Complete coverage on

Opinion

I still remember the chill that came over me the day my middle school history teacher showed the class a documentary about the Holocaust.

Latest Stories

How World War I gave birth to the modernupdated Thu Oct 30 2014 18:24:15

The years preceding World War I in Europe are generally referred to as the "Belle Epoque" -- a cultural and economic golden age. The period was hardly one of utter utopia for all citizens. But in the wake of the conflagration that would shake the globe beginning in August 1914, it came later to be seen as a period of calm before the storm. Its cultural practices, too, seem tinged with an almost naive optimism.

Biomedical research cuts hurting U.S.updated Thu Oct 30 2014 18:19:19

Despite the tireless efforts of many health professionals, progress against Ebola and other diseases has been slowed by federal budget cuts. To boost our efforts to prevent epidemics, federal investment in biomedical research should be revived.

Why ISIS's treatment of Yazidi women must be treated as genocideupdated Thu Oct 30 2014 10:17:56

"I was hiding behind a water tank in the front yard and saw them killing my father and brother and [taking] away my mother and sister. I don't know anything about them since," says Dunya, a 14-year-old Yazidi girl.

Beware teen braggers: Why Australia's tough new terror laws could misfireupdated Thu Oct 30 2014 01:22:49

The Australian prime minister's hard-line plan to throw foreign fighters and ISIS supporters into maximum security prison is finally coming to fruition.

The most hopeless causes in sports?updated Thu Oct 30 2014 00:26:32

Do the hopeless causes have hope? If so, how much?

Attention, men: stop with the catcallsupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 18:57:47

If you are a woman, you've likely experienced the creepy, disrespectful and sometimes scary way some men treat you as you walk down the street -- lewd looks, unwanted comments, compliments about your body, elongated necks craning to see your backside, catcalls, even being followed.

How Pope pushes back at creationists updated Wed Oct 29 2014 17:58:20

Liberal American Catholics greet almost anything uttered by Pope Francis with glee, but his latest pronouncement has them scratching their heads. Headlines proclaiming "Pope says evolution, Big Bang are real" could have been written in 1950.

Don't overreact to rocket explosionupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 17:51:50

Yes, trying to lift 5,000 pounds of cargo to orbit is rocket science -- and it's very hard. Early Tuesday evening, an Antares rocket, built by Orbital Sciences Corp., and its Cygnus cargo ship exploded almost immediately after launch. Yet as disappointing as this incident is, it should not be treated as a sign that NASA's partnerships with the private sector are flawed.

U.S.-Israel quarrel doesn't point to a divorceupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 17:29:44

Here we go again. Yet another supposed crisis in the ongoing soap opera between the Obama administration and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.

Don't abolish teacher tenureupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 17:25:38

Time magazine has clearly kicked up a hornet's nest with its downright insulting cover headlined "Rotten Apples," and coupled with the blurb, "It's nearly impossible to fire a bad teacher. Some tech millionaires may have found a way to change that."

First line of defense against terrorism: Mom and Dadupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 17:03:16

Last week, three teenage girls from Denver were alleged to have tried to join ISIS.

Is killing ISIS leader a good idea?updated Wed Oct 29 2014 16:58:29

It's a good bet that right now, someone somewhere in Washington has come up with a plan to decapitate the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS) by assassinating its boss, Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, and moving down through his lieutenants.

Why Kobani could be an opportunity for Turkey, the Kurds and the U.S.updated Wed Oct 29 2014 11:20:19

In the space of just 48 hours last week, Turkey went from calling the PYD -- the Kurds defending the Syrian border town of Kobani -- a terrorist group to opening up an arms corridor from Iraq to aid its fight against ISIS.

Rockets blow up; we move onupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 08:02:07

It seems people only pay attention anymore when the rocket blows up.

Why Jeb Bush shouldn't be presidentupdated Wed Oct 29 2014 07:45:56

I've returned to Washington after a long time away in my home in Britain to get a sense of the political mood in the run-up to the 2016 presidential election. And I'm pretty depressed to discover that everyone is talking about Jeb Bush.

How safe are you, REALLY, at work? updated Wed Oct 29 2014 06:59:25

During his travels around the nation, meeting countless working men and women, Mike Rowe has certainly seen many different ways to make a living -- some more dangerous than others.

What Obama could learn from Bushupdated Tue Oct 28 2014 19:45:40

The period since September 11, 2001, will never be described by any historian as a golden age of U.S. foreign policy. I know. I have just written a history on it, and it's not pretty.

Ebola crisis: Who are the heroes?updated Tue Oct 28 2014 18:58:10

"I didn't become a nurse to risk dying -- by getting infected from a patient -- and then going home and infecting my children, too!" the nurse told me. She was angry and afraid.

Luxury cars and cognac for...North Korea?updated Tue Oct 28 2014 16:18:14

Eight months after the release of a landmark U.N. Commission of Inquiry report on human rights in North Korea, the United Nations is finally deliberating how to address what were described as Pyongyang's crimes against humanity.

Ease up on the boy who shot albino deerupdated Tue Oct 28 2014 11:22:56

Warning: This isn't exactly a heartwarming story about a boy and his deer. Only one of the characters makes it to the closing credits.

Maine's Clean Elections law needs to be restored updated Tue Oct 28 2014 07:50:41

$1.3 billion is enough money to buy the Los Angeles Lakers or a big stake in the U.S. government.

What's the best way to treat Ebola?updated Tue Oct 28 2014 07:41:25

Ebola virus has landed several times in the United States and at least twice has spread to health care workers.

What brands can learn from Microsoft's Minecraft purchaseupdated Tue Oct 28 2014 07:27:49

It's a function of the size and maturity of a company that, having reached a certain point in its lifecycle, it moves from being a manifestation of the passion of the founder(s) to a servant of the needs of shareholders, financial controllers and investors.

Prison camp escapee: North Korea won't change its repressive waysupdated Mon Oct 27 2014 23:57:57

In North Korea's utopian society, the very words "human rights" do not need to exist -- because it's so perfect, the regime maintains.

Why Ebola quarantine is legal updated Mon Oct 27 2014 17:39:16

Kaci Hickox, a nurse who worked with Doctors Without Borders to treat Ebola patients in Sierra Leone, was placed under mandatory quarantine in New Jersey for three days even though she tested negative for Ebola and is asymptomatic.

Why Dilma Rousseff was re-elected in Brazilupdated Mon Oct 27 2014 16:11:37

Dilma Rousseff's re-election as president of Brazil on Sunday may have surprised many.

Am I 'black enough'?updated Mon Oct 27 2014 14:49:08

I am black, though for most of my life, I've heard from various people that I wasn't.

Cuomo, Perry play politics on Ebolaupdated Mon Oct 27 2014 08:04:38

There are times when political ambition spurs political leaders to reach new heights of courage and creativity. To date, the Ebola outbreak of 2014 is not proving to be one of those times.

How college sports cheat student athletesupdated Mon Oct 27 2014 07:45:22

Most kids, and parents, think of college as the place you go to get a "higher education." It didn't turn out that way for at least 3,100 students at the University of North Carolina.

Six Senate races that could tell the story of 2014updated Mon Oct 27 2014 07:19:28

The midterm elections are a week away. Control of the Senate will be decided by a handful of close contests that remain competitive in the final days.

Brazilians close their eyes and hope for the bestupdated Mon Oct 27 2014 06:28:47

Uncertainty normally comes with the new. This year's Brazilian presidential elections, though, have been like no other. After Sunday's polls gave President Dilma Rousseff, from the left-wing Worker's Party (PT), another four-year term with a narrow margin of victory, Brazilians embarked on a guessing exercise about what her next government will look like.

How strong is the link between faith and terrorism?updated Sun Oct 26 2014 17:39:48

The tragic murder of Cpl. Nathan Cirillo by Michael Zehaf-Bibeau -- "a recent convert to Islam" as every media outlet in the United States would like to remind you -- has added fuel to the already fiery debate in this country over the inherently violent nature of religion in general, and Islam in particular.

There's a problem within Islamupdated Sun Oct 26 2014 15:04:49

When the news flashed last week that a man had shot and killed a Canadian soldier in front of the National War Memorial in Canada, what most people were wondering -- but not saying out loud -- was, "Is it another radical Muslim?"

Gun violence isn't somebody else's problemupdated Fri Oct 24 2014 20:22:39

A child was killed Friday because that child went to school.

A surprising truth about serial killingsupdated Fri Oct 24 2014 20:08:07

The case of Darren Deon Vann, who police say confessed to murdering as many as seven women in northwest Indiana over the past couple of years, is just the latest example of a kind of crime spree that has become all too familiar. At a time when television crime dramas like "CSI," "Criminal Minds," and "Law and Order" record high ratings with lurid plot lines about repeat killers, it is easy to come away believing that serial killings are as prevalent as they have ever been.

Where are Mexico's lost boys?updated Fri Oct 24 2014 18:35:09

Where are the lost boys of Mexico? That's what many people, in that country and around the world, want to know. The answer could say much about the new narrative that has been pushed about the country.

How to print yourself a new handupdated Fri Oct 24 2014 17:24:47

Smiling children are using prosthetic hands to open windows through which we can glimpse the future of health care -- a future where outsiders and amateurs innovate along with insiders and professionals. The question is, "Will America lead the way, as it has for a century, or will it fall behind, as it has begun to do?"

Opinion: Iran nuclear solution more important than deadline updated Fri Oct 24 2014 15:04:48

Another round of nuclear talks ended late Thursday in Vienna. Nothing good, bad or even surprising has publicly emerged from the two-day talks between Iran and the P5+1 countries.

Opinion: Parents who yell at kids playing sports? Grow up!updated Fri Oct 24 2014 13:03:44

The village of Beddau in South Wales is sleepy, picturesque, and does not normally make national news. But it hit the headlines this month when a controversial sign was put up at the children's rugby club.

The anti-ISIS message Malala couldn't say in Canadaupdated Fri Oct 24 2014 12:32:20

Apparently it was a coincidence, but the deadly shooting in Ottawa came on the same day that the 17-year-old Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai was scheduled to speak with high school students and receive honorary Canadian citizenship.

'Potty Mouthed Princesses' video offensive?updated Fri Oct 24 2014 11:49:46

Recently, my 6-year-old picked up the word "f*ckin" on the school bus. I swear, it was from the school bus, and I know this because I don't say that word. I say "f*ck."

Candidate's gun remarks should scare usupdated Fri Oct 24 2014 09:36:16

If it was just a political pander, it was a beauty. But if it was a serious statement of philosophy, it was chilling -- even scary.

Daylight Saving Time: Keep it year roundupdated Fri Oct 24 2014 09:02:12

On Sunday, November 2, it will again be the end of Daylight Saving Time. Many of us will be muttering to ourselves as we wander around resetting all of our various clocks -- on the thermostat, clock radio and stove, among other places.

Russia taking jabs at Swedenupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 19:08:15

Sweden's chase for what is widely suspected to be a submerged Russian submarine operating within its territorial waters can't help but remind older Swedes of the fact that, during the Cold War, Swedish waters were thought to be regularly covertly probed by submarines belonging to the Soviet Union.

Like, OMG!! Zuck speaks Mandarin?!!updated Thu Oct 23 2014 18:08:44

So, Mark Zuckerberg apparently speaks Mandarin.

With Ferguson, it's not what you think updated Thu Oct 23 2014 17:54:57

The new "leaks" from the grand jury on the Michael Brown shooting have once again stoked the imagination of the American public and the world. The implication of these leaks is that Officer Darren Wilson won't be indicted, so everyone wants to know how Ferguson will react.

How not to respond to Ebolaupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 16:56:12

There is no word more reviled in America than "Ebola," especially since the death of Thomas Eric Duncan, the Liberian national who had traveled to Dallas. But as Ebola has spread, it has become increasingly clear that if there is to be any chance of stopping the disease -- not only here in America, but across the world -- then the United States must lead through inspiring example.

Veteran: My search for a PTSD cure led me to the Amazonupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 16:35:22

Just out of high school, my young developing mind couldn't resist the temptation of the Marine recruiters: They promised challenge and hardship, in comparison to the other armed services, which promised money and travel as their main recruiting incentives.

Transgender military members: One accepted, one notupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 12:19:25

One of us is British and the other American. But we have many important things in common. Both of us are in the military and were deployed to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. We're both proud to serve and fight for our countries -- and both of us have served successfully. But when our military colleagues found out that we are transgender, our careers took different paths. Here are our stories:

Ebola will elevate respect for nursesupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 07:56:22

Back in the day, nurses will tell you, if a doctor came into a room and no chair was available for him, a nurse would have to give up her seat. Those days are long gone, but for a long time, nurses didn't have a guaranteed seat at the health care policy table?until now.

This is not supposed to happen in Canadaupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 20:48:40

It was a surprise, even for a journalist, to be driving down Wellington Street, the city's ceremonial thoroughfare, and to find myself swept into the chaotic aftermath of a disaster. I was rushing to a television studio at mid-morning and passing by the National War Memorial, just minutes after the shooting. A solider was down.

Are we hypocrites over Renee Zellweger?updated Wed Oct 22 2014 18:53:09

Renee Zellweger looks different than she did 10 years ago.

How poaching fuels terrorism fundingupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 13:05:27

Half a million dollars. That's how much it cost Osama bin Laden and his band of extremists to carry out the most deadly attack on U.S. soil since Pearl Harbor.

Ferguson grand jury: Protector of liberty or of police abuse? updated Wed Oct 22 2014 09:05:56

If the local grand jury brings no charges against police Officer Darren Wilson in the case of Michael Brown's killing, street protests in Ferguson, Missouri, are inevitable. Demonstrators angry about Wilson's shooting of the unarmed black teenager in August already decry the grand jury's secrecy and "lack of transparency." But for those who believe that the grand jury procedure is some sort of cop and prosecutor conspiracy to trample the rights of minority citizens, a little background on this hallowed institution might be in order.

Mandy Moore: For Africa, health care that worksupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 08:20:55

I've just returned from a visit to Tanzania with the global health and development organization Population Services International to better understand the challenges facing health workers in the developing world. The outbreak of Ebola only underscores the dire need for trained health workers -- a global shortage of nearly 7.2 million health workers, according to the World Health Organization.

What Ben Bradlee stood forupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 07:26:56

The death of famed Washington Post editor Ben Bradlee on Tuesday marks the symbolic end of an important era in American journalism, one that, unfortunately, was very different than our own.

How the 'Seinfeld election' could actually make a differenceupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 07:24:32

First, let's be clear: No one can blame voters if they a) are turned off by this election, b) are worried more about other things in their lives and c) don't think that it matters much who controls the Senate, which is what is up for grabs this year.

Mike Rowe defends himself after whooping crane showupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 06:53:07

When CNN's Mike Rowe visited a bird sanctuary on his new series "Somebody's Gotta Do It," he drew some heat from viewers.

How NATO can respond to Swedish mysteryupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 19:41:38

Recent developments off the coast of Sweden raise many questions, and we do not as yet have answers.

What we got wrong about the Vaticanupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 18:35:23

It was described as a "dramatic shift" and a "bombshell." One writer dubbed it a "stunning change." Even the Human Rights Campaign, the LGBT advocacy organization, announced a "seismic shift in Rome." So it was all the more disheartening that the Catholic Church's Synod of Bishops decided to backpedal on its surprisingly welcoming language for LGBT people and their families from earlier in the week with the release on Saturday of the final document from its meeting.

Shame on Monica Lewinskyupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 12:48:36

Shameless. There's no other word to describe Monica Lewinsky. Sixteen years after her affair with President Bill Clinton became public knowledge, she's returned to the limelight with a campaign against cyberbullying -- of which she claims to have been "patient zero."

East Coast, Gulf Coast should get used to tidal floodsupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 12:00:43

Two years ago next week, Superstorm Sandy barreled through parts of the United States, causing $65 billion worth of damage to communities up and down the Eastern seaboard. Sandy, which brought extensive flooding to New York and Atlantic City, was described by many as a once in a generation storm.

Why should donating an organ cost so much?updated Tue Oct 21 2014 09:12:09

Thirty years ago, the United States enacted a law that has inadvertently condemned hundreds of thousands of Americans to death. As a result of the National Organ Transplant Act, more Americans have lost their lives waiting for an organ than died in both World Wars, Korea, Vietnam, Afghanistan and Iraq put together.

Black Republican actress' racist remarks hurt GOP updated Tue Oct 21 2014 08:37:17

Fox News contributor and Republican as of 2012, black actress Stacey Dash proves she really wasn't acting in the movie "Clueless." Appearing on Fox News' "Hannity" show, Dash called all black people in Louisiana government freeloaders who don't work.

Can abortion be de-stigmatized?updated Tue Oct 21 2014 07:35:54

There is a new strategy in the battle over abortion rights. I don't quite know what to call it, but I haven't seen anything like it since the fictional 47-year-old Maude Findlay chose to abort her fetus on TV's "Maude" in 1972.

China's Confucius Institutes: Self-promotion or cultural imperialism?updated Tue Oct 21 2014 01:26:41

The rationale behind Confucius Institutes -- an international chain of academic centers run by an arm of the Chinese government -- is understandable.

Lessons from one deadly disease for handling Ebolaupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 16:12:55

Managing Ebola demands as much of our diligence in infection control practice as SARS did. And though Ebola may, in theory, be less contagious than the airborne SARS or Middle East respiratory syndrome viruses, it is spread through direct contact with infected body fluids or organs and has been demonstrably and tragically more fatal.

Attorney: Charges against liberated Mauritanian slave droppedupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 15:13:50

[Update, posted on October 23 at 10 a.m. ET]

Egg-freezing a better deal for companies than for womenupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 14:41:29

Apple and Facebook made the headlines last week on the news that they are offering coverage for their female employees to freeze their eggs. Financial support for egg-freezing represents a bold step by these tech leaders, intended to support women as they manage the modern-day conflict between work and family.

Pilot: Why we won't fly Ebola patientsupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 11:58:28

I glanced at the map display on my side of the passenger jet's instrument panel. A small blue circle within 100 miles of the magenta line that defined our course identified the airport in Gander, Newfoundland. This would be our best alternate if our medical problem became an emergency.

Opinion: We need more than warm words from Vatican on homosexualityupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 09:50:47

The pronouncement by the Roman Catholic Church at its extraordinary synod that "homosexuals have gifts and qualities to offer to the Christian community" has left many pondering if this is a turning point for the LGBTI debate.

The truth about the midterms -- hands up go vote!updated Mon Oct 20 2014 09:29:08

As the story goes, in 2010 there was a dramatic political course correction. The electorate that just two years earlier had overwhelmingly voted for hope and change, sweeping Democrats into office, up and down the ballot, across the country, had buyers' remorse.

ISIS reveals its strategyupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 08:28:32

ISIS is looking to take over a good chunk of the Middle East -- if not the entire Muslim world. At least, that's the message the terrorist movement is sending in its English online magazine, Dabiq.

Obama: One very successful president? updated Mon Oct 20 2014 08:23:41

President Obama's poll numbers have hit a new low and he's under fire for everything from the rise of ISIS to the response to the Ebola threat. So it may seem surprising to many readers that the Nobel Prize-winning economist Paul Krugman -- who has been one of the president's strongest critics from the left -- has written a cover story for Rolling Stone entitled "In Defense of Obama."

Why #Gamergate won't dieupdated Sun Oct 19 2014 13:46:01

It began as an attempt to shut up one woman -- a video-game developer who had criticized the entrenched sexism and misogyny in her industry -- by "slut-shaming" her and then threatening her.

GOP, don't undermine governmentupdated Sat Oct 18 2014 14:55:55

Conservatives can't bash and slash government and then suddenly act surprised if government isn't there when we need it. After all, anti-government rhetoric and anti-tax austerity have real-life consequences -- consequences playing out at this very moment in the public health response to Ebola.

Make the Halloween candy dish less temptingupdated Sat Oct 18 2014 11:39:22

When you hear "trick or treat" this year, think "nudge."

Kidnapped Nigerian girls 'pawns'updated Sat Oct 18 2014 00:42:58

The announcement by senior Nigerian military and government officials that an agreement has been reached with Boko Haram for the release of more than 200 kidnapped Chibok girls is welcome, although it has understandably been greeted with considerable caution. And news that a ceasefire has also been agreed, and that further negotiations will take place, is another positive development.

Where's the empathy for Ebola's African victims?updated Fri Oct 17 2014 17:13:33

The world's response to Ebola is its own sort of tragedy.

Russia must rethink orphanage systemupdated Fri Oct 17 2014 16:33:21

Russia's policies on foreign adoptions made headlines when the government announced it would no longer allow Americans to adopt Russian children. But hidden away in Russian orphanages are thousands of children with disabilities who aren't orphans, whose harmful treatment has long been hidden from public view -- even from most Russians.

From guerrillas to conquerors: How ISIS has changedupdated Fri Oct 17 2014 11:43:42

It is a question that the global community is seeking to understand as the crisis in Iraq and Syria deepens. How can such a numerically small force as ISIS, which calls itself the Islamic State, have taken control of vast swathes of Syria and Iraq, and how can it hold the ground taken while simultaneously conducting multiple offensive actions in both countries?

Women veterans deserve equal careupdated Fri Oct 17 2014 08:21:01

More than a quarter-million American women served honorably in the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. These brave women sacrificed much to keep us safe. Now that they are home, or soon to be home, our country has a solemn obligation to help them transition back to civilian life.

Was Amal Clooney anti-feminist to change her name?updated Fri Oct 17 2014 08:13:31

The website for London law firm Doughty Street Chambers crashed Tuesday after reports emerged that human rights attorney Amal Alamuddin, who married George Clooney in late September, had changed her name to Amal Clooney, as seen on her professional profile page. Everyone had to see for themselves -- and, predictably, throw up their collective arms in response.

NFL, pink ribbons not enough to win over womenupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 19:48:45

Of the two of us, Linda is the fan of professional football. And every football fan realizes football games are extremely violent. We are both also feminists. And every feminist knows the women's movement denounces all forms of violence. For a woman who is a football fan, this can be hard to reconcile.

When the Rick hits the fanupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 16:27:37

Once more, as I often do, I find myself wishing for the late, great Dr. Hunter S. Thompson. It was he who said, "When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro." But it was Florida Gov. Rick Scott who brought Thompson's maxim to life Wednesday. In fact, Gov. Scott brought it to the stage of a televised debate.

Will ISIS 'weaponize' foreign fighters?updated Thu Oct 16 2014 16:08:48

How big a threat do foreign fighters in Syria and Iraq pose to the West? It's a question that has been much on the mind of policymakers and commentators, especially since U.S. President Barack Obama announced the United States was ramping up its military role in the region. Will such fighters return with dangerous new skills and experience that they are determined to use against their home country? Or is the potential threat by these fighters overhyped?

Why CDC chief must goupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 08:11:39

This week Thomas Frieden, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, stepped up to the microphone and took responsibility for the worst mistake in Dallas' Ebola-stricken hospital: its utter lack of preparedness.

4 ways Democrats have already wonupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 07:50:37

The midterm elections are less than three weeks away, but by several measures, Democrats have already won.

Can we feed everyone?updated Wed Oct 15 2014 22:22:50

At some 7 billion people, the world can sometimes seem like a crowded place. But if the latest estimates are to be believed, then in less than a century it is going to feel even more so -- about 50% more crowded, in fact. Such dizzying numbers understandably raise an important question, one that we have been wrestling with at least since Thomas Malthus famously predicted that rising populations would create a food crunch: Can the world's supply of food continue to meet demand?

We need a surgeon general, not an Ebola czarupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 19:46:21

Many Americans might feel reassured when Tom Frieden, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Protection, says the battle against Ebola in the United States is being waged effectively. His bedside manner is impeccable and his calm confident demeanor inspiring. Yet many might also wonder how the Ebola virus entered the United States and appeared in Dallas under his watch in the first place.

Rubio: 5 steps to beat Ebolaupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 19:06:57

Today's world is more interconnected than ever, making the transmission of communicable diseases that originate abroad easier to reach our shores. And the ongoing Ebola outbreak is simply the latest unsettling reminder that all the benefits of an interconnected world also come with significant risks that must be addressed and mitigated.

Nightmare month for Ebola nursesupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 17:35:38

Nurses are the unsung heroes of the Ebola outbreak. Yet, there are troubling signs we're failing them.

'Fear-bola' hits epidemic proportionsupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 13:53:58

Right now, two-thirds of Americans are suffering from "Fear-bola," according to a new Washington Post poll. It's a hyper-contagious disease that affects the brain, making sufferers fear a widespread Ebola outbreak in the United States.

Can U.S. uphold its end of an Iran nuclear deal?updated Wed Oct 15 2014 10:14:06

With Iran's Foreign Minister Javad Zarif and U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry set to meet in Vienna and the November 24 deadline to the P5+1 and Iran nuclear talks in sight, the White House's ability to provide Iran with significant sanctions relief early in a nuclear deal remains unclear. At the same time, any perceived failure by the U.S. to deliver could complicate, if not poison, what will already be a tenuous post-deal period.

Don't let U.S. history be forgottenupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 09:37:19

Elections such as the one approaching in November tend to focus Americans on our differences. We intensely debate competing visions for the future of our country. We listen to a variety of candidates try to persuade us to vote for them. And we watch as intricate coalitions become majorities.

Democrats who run from Obama take a riskupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 07:53:00

Democratic candidates who run from President Obama in red states where he is unpopular are making a big mistake. Their holding Obama at arm's length deprives voters of a clear choice at the ballot box.

Mississippi has something to shout aboutupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 19:56:50

Which state has given us B.B. King, Jimmy Buffett, Sam Cooke, Faith Hill, Britney Spears and Elvis Presley?

We recommend

From around the web