Complete coverage on

Opinion

It's well known that the decision to impose collective guilt on Germany at the end of the First World War was a fateful one. But even today, 100 years after the start of the Great War, the fallout from the Treaty of Versailles affects U.S. foreign policy --from Europe to the Middle East, from Ukraine to Syria.

Latest Stories

President Obama's lawupdated Fri Jul 25 2014 09:55:44

President Barack Obama entered office with two overriding legislative goals: health care reform and climate change mitigation. He obtained the first goal but not the second. Now he has to decide whether the laws that Congress passes pose any constraint on his actions, or whether those laws are simply vessels whose precise contents can be filled as the President sees fit.

Opinion: Striving for 'sameness' Turkey stifles progress updated Fri Jul 25 2014 09:12:45

I spent part of my childhood in Ankara, Turkey, and part of it in Madrid, Spain. The school I attended in Ankara was a local building where they strictly followed the Turkish curriculum.

What is the North Korean riddle?updated Fri Jul 25 2014 09:02:18

The last bit of news I heard before boarding a plane to Seoul a few days ago was that North Korea had just fired 100 artillery shells into the sea near the border with South Korea.

Gutting Obamacare is playing with livesupdated Fri Jul 25 2014 08:56:58

Over the past decade, an increasing percentage of Americans lost health insurance coverage because they couldn't afford it. As a family physician, I have seen the devastating effects of losing health insurance. Without it, patients die unnecessarily.

Motyl: Putin, just evil enoughupdated Fri Jul 25 2014 08:55:21

Vice President Joe Biden recently confided a sensational bit of news to the New Yorker magazine: In a 2011 meeting with Vladimir Putin, he had actually told Russia's then-prime minister that he had no "soul." Even more remarkable was Putin's response. "And he looked back at me, and he smiled, and he said, 'We understand one another.' "

'Bring me your puppies!'updated Fri Jul 25 2014 08:45:27

On Wednesday, I wrote a not-at-all controversial column on this website titled, "The argument for eating dog." The piece ran with a visual essay on CNN Photos about the illegal dog meat trade in Southeast Asia, which is just awful to look at. I argued that the dog trade should be cleaned up and made more humane -- but that the same should happen to factory farms here in the United States.

Despite plane crashes, it's safe to flyupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 18:08:49

It's been pretty gruesome for the airline industry in recent days.

'Acting white' and being black?updated Thu Jul 24 2014 17:01:20

There's no "authentic" way to be black, President Barack Obama told a group.

A big hole in the heart of Obamacareupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 16:32:54

If you thought the Supreme Court's ruling two years ago remaking the individual mandate into a tax was the end of the legal threat to the Affordable Care Act, think again.

Hepatitis drugs save money in long runupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 16:24:31

Imagine your doctor telling you there's nothing she can do, that your life has shifted, and you are headed to a lifetime full of painful treatments, possibly radical surgery, and even early death. That there's simply no prescription that can work.

Why an Ebola epidemic is spinning out of controlupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 13:41:17

The Ebola epidemic now raging across three countries in West Africa is three-fold larger than any other outbreak ever recorded for this terrible disease; the only one to have occurred in urban areas and to cross national borders; and officially urgent and serious. At least 1,090 people have contracted the awful disease this year, though the epidemic's true scope is unknown because of widespread opposition to health authorities in afflicted Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

What's a pilot to do? Landing in a war zoneupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 09:58:41

Checking the weather display for our departure from JFK Airport in New York to London's Heathrow Airport, an awkward blob of green, yellow, and red is sprawled diagonally across most of the New England coastline. Studying the computer in Operations, the routing filed with ATC (air traffic control) appears to navigate through the least intense area of a very wide storm system. I pick up the company phone, taking a rare opportunity to consult with our dispatcher located in a central location at our main hub almost 1,400 miles away.

Shift U.S. priorities closer to homeupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 09:17:19

I grew up on the border, at the site of today's humanitarian crisis involving tens of thousands of immigrant children seeking asylum. Even though I was born in Texas' Rio Grande Valley, my family and I lived on the Mexican side of the river for seven years of my childhood. There I saw poverty firsthand, right around the corner from our house, in the streets, by the bridge, in the countryside.

MH17 disaster foretells a more dangerous worldupdated Thu Jul 24 2014 08:24:20

The Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 disaster is a poignant reminder of the randomness of fortune and misfortune. But it also serves as a prelude to an emerging security environment marked by irregular warfare, proliferated high-end technology and complex economic and energy dependencies that will complicate decision-making among allied nations and confound coherent approaches to grand strategy.

It's happened before: MH17 tragedy was part of a bigger air warupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 17:52:07

The downing of Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 over eastern Ukraine last week, most likely after being struck with a missile fired by pro-Russian rebel forces, was followed this week by the rebels' shoot-down of two Su-25 attack aircraft deployed by the Ukrainian Air Force.

This tragedy is Russia's faultupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 16:36:08

On July 17, the world was dismayed by a terrible tragedy when civilian Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 was shot down over eastern Ukraine in an area controlled by pro-Russian militants.

Why bringing bodies home mattersupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 16:25:48

People sometimes have difficulty understanding why the families of those who die in disasters are so invested in the recovery of their loved ones' bodies. This painful process has been once again brought into sharp relief by the difficulty of retrieving the bodies of those lost in the downing of Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 from Ukrainian rebels who control the crash site.

Why court's blow to Obamacare won't stickupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 10:55:11

On Tuesday morning, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit killed a regulation that is key to making Obamacare work. Its decision in Halbig v. Burwell, if it were the last word on the matter, would have significant -- and damaging -- consequences for millions of Americans who purchase health insurance on exchanges established and run by the federal government.

War crimes in Gaza conflict? Let court decideupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 10:42:31

At least 17 children and 14 women had been killed as of midafternoon July 20, in the 24 hours since Israeli forces had launched ground operations in the al-Sheja'iya neighborhood of Gaza City, the United Nations reported. Those numbers will rise: Many bodies are still in the rubble. Ambulances came under attack and couldn't reach the wounded, witnesses said, and survivors fleeing tank shells and airstrikes didn't know how many of their relatives had been killed.

100 days on, Nigerians haunted by girls' kidnappingupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 09:31:01

I certainly didn't anticipate this turn of events: that more than 200 Nigerian girls, students kidnapped from their hostels in dead of night, would still be missing, and with their abductors, for 100 days in peacetime, democratic Nigeria.

Nigeria's kidnapped girls not forgottenupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 07:23:33

We have no comprehension of what is going through the minds of 200 Nigerian girls abducted from their school on April 14. We cannot know their darkest fears or the pain and anguish they have had to endure from the Boko Haram terrorists who took them. We cannot imagine for a second what their families are feeling.

The argument for eating dogupdated Wed Jul 23 2014 06:22:37

The dog photos are difficult to view.

GOP's bogus slam of Obama over MH17 updated Tue Jul 22 2014 21:29:25

Kudos to MSNBC's Joe Scarborough for owning up to "my boneheaded error" (his words) when last week he claimed?in a slam of President Obama?that President Reagan cut his vacation short and "immediately went back to the White House" after the Soviet Union mistakenly shot down a Korean Air flight in 1983.

What Rick Perry's 'army' will do on the borderupdated Tue Jul 22 2014 18:08:12

Texas Gov. Rick Perry is right to immediately send 1,000 National Guard troops to the U.S.-Mexico border in response to the border kids crisis.

What led to choke hold deathupdated Tue Jul 22 2014 17:56:59

The tragic death of Eric Garner at the hands of the NYPD -- a fatal scuffle caught in all its horror in a video shot by a bystander -- is, in part, the product of a nationally recognized police strategy, "broken windows." It may have outlived its usefulness in many parts of New York.

How corporations skip tax with overseas maneuverupdated Tue Jul 22 2014 16:15:52

One can hardly read the news these days without learning that yet another American corporation has announced plans to invert, which is corporate-speak for restructuring as a foreign company to avoid U.S. taxes.

Can John Kerry end the Gaza-Israel bloodshed?updated Tue Jul 22 2014 13:57:25

Woody Allen famously said that 80% of success in life is about just showing up. He's wrong. Success in life -- as in diplomacy -- is about showing up at the right time. So Is John Kerry coming to the Israeli-Hamas crisis too early, too late or just at the right time?

Until drug war ends, refugees will comeupdated Tue Jul 22 2014 11:35:30

Texas Gov. Rick Perry has decided to send 1,000 National Guard troops to "secure" the U.S.-Mexico border. At least 52,000 children have arrived unaccompanied to the United States since October, most coming from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador. They have been greeted by protests in border regions across the United States.

Are the pro-Russian rebels terrorists?updated Tue Jul 22 2014 09:56:14

On Saturday, in the wake of the rocket attack that downed Malaysia Airlines Flight 17, Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko urged the U.N. secretary-general to recognize the two main rebel groups in his country, the Donetsk People's Republic and the Luhansk People's Republic, as terrorist organizations.

Lockerbie relative: Grieve MH17 through love, not revengeupdated Tue Jul 22 2014 08:37:11

The first question for many relatives of the victims of MH17, as for us after Lockerbie, will be whether their loved ones suffered.

Eat this fish and do the planet a favorupdated Tue Jul 22 2014 08:10:00

In the wake of the important decision by the Environmental Protection Agency to block mining in Alaska's Bristol Bay in order to protect the wild salmon population there, it's a good moment to take stock of the many dangers facing our world's waterways -- and our world's fish. It turns out the wild salmon of Bristol Bay are one of the five least toxic fish to eat around the globe and thankfully will stay that way, thanks to the Obama administration. But what are the other four? And why are the world's fish and water under such threat?

Don't blame Malaysia Airlinesupdated Mon Jul 21 2014 17:36:49

I watched the steady hand of my first officer, Jim, advance the thrust levers of our Boeing 777. With the assistance of 115,000 ponds of thrust from each of two GE engines, the airplane began its lumbered roll down the center line of Runway 22 Left at JFK. We accelerated toward a rotation speed of 153 knots. At rotation speed, Jim applied gentle pressure to the control yoke, lifting the nose of our 602,000-pound airplane skyward. This would be one of the most critical phases of our flight to London.

Big Tobacco just got biggerupdated Mon Jul 21 2014 15:42:39

Tobacco has been ingrained in our society since our nation's earliest days. But if cigarettes were introduced today, they'd most likely never be approved for market.

Four years after Dodd-Frank fix, system still brokenupdated Mon Jul 21 2014 13:49:08

In 2007 and 2008, the American economy suffered through its greatest crisis since the Great Depression. The Treasury Department estimates that from 2007 to 2009, the heart of the Great Recession, more than 8.8 million American jobs disappeared and more than $19 trillion in household wealth was lost.

An isolated Russia's best friendupdated Mon Jul 21 2014 10:18:34

We are all Malaysia Airlines Flight 17. The callous, brutal shooting down of an airplane carrying 298 human beings could have happened to almost any other aircraft, carrying any other people, from anywhere in the world.

U.S. military's new foeupdated Mon Jul 21 2014 10:14:40

According to Congress's watchdog agency, there is a new threat facing the nation's armed forces, and the Department of Defense is not doing enough about it.

Oren: Hamas media strategy relies on deaths of civiliansupdated Mon Jul 21 2014 08:58:42

The displacement, injury, and death of civilians in war is always tragic, and the current fighting between Israel and Hamas in Gaza is no exception. But unlike the vast majority of conflicts in history, Operation Protective Edge, as Israel calls it, is one in which images of civilian suffering play a central?and potentially decisive?role in the outcome.

Are Democrats afraid of the income inequality issue?updated Mon Jul 21 2014 08:27:13

On his HBO talk show, "Last Week Tonight," comedian John Oliver aired a blistering segment about President Obama and the issue of income inequality. Oliver reminded viewers that "last December, the president made it clear that income inequality" would be a "big priority," since in a speech he called it the "defining challenge of our time."

James Garner: 'Like, Zen, man'updated Sun Jul 20 2014 23:48:05

He was the logical synthesis of John Wayne and Jack Benny. Interlace the Duke's measured drawl and virile swagger with Benny's comic timing and shrewd use of wordless exasperation, and you have James Garner, who died Saturday night in Los Angeles at 86.

Vladimir Putin's big blunderupdated Sun Jul 20 2014 22:43:25

The tragic fate of Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17, believed shot down by a missile in eastern Ukraine, killing all 298 on board, has cast a new light on the series of gambles Russian President Vladimir Putin embarked on in late February.

Who will speak for the MH17 victims?updated Sun Jul 20 2014 11:38:16

The front-page headline put it plainly: "MURDERERS," it accused in huge capital letters, trying to capture the national mood in the Netherlands during a time of grief and anger.

What makes sex harassment cases tough to winupdated Sat Jul 19 2014 11:07:53

After being sued for sexual harassment, a Yahoo executive is countersuing a former employee who leveled the original accusations against her. While the stakes of the sexual harassment claim are large, the underlying facts are actually quite common in this variety of litigation.

GOP, show you care about kids at borderupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 17:13:04

Madness has gripped our border. I am not talking about the migrant children fleeing from crime and violence in their home countries in Central America and looking for the opportunity to live a better life. I am talking about the misguided protesters?and the right-wing public officials that egg them on, railing against anything they think even might be an immigrant.

Who should investigate MH17 crash? updated Fri Jul 18 2014 16:01:42

Today, we are all mourning the loss of 298 people who died in the tragic crash of Malaysia Airlines Flight 17. Ukraine and Russia have been trading blame on who is responsible for shooting down the aircraft. As more details come in, U.S. officials believe that pro-Russian rebels fired the missiles.

The tranquillity of Obama's mindupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 15:33:12

When White House press secretary Josh Earnest said this week that President Barack Obama had "substantially improved the tranquillity of the global community," many observers reacted with disbelief.

Act now, or face war in Ukraineupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 12:42:37

The shooting down of a Malaysian airliner over Ukraine may finally force Washington and Europe to wake up to the danger of the conflict there escalating into full-blown war between Russia and Ukraine.

Malaysia Flight 17: A Franz Ferdinand moment?updated Fri Jul 18 2014 12:16:24

Did you have a Franz Ferdinand moment when you first heard about Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 crashing in eastern Ukraine?

A pilot's view on missilesupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 10:00:40

U.S. officials say they believe that Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 was brought down by a surface-to-air missile, resulting in the death of 298 people over eastern Ukraine.

When life gives you Comcast, make a shamecastupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 09:23:54

When life gives you Comcast, make a "shamecast."

Do kids still dream about space?updated Fri Jul 18 2014 08:08:47

If we can put a man on the moon ...

Border crisis is unfair, but no surpriseupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 08:02:46

Watching the flood of immigrant children from Central America seeking, and gaining, entry into the United States, one is struck by the chaos at all levels. It is a crisis, but hardly a surprise.

Jarrett: We must end pregnancy discriminationupdated Fri Jul 18 2014 07:56:46

More than 30 years ago, Congress wisely passed the Pregnancy Discrimination Act. Yet today, many pregnant women still experience unfair and unnecessary challenges on the job.

Is MH17 disaster a result of tragic blunder?updated Thu Jul 17 2014 23:14:18

In the last few days, two Ukrainian warplanes were brought down over Eastern Ukraine (one allegedly by a Russian jet) and on Thursday a Malaysia Airlines passenger plane crashed in the area, apparently with the loss of all 298 souls on board. If it turns out that the unfortunate civilian airliner was also shot down, Russia and its local allies could again be implicated. Understandably, the international community will wonder whether this portends an escalation in the Kremlin ambitions there.

Does Dick Cheney believe his lies?updated Thu Jul 17 2014 15:44:31

As an American, I am appalled by Dick Cheney and his relentless, pathetic and ultimately doomed effort to revise the history of his failures.

Dear VA nominee: We owe our veterans real changeupdated Thu Jul 17 2014 11:07:37

Mr. McDonald,

Yellowface staging of 'Mikado' has to endupdated Thu Jul 17 2014 10:38:18

Before my parents left Taiwan in 1967, they were given a gift box full of America: A collection of the greatest Broadway cast recordings of all time, lovingly pressed into 50 sleek disks of vinyl. For over a decade, the contents of the box were the only music played in our home.

Republican Party goes round the bendupdated Thu Jul 17 2014 08:06:03

In the beginning, one might have considered it bold -- even inventive -- to oppose every single thing President Obama supported.

How to get your kid off the smartphoneupdated Thu Jul 17 2014 07:32:35

Ever feel like you're losing the cell phone battle with your teenager? I did, too. But I'm about to share a genius move with you that will help you win it again.

We need to rein in 'too big to fail' banks updated Thu Jul 17 2014 07:31:11

More than five years after the bankruptcy of Lehman Brothers and the beginning of the most severe economic downturn since the Great Depression, lawmakers should ask themselves whether they have done enough to reduce the risk of another financial crisis. In our view, the answer is no.

We're leaving Afghan allies behind to dieupdated Wed Jul 16 2014 14:04:05

I never thought my Afghan translator would save my life by killing two Taliban fighters who were about to kill me. Janis did just that. I'm here today because he had my back in a way I only thought an American soldier would.

You pay taxes, and rich corporations don't updated Wed Jul 16 2014 13:16:03

Some of the world's most well-known companies like Apple, Google, Facebook, Boots and Starbucks have become successful partly by convincing us through their products that their corporate values align with consumers' personal values.

Is space junk catastrophic for Earth?updated Wed Jul 16 2014 12:41:34

Look, up in the sky! It's a bird! It's a plane! It's Superman! What the heck was that flaming thing streaking across Australian skies?

Sanctions on Iran 'cost West billions'updated Wed Jul 16 2014 10:27:57

By July 20, a historic deal may be reached to resolve the Iranian nuclear standoff.

'Libya's future cannot be left to one renegade general'updated Wed Jul 16 2014 07:52:46

While the Zintan militia leads the battle for control of Tripoli's airport, another set of militia and radicalized Islamist insurgents in the east are threatening a fragile Libya.

Remembering the essence of John F. Kennedy Jr.updated Wed Jul 16 2014 07:39:44

Sometimes a single moment in time captures the essence of an individual. That became clear to me in late June 1995. We were at the end of a grueling three days in Alabama interviewing George Wallace, the state's former segregationist governor and nemesis of President Kennedy, for John's maiden interview in his new magazine, George.

Why families now must have paid time off updated Wed Jul 16 2014 07:31:30

From Nebraska to Maine, and all throughout the country, families face common struggles: balancing responsibilities at home with duties at work; stretching paychecks to make ends meet; the pressure of raising young children while caring for elderly parents. Even with moms and dads working two or three jobs, some families find it hard to get ahead.

Africa's contemporary art is booming ... so buy it while you can updated Wed Jul 16 2014 06:44:53

I walked into the Gallery of African Art (GAFRA) on London's Cork Street in Mayfair two weeks ago. Opposite the Burlington Arcade, right at the heart of the art establishment, on gallery row itself, African art formerly seen as a niche interest, now officially playing with the big boys. And the best thing ... GAFRA is owned and run by a woman: Liberian born Bendu Cooper.

Buzz Aldrin: After moon, next stop Marsupdated Tue Jul 15 2014 18:22:37

Back in July 1969, I stood on the talcum-like lunar dust just a few feet from our home away from home, Eagle, the lunar module that transported Neil Armstrong and me to the bleak, crater-pocked moonscape.

Is baseball on its way out?updated Tue Jul 15 2014 15:54:08

So, where'd everybody go?

How to avoid a future of potholes and worseupdated Tue Jul 15 2014 13:30:05

The summer vacation season is already in full swing across the United States, and for many families that means loading up the car and heading to the beach. But as temperatures rise, so do the instances of air, road and railway congestion.

Inequality persists in health careupdated Tue Jul 15 2014 12:36:26

Growing up in the Jim Crow-era South, we saw firsthand the great disparities in health care suffered by African-Americans. The lack of access to basic services, the dearth of black physicians and the often overtly racist attitudes of white health care providers contributed to higher rates of infant mortality, chronic illnesses and shorter life expectancy.

What it will take to stop the Gaza carnageupdated Tue Jul 15 2014 11:59:34

Want to try for a cease-fire to end the burgeoning conflict between Israel and Hamas in Gaza?

Sexual orientation doesn't need to be cured updated Tue Jul 15 2014 11:22:17

While most of the country moves forward on legal protections for lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transgender persons (LGBT), Republicans in Texas have retrenched their opposition in a shocking manner.

Border crisis could last a long timeupdated Tue Jul 15 2014 06:58:28

As we try to grasp the enormity of the crisis involving at least 57,000 unaccompanied minors from Central America who crossed the U.S.-Mexico border looking for safe haven, Americans should stop casting blame and be realistic.

Why is Rick Perry being mean to Rand Paul?updated Mon Jul 14 2014 19:58:27

Once upon a time, Ronald Reagan said, "Thou shalt not speak ill of any fellow Republican." Today, it's not only socially acceptable to attack your conservative peers, but it has actually become part of campaign strategy. Identify someone who represents a minority view within the GOP, tear him or her to shreds and hope that it establishes you as a voice of the mainstream.

Why Holder remark made white people madupdated Mon Jul 14 2014 16:53:05

On ABC's "This Week" on Sunday, U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, who happens to be black, suggested that opposition to him and President Barack Obama in part is due to racial animus. For that, he has been vilified.

The World Cup of U.S. politicsupdated Mon Jul 14 2014 08:05:54

Most Americans don't think that midterm elections really matter. The majority of voters come out only for presidential elections. Midterms are left to the most activist parts of the population, the people who like to follow politics in off hours and who care as deeply about who wins elected office as they do about sports teams or celebrities.

Four key takeaways from World Cup 2014updated Sun Jul 13 2014 23:24:29

This World Cup final looked to answer a question that has been surfacing throughout this tournament, and perhaps -- considering the hold King James has had on U.S. basketball fans in the past few weeks -- all of sports: Is it the team, or is it the star?

Use 'safe zones' to end immigrant crisisupdated Sun Jul 13 2014 20:53:34

As America grapples with a crisis of children on its southern border, another image from another time seems inescapable: that ship full of Jewish refugees off our shores as World War II approached.

A smart way out of the Gaza confrontationupdated Sun Jul 13 2014 14:11:29

Great baseball players know every pitch is an opportunity. As with fastballs, international crises also present opportunities. And the current clash between Israel and Gaza offers several potential game-changers.

I was 17, on death row -- and innocentupdated Sun Jul 13 2014 13:40:55

New York Law School professor Robert Blecker was on the radio the other day, telling NPR's "Here and Now" that we should have the death penalty, even if there is a risk that innocent people might be executed. I wonder if Blecker or other death penalty supporters would sacrifice their lives to keep this broken system going.

North Korea movie, an 'act of war'?updated Sat Jul 12 2014 13:44:23

Seth Rogen and James Franco do not amuse North Korea whose president Kim Jong Un is apparently livid over the October release of "The Interview," a comedy starring Rogen and Franco as TV people trying to score an interview with Kim, but are recruited by the CIA to take the president out.

Best week ever: 'Stuff like this doesn't happen to Cleveland' updated Fri Jul 11 2014 20:30:24

We moved to suburban Akron in January 2003, just months before LeBron James graduated from St. Vincent-St. Mary High School and was drafted by the Cleveland Cavaliers.

RNC in Cleveland is a slam dunkupdated Fri Jul 11 2014 20:12:28

It's been a great week for Cleveland. On Monday, the Republican National Committee announced its intention to hold the 2016 GOP convention in Cleveland. Then on Friday, LeBron James said he was "coming home" to the Cavaliers.

Pot is legal and sky hasn't fallenupdated Fri Jul 11 2014 15:29:34

I am sorry to report that Colorado has shut down all government and civilian activities under a haze of pot smoke. Trains will not run. Store shelves are bare. Citizens are rioting in a pot-induced trance. Tourists are avoiding the Sodom and Gomorrah called Colorado. Keep your children indoors and your money in the mattress!

Want ethics or your organic foods?updated Fri Jul 11 2014 12:34:42

Eden Foods has become the new front line in the contest over religion, health care and the workplace.

Opinion: How Iron Dome missile defense buys time for Israelupdated Fri Jul 11 2014 12:19:58

Amos Yadlin, formerly chief of Defense Intelligence for the Israel Defense Forces (IDF), observed this week that the Israeli public typically goes through wartime "cycles": first showing sweeping support and then, as civilian and military deaths begin, growing impatient and putting pressure on politicians to end hostilities. Therefore, as Yadlin put it, "the ability of the Israeli home front to withstand a campaign that lasts for more than a week is a key factor in the outcome."

Urban poverty, in black and whiteupdated Fri Jul 11 2014 09:20:58

Say "urban poor," and the image that most likely comes to mind is one of young black men caught up in a swirl of drugs and violence and irresponsible single women having babies. But this pervasive stereotype overlooks a surprising reality: Many whites live side by side African-Americans in some of the country's poorest urban neighborhoods.

Why I don't hyphenate Chinese American updated Fri Jul 11 2014 09:17:14

Those who live in fear today imagine that America is being overrun by foreign, disease-carrying, tax-sucking criminal hordes. They cannot imagine that immigrants, whether documented or not, could ever contribute to our country. They refer to the children and families trying to cross the southern border as "illegals."

Is America losing Germany?updated Fri Jul 11 2014 09:15:38

Germany may be America's most important European ally, but the relationship between the two countries is on the rocks.

Why are Iraq's politicians dithering as their country burns?updated Fri Jul 11 2014 06:29:18

Why are Iraqi politicians dragging their feet while ISIS militants fortify their foothold across the country?

A new way to get Americans back to workupdated Thu Jul 10 2014 17:33:54

These are tough times for hard-working families. Too many Americans are either unemployed or underemployed. Families are juggling bills they can't pay. Many believe they are working harder but only falling farther and farther behind.

What Obama could learn on the borderupdated Thu Jul 10 2014 14:28:55

It's the law of unintended consequences.

I was targeted because of my faithupdated Thu Jul 10 2014 14:06:51

Complete shock, surprise and disappointment -- that was my reaction to revelations from documents released by Edward Snowden that the National Security Agency monitored my e-mails from 2006 to 2008 after I left the Bush White House.

How to fix our citiesupdated Thu Jul 10 2014 07:37:25

Detroit's recent bankruptcy draws attention to a festering problem in America -- many of our cities are in trouble.

Colorado's troubles with pot updated Thu Jul 10 2014 07:33:39

This week, Washington state opened recreational marijuana stores for the first time. And these stores don't just carry your father's kind of weed. In addition to highly potent cigarettes -- which are much stronger than those some people might remember from Woodstock -- stores will also soon sell super-strength, pot-infused cookies, candies, sodas, vapor and wax concentrates.

Obama's absurd and expensive border strategyupdated Wed Jul 09 2014 16:06:28

President Barack Obama is in Texas today.

We recommend

From around the web