stone tablet was discovered in Egypt that provided the first reliable way to translate ancient hieroglyphics into a modern language. The Rosetta Stone, as the tablet is called, proved to be the key to unlocking details of the rise and fall of civilizations that flourished on our planet many thousands of years ago.

My grandpa was 'unaccompanied minor' to U.S. -- in 1907updated Fri Aug 08 2014 08:31:47

The situation along the U.S. southern border is complicated. There are no easy answers to the problem of thousands of desperate children, many unaccompanied minors, fleeing chaos, violence and governmental collapse in Central America.

The promise World War I couldn't keepupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 08:29:54

The guns of August 1914 unleashed a debate that is still with us: Can the laws of war actually impose limits on how war is carried out?

Opinion: Why Israel is its own worst enemyupdated Fri Aug 08 2014 05:26:03

The streets of Ashkelon were half empty when I arrived on a Monday afternoon. The latest war was under way, and Haaretz had just published a critical article I'd written about Israel's air force pilots and the grave consequences of their bombardment of Gaza.

Why Vladimir Putin isn't going to make peaceupdated Thu Aug 07 2014 17:40:52

The killing of 298 innocent people on board Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 was a crime, a consequence of the war against Ukraine that Vladimir Putin started, and which he supplies, directs and controls. The Russian President bears full responsibility for this war, including the downing of the Malaysian airliner.

UNCF pays a price for taking Koch cashupdated Thu Aug 07 2014 15:55:24

Sometimes the hardest thing is to say "no" to a friend. All the more reason to applaud the bravery of Lee Saunders and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees.

What chance do Yazidis have against group too brutal for al Qaeda?updated Thu Aug 07 2014 11:18:24

The terror group ISIS (Islamic State in Iraq and Syria) which has shortened its name to "Islamic State" or "IS", led by Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, its self-proclaimed caliph, has hit a new low. Having spread across huge swathes of Iraq and Syria, leaving absolute devastation in its wake, its latest offensive has brought it to Sinjar, a city in the north western region of Nineveh in Iraq and home to at least 200,000 of the world's 700,000 members of the Yazidi faith

After the Summit: How U.S. can break China's grip on Africaupdated Thu Aug 07 2014 09:37:04

Africa has indeed turned the corner. A continent once synonymous with death, disease and destruction is showing signs of improvement.

Russia hack is not that scaryupdated Thu Aug 07 2014 08:05:37

At least 1.2 billion usernames and passwords hacked. Is this truly scary or corporate fearmongering?

Why worry about the measles outbreak?updated Thu Aug 07 2014 07:42:29

The worst measles outbreak in 20 years continues to grow. Most recently, there was a new case in Ohio, where there are already 377 cases. So far this year, measles has infected 593 people in 21 states.

Hypocrisy of 'condemn Israel' campaignupdated Thu Aug 07 2014 07:37:33

When Israel is forced to defend its citizens from Palestinian terrorism originating from Gaza, we've come to expect outrage around the world. Critics are quick to condemn Israel's military actions -- some with such heavy-handed charges as "war crimes," "atrocities" and even "genocide," while remaining silent about the terrorists who started the conflict.

James Patterson: If I were Amazon's Jeff Bezosupdated Thu Aug 07 2014 07:33:41

As you may have read, Hachette Book Group (my publisher) is experiencing challenges with Amazon, as a result of negotiation over new selling terms for ebooks.

ISIS must be stoppedupdated Wed Aug 06 2014 19:04:20

"Mr. Speaker, We are being slaughtered, we are being exterminated," cried out Vian Dakhil in a devastating appeal to the Iraqi parliament that deserves the attention of the entire world.

What's missing from the Africa summitupdated Wed Aug 06 2014 16:13:40

Words like "landmark" and "historic" are being used to describe this week's U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit. More than 40 heads of state, the President, dozens of American CEOs, celebrities, activists and several members of Congress -- myself included -- are participating in the three-day event.

Russia hack: Your data is not safeupdated Wed Aug 06 2014 14:53:07

Most people's first response on hearing that 1.2 billion usernames and passwords have been compromised by a group of Russian hackers? We check our own most important accounts for evidence of misuse, and change our passwords. If a week or two goes by with nothing out of the ordinary happening on our credit cards, we breathe a sigh of relief and go back to life as normal.

Can the West live with 'brutal' al Qaeda offshoot ISIS?updated Wed Aug 06 2014 12:33:37

As the international community contemplates what should be done about the Islamic State, formerly the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS) -- the brutal al Qaeda offshoot that now controls a wide swath of territory spread across the Iraqi-Syrian border -- the West, with the United States at its helm, may decide that while ISIS constitutes an imminent threat to the security of the countries in whose midst it has risen, a "wait-and-see" approach, remains a viable option for a simple reason: Unlike other al Qaeda branches, ISIS doesn't seem eager to attack the West. It has too much to lose.

U.S. general's killing may be a bad omenupdated Wed Aug 06 2014 07:35:17

On Tuesday, an Afghan soldier killed a U.S. major general and wounded a German brigadier general, as well as up to 15 others, in an attack at the Marshal Fahim National Defense University in the Afghan capital, Kabul.

In Gaza, Hamas is on the ropesupdated Wed Aug 06 2014 07:23:28

There is optimism, and hope, that the Egyptian-brokered three-day "humanitarian cease-fire" between the Israel Defense Forces and Hamas will turn into a longer-term cessation of hostilities -- with good reason.

Is Down syndrome comedy fodder?updated Wed Aug 06 2014 07:20:44

"I am like, I am so (BLEEP) high. This is terrible. And I did it in that voice. And I have never done that voice before in my life. I don't know where that voice came from. But I heard myself use that voice. And in my mind, I went, oh (BLEEP). I just gave myself Down syndrome." --Wyatt Cenac, This American Life, 5/4/2014

We recommend

From around the web