Complete coverage on

Opinion

Is there any way to ... well ... defend Roger Goodell?

Latest Stories

Kanye West and proving your disabilitiesupdated Tue Sep 16 2014 07:51:41

On Friday, Kanye West stopped a concert in Sydney to demand that everyone stand up. He looked around the crowd, pointing out those slow to rise. He said, "Unless you got a handicap pass and you get special parking and s**t," he simply would not continue the show until everyone was on their feet. The crowd shouted, "Stand up!" or even, "F***ing stand up!"

Is it OK to hunt while pregnant?updated Tue Sep 16 2014 07:48:55

The course of events that led me from a promise never to be one of those women who wrote about her pregnancy to writing this column is a little circuitous, involving a wedding in Jackson Hole, an ill-timed bris and a dove hunt in Eastern Maryland. Obviously.

Vote on war against ISIS? Don't be sillyupdated Tue Sep 16 2014 07:40:55

We all understand that the closer Congress gets to an election, the more risk-averse it becomes. Members just want to get re-elected and aren't looking to take any chances. That's why lame-duck, post-election sessions are sadly often the most productive: Once members feel safe (or are even on their way out of office), they can actually do some real work.

Opinion: With each outrage, the values we're fighting for become clearerupdated Tue Sep 16 2014 05:59:59

The recent beheadings of U.S. journalists Steven Satloff and James Foley, as well as British aid worker David Haines by ISIS are a gruesome and tragic reminder of our relationship with extremists since 9/11. So far, public debate has focused on the motivations for this kind of extreme political violence and what to do about it.

Can Sierra Leone's economy survive Ebola?updated Tue Sep 16 2014 05:49:55

Sierra Leone is facing its toughest test to date. The Ebola virus, very deadly and currently without a cure, is fast-spreading throughout the small West African country.

Why UK would miss Scotlandupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 18:17:39

On Thursday, Scotland goes to the polls to consider leaving the United Kingdom. I'm praying they say no. For their sakes and for our sakes as fellow Britons. We need each other.

When it's smart to say no to candidate debatesupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 17:45:22

Conventional thinking is that every race in every campaign cycle comes with a debate between the candidates. An increasingly informed, technoliterate electorate threatens to make debates an endangered species, however. In a few cases, at least, that's for the best.

Time for U.S. to ban use of tortureupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 17:22:19

I worked as a CIA operations officer and station chief during the Cold War years. In the gray world of espionage, there was a clear distinction, at least in my mind, between the CIA and our opponents: They tortured their prisoners, we did not.

Congress, you can impeach Mark Fullerupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 15:47:00

The 911 tape is frightening.

NFL should curb Goodell's control over disciplineupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 15:38:04

When leaders get into trouble these days, they often complain that they have too little power to be effective. Yet as debate rages about the NFL's handling of player discipline, the problem for NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell is just the opposite: He seems to have too much power.

Spanking isn't parenting; it's child abuseupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 12:46:37

The only person you can legally hit in the United States is a child.

Why I finally got marriedupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 11:32:19

I got married the Saturday before Labor Day. My partner Jená and I had been a couple for nearly nine years and living together for six. Which is why the most frequent refrain she and I heard all weekend was, "It's about time!"

What a do-nothing Congress actually doesupdated Mon Sep 15 2014 07:17:49

The "do-nothing" Congress is the most misleading expression in politics.

The British connection to ISIS beheadings updated Sun Sep 14 2014 13:07:25

He has beheaded again. The tall, masked British man with the London accent, working with ISIS.

Is U.N. ignoring janjaweed danger?updated Sat Sep 13 2014 19:42:45

Ten years ago this week, then-Secretary of State Colin Powell declared that genocide had been committed in Darfur and that the government of Sudan and the janjaweed bore responsibility for those acts. Even though it did not actually trigger a legal obligation to act, many hoped that using the "g word" meant that the United States was crossing the Rubicon and committing itself to stopping the violence in Darfur, Sudan's most troubled region.

A powerful tool against domestic violenceupdated Sat Sep 13 2014 11:51:32

As a baseball executive whose mother survived relentless domestic violence, and an advocate who worked for years to pass the Violence Against Women Act, we want to celebrate the 20th anniversary of that life-saving bill, signed into law on September 13, 1994.

Beautiful relationship will end if Scotland leaves UKupdated Sat Sep 13 2014 02:18:19

I am proud to be English. I am also proud to be British. In fact I define myself as a British European. This means I am happy to support England in football matches, support Team GB at the Olympic Games and support Europe in the Ryder Cup golf tournament.

Brian Cox: Scottish 'Yes' vote will see democracy rebornupdated Sat Sep 13 2014 02:18:11

As we approach the referendum, what is being proven time and time again is that the people of Scotland are showing a political will that has been sadly lacking in these islands for the last generation or so.

How not to handle Ebolaupdated Fri Sep 12 2014 18:18:37

What turns a few cases of disease into thousands?

Domestic abuse 'ordinary' in U.S.updated Fri Sep 12 2014 18:07:33

The video of Ray Rice knocking his then-fiancee Janay Palmer unconscious and then dragging her body out of an elevator brought the topic of domestic violence to the nation's attention.

Will the 'God particle' destroy the world? updated Fri Sep 12 2014 15:47:20

World-famous physicist Stephen Hawking recently said the world as we know it could be obliterated instantaneously.

Would Scottish 'yes' be just the start?updated Fri Sep 12 2014 14:08:26

Next week, the people of Scotland will vote on whether to seek independence from the United Kingdom, creating the world's newest country in the process. Recent polls suggest that this is by no means just a pipe dream of the Scottish nationalists, with the "Yes" campaign actually leading in one survey. But the results will be being watched far from Britain's shores; this is a decision that has potentially far-reaching consequences, especially within Europe.

Obama's wise move on immigrationupdated Fri Sep 12 2014 12:01:18

As a Latina activist I was devastated to learn the President would delay executive action to keep undocumented immigrants with no criminal record from getting deported.

Scotland, you want out? We'll take your placeupdated Fri Sep 12 2014 07:46:34

Here's a question that seems to be lost in the debate over the Scottish independence vote scheduled for September 18:

Thank Bill Clinton for AmeriCorpsupdated Fri Sep 12 2014 07:42:46

Bill Clinton's speech accepting the Democratic nomination for president in 1992 went through 22 drafts. But from the first to the last, he insisted on including a call to service.

Why New Zealand is a slave to U.S. interestsupdated Thu Sep 11 2014 21:17:32

The approaching election represents a crossroads for New Zealand.

Obama's strategy: Kill ISIS before they kill usupdated Thu Sep 11 2014 17:45:58

Think that President Barack Obama has done a back flip on Iraq and Syria, gotten that old-time religion and is now a convert to the "let's kill them wherever we find them" approach of his predecessors? Think again, or at least lay down until the feeling passes.

Why Jaws was best 'Bond' villain everupdated Thu Sep 11 2014 16:23:04

You couldn't really call him a "Bond villain" in the grander context of Dr. No, Auric Goldfinger, Hugo Drax or that annoyingly resilient cat-fancier Ernst Stavros Blofeld. Those guys were schemers, planners, twisted visionaries of mass apocalypse whose Big Ideas were to be played out at humanity's expense.

No-fly list a Kafkaesque webupdated Thu Sep 11 2014 14:46:07

Jameel Algibhah lives in the Bronx, but his wife and three daughters are in Yemen. He has not been able to see them for seven years.

Obama can fight ISIS without bombs updated Thu Sep 11 2014 13:20:29

Pro-military hawks must be pleased with President Obama's speech on Wednesday night about attacking ISIS. We're sure to hear many of them -- the same voices that have been hounding the President to take military action in the first place -- call for more extensive strikes and even American troops on the ground.

End the flood of dark money in politicsupdated Thu Sep 11 2014 08:27:59

Thanks to several overreaching court cases, including the most well-known, the Supreme Court's disastrous Citizens United decision, the past five years have given us a whole new understanding of corporate power and its intersection with "dark money" political spending.

How to stop ISIS from recruiting Americansupdated Thu Sep 11 2014 08:23:49

Through English-language propaganda and a vibrant social media presence, ISIS is actively encouraging young Americans to join its cause to take up arms in Syria and Iraq. Some Americans have joined the militant group, according to officials. Intelligence officials fear the number will grow higher since ISIS has been successful with recruitment in some European countries.

Opinion: Could Barack Obama's plan against ISIS spark backlash?updated Thu Sep 11 2014 07:40:00

U.S. President Barack Obama's plan to expand the military campaign against ISIS terrorists into Syria, and to boost American backing for rebels fighting Syria's President Bashar al-Assad, represents a grave escalation that risks dragging the U.S. and its allies into an open-ended regional war.

Did Obama sell his ISIS strategy?updated Thu Sep 11 2014 00:57:46

CNN asked for views on President Obama's speech, in which he outlined his administration's plans for addressing the threat posed by the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), including a campaign of airstrikes and a call for Congress to provide additional authority and resources to train and equip opposition fighters in Syria.

Why does she stay? That's the wrong questionupdated Wed Sep 10 2014 22:29:08

You know why she stays? Sometimes it's because she looks in the mirror and sees a stranger staring back at her. Eyes devoid of spirit. No remnants of a smile anywhere on her face. A blank, colorless mask covering the strong, independent person she used to be. She has no idea who she is anymore. Everything she thought she knew about herself has been stripped. She knows only the screams of condemnation. "You're no good. You're stupid. You're selfish. Who else could ever love you?"

Are we overspending on stopping terrorism?updated Wed Sep 10 2014 16:49:28

Thirteen years since the attacks of September 11, 2001, and one thing is clear: There has been no shortage of money thrown at the efforts to ensure that there is no repeat of the tragedy. But an estimated more than $1 trillion later, and as terrible as the events of that day were, it is worth asking: Are we actually spending our money wisely?

NFL and abuse: It's not just Ray Riceupdated Wed Sep 10 2014 15:32:09

Ray McDonald, who plays for the San Francisco 49ers, was arrested August 31 on felony domestic violence charges involving his pregnant fiancee. The San Jose Police Department said McDonald's fiancee had "visible injuries," and the Sacramento Bee reported that police were previously called to his house in May.

Ted Cruz: How U.S. can stop ISISupdated Wed Sep 10 2014 13:48:29

This week, as we mark the 13th anniversary of horrific attacks on our home soil, Americans should have no illusions about the terrorists who have repeatedly declared their intent to strike America again.

Is the Internet about to get sloooooow?updated Wed Sep 10 2014 11:23:28

On Wednesday, millions of Americans visiting their favorite websites will encounter the same dreaded image: the spinning wheel of death. This is the symbol of the great "Internet Slowdown" -- a coordinated day of action among hundreds of organizers and some of the world's largest tech firms, including Netflix, Twitter, Etsy, Kickstarter, Mozilla, Foursquare, Reddit, and WordPress. Together they are showing the American public what most of the Internet would look like in a world without "net neutrality." In a word: slow.

Terra-cotta warriors get 'sex change'updated Wed Sep 10 2014 09:22:56

When Emperor Qin Shi Huang, the first emperor of China, anticipated his death more than 2,000 years ago, he wanted an army of warriors to guard his mausoleum forever and protect him in the afterlife.

10 questions for Obama on ISISupdated Wed Sep 10 2014 09:01:14

President Barack Obama has a remarkable opportunity Wednesday night.

Apple Watch: Start of a wearables revolution?updated Wed Sep 10 2014 07:53:32

If you haven't been under a rock the past 24 hours (and if you have been, you have other things to worry about), you know that a certain Cupertino-based fruit company has finally unveiled its entry into the smartwatch sweepstakes, and, as expected from the house that the late Steve Jobs built, the new Apple Watch is a bushel of insanely geektastic features wrapped up in a sleek and eminently gorgeous package.

What to tell kids about Ray Riceupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 20:39:12

Ray Rice was an idol for many a football fan, old and young. But in my town of New Rochelle, New York, he wasn't merely a Pro Bowl running back who ran on average more than 1,000 yards for six seasons.

Blaming Janay Rice is an outrageupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 19:54:20

Shut up. Shut up. Shut. Up.

5 questions Obama must answer about ISIS strategyupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 17:34:46

President Barack Obama is poised to make his case to the country on the next steps for tackling the threat posed by ISIS. Certainly, ISIS' advances this summer -- including the seizure of territories in Iraq and Syria, declaration of a new "caliphate," and its killings of thousands in Iraq and Syria, including two American journalists -- have been a wake-up call. What should the President keep in mind as he prepares to deliver his speech Wednesday?

Restorative justice is a win-win updated Tue Sep 09 2014 14:38:49

A chaplain told me as my wife, Patricia Stephens Due, was dying from cancer in 2012 that in the Book of Judges, Patricia was Deborah, a warrior judge of the Israelites, and I was her Barak, the military commander. Next month, I will celebrate my 80th birthday and my lifetime as a veteran of the Freedom Movement.

Opinion: Obama, please don't drive Iraq's Kurds into Iran's armsupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 13:46:24

As U.S. President Barack Obama decides on the best strategy to deal with the threat posed by ISIS in Iraq, Syria and beyond, his final plan of action will undoubtedly include the participation of like-minded allied countries and regional partners.

Wife-beating is not a private matterupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 12:50:48

The prominent man had an altercation with his wife at a hotel. He beat her up. There's even a recording of it. And what happened? A plea deal so generous that the abuser's arrest record will be expunged -- totally clean, as if the whole thing had never happened -- if he receives some counseling in the next few months.

Opinion: For all NATO's words, Ukraine still faces Russia aloneupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 11:57:29

The recent NATO summit in Newport, Wales was initially meant to prepare the alliance for the post-Afghanistan era and pooling of resources at the time of defense cuts, known in NATO lingua as "smart defense."

To beat ISIS threat, first understand itupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 10:11:03

Many of us are tempted to look backward and replay the myriad mistakes President Barack Obama has made in managing the now extraordinarily obvious crisis in the Middle East. I've done it, plenty of my fellow analysts do it, and now Obama's own Democratic Party members are doing it too. But sunk costs are irrelevant; the president's mistakes are made. The better question is, what does he plan to do now?

Let's get some 'kiss cam' equalityupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 10:05:50

There's plenty to hate about professional sports: the ridiculous salaries, the bloated egos, the domestic violence, the ignored concussions.

When machines outsmart humansupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 09:20:04

Machines have surpassed humans in physical strength, speed and stamina. What would happen if machines surpassed human intellect as well? The question is not just hypothetical; we need to start taking this possibility seriously.

Justice Department jeopardizes Ferguson caseupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 08:56:58

If the United States Department of Justice has any real interest in obtaining justice in the tragic shooting of 18-year-old Michael Brown, Attorney General Eric Holder's announcement of a new civil rights investigation in Ferguson, Missouri, (population 21,000) was a step in the wrong direction.

Don't fall for birth control plan that would push women back to 1950supdated Tue Sep 09 2014 07:59:28

Over the past few weeks, politicians who have taken a hard-line stance against insurance coverage for contraception are offering a new alternative: make birth control available over the counter. At first glance, this appears to be a welcome shift, a reflection of the growing support for making birth control available to more women.

Opinion: China's education arms raceupdated Tue Sep 09 2014 01:45:59

Last week, China unveiled a list of wide-ranging reforms to the "gaokao" -- the hyper-competitive and grueling college entrance examination that represents most families' best shot at the Chinese dream.

Charges in hot car death are strongupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 22:18:33

Justin Ross Harris was indicted last week on eight counts in the hot-car death of his 22-month-old son, Cooper. Harris could face the death penalty if prosecutors decide to seek it and he's convicted of the most serious charge.

Time to turn crisis into an opportunityupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 20:04:47

President Barack Obama has properly decided to go to Congress and then the American people this week to reveal his strategy to degrade and destroy the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL or ISIS). To paraphrase former White House Chief of Staff Rahm Emanuel, this is a crisis the President should not waste. How individual members of Congress respond to this call should matter and should be a 2014 election issue -- the duck and blame game stops here.

Why it's time for drug regulationupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 20:01:04

In business, if one of our companies is failing, we take steps to identify and solve the problem. What we don't do is continue failing strategies that cost huge sums of money and make the problem worse.

Lesson of Ray Rice case: Stop blaming victimupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 17:39:11

The video showing Ray Rice punching Janay Palmer inside an elevator was released Monday. And everyone should watch it.

Atlanta Hawks owner is a hypocriteupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 15:10:08

Bruce Levenson couldn't cut it as a successful NBA owner. His business, the Atlanta Hawks, was failing. He needed a scapegoat, and he blamed African-Americans, his most loyal customer base. Apparently, he forgot those fans are the only group that has stuck by him in spite of the inferior product he's put on the basketball court since he took over the team 11 years ago. He should be grateful any fans showed up for the games at all.

Levenson and the Hawks' real problemupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 15:04:05

Atlanta Hawks majority owner Bruce Levenson just figured out how to get rid of a product that no one wants to purchase by throwing himself on the confessional table of bigotry -- which will probably make him more wealthy than he could have ever imagined.

To get immigration reform, elect a Republicanupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 08:10:28

Now that President Barack Obama has broken his promise to take executive action on immigration, and put off the thorny issue until after the midterm elections -- and I predict, for the remainder of his presidency -- many immigration reform advocates are angry, surprised and disappointed.

Opinion: Muslims and extremists -- we're not the sameupdated Mon Sep 08 2014 07:26:18

"Here we go again," I sigh, browsing news channels. Each one, leading with the chilling buzzwords: "Islamic State" and "Jihadist Murder."

How slavery haunts today's America updated Sun Sep 07 2014 11:38:36

One day two lifetimes ago, about 1825, a man from Maryland was standing outside a Methodist church after service, talking with his friends and fellow church members. William was enslaved. Parts of his life were very difficult. But he had also been able to create richness in other parts of his life. He probably had a family, and he was very active in the church. Yet as I explain in my new book "The Half Has Never Been Told," on that particular day everything suddenly changed for William.

Plane crash off Jamaica: What happened?updated Sat Sep 06 2014 17:12:44

I peered over the shoulder of the flight engineer and studied the pressurization gauge on his panel. The needle indicated that the cabin was climbing, and the slow popping in my ears confirmed it. Not good. The flight engineer swiveled his seat away from the panel and turned in my direction, brow furrowed, eyes wide.

Why is the NFL still blacking out games?updated Sat Sep 06 2014 16:21:14

This weekend marks the kickoff of what millions of Americans have been looking forward to since the final minutes of Seattle's Super Bowl victory in early February -- another football season.

Our fear of fat is meltingupdated Sat Sep 06 2014 12:29:57

Eating fat helps heart health and weight loss, concluded a widely reported clinical trial this week.

Nuclear deal or no deal, don't expect Iran changesupdated Fri Sep 05 2014 18:21:20

The impeachment of Iranian science minister Reza Faraji-Dana last month was just the latest episode in an ongoing struggle between so-called moderates and hard-liners that has been going on in the country since the 1979 revolution. It's a bad sign for those pinning their hopes on the ability of President Hassan Rouhani to bring about change in Iran.

State Department's wrestling match with Bill O'Reillyupdated Fri Sep 05 2014 15:30:08

It's back to school for most Americans, but for the kids over at State Department High School, it seems more like a permanent summer vacation.

My cancer is worse than your cancer?updated Fri Sep 05 2014 13:35:43

I remember the day I rang the bell. When you finish radiation treatment at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, there's a bell in the waiting room that you ring three times, and when you do, the entire room erupts with applause. I remember the immediate rush when it was my turn. I felt the euphoric joy of having survived.

Medical marijuana users caught in state-federal conflictupdated Fri Sep 05 2014 12:05:14

Ten years in prison seems like a life-changing sentence for most people, but for 70-year-old Larry Harvey, it would effectively be a death sentence.

ISIS threat to U.S. mostly hypeupdated Fri Sep 05 2014 11:02:41

ISIS has Americans worried. Two-thirds of those surveyed in a recent Pew Research poll said they consider the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria to be a "major threat" to this country. But are such fears really justified?

France's ex-First Lady is back with a vengeanceupdated Fri Sep 05 2014 10:59:36

France's ex-First Lady, Valérie Trierweiler, is back with a vengeance. A few hours after her memoirs of her relationship with President François Hollande, called "Merci pour ce moment" (Thanks for the moment) hit the bookstands in France, a new poll showed that the President's approval ratings were in free fall, reaching the historical low of 13%.

iPhone6: Is bigger really better?updated Fri Sep 05 2014 09:44:09

Should schools ban homework?updated Fri Sep 05 2014 07:47:37

With a new school year starting, homework is front and center in many homes. Parents worry if their kids are completing the assigned work while kids wonder why they have to work when really they prefer to play in the sun.

Why is ISIS so brutal?updated Thu Sep 04 2014 18:11:09

Our minds recoil at the thought. How is it possible that a human being could take a knife to the neck of another, an innocent man, and cut off his head? How could he do this even after perhaps hearing the pleas from his captive's mother, imploring him to spare her child?

Joan Rivers gave misfit girls permission to dreamupdated Thu Sep 04 2014 17:35:46

When I was a little girl, I watched a lot of TV. I loved sitcoms and had a special love for talk and variety shows. I loved it whenTotie Fields, Moms Mabley and Phyllis Diller came on, but there was no one who affected me like Joan Rivers. Like every other misfit Jewish girl growing up in the suburbs of New Jersey, I may have adored Barbra, but I could relate to Joan.

Keep nude photos offline? Here's a better ideaupdated Thu Sep 04 2014 14:31:00

"If you want to keep something private, keep it offline."

Is free speech at risk at our universities?updated Thu Sep 04 2014 11:04:03

Freedom of speech is the foundation of democracy. Yet many believe it is in jeopardy at our nation's colleges and universities, especially following last spring's commencement speaker controversies -- including one at Smith College, when the managing director of the International Monetary Fund decided not to address graduates after protests.

'The NATO Show': Putin's favorite comedy?updated Thu Sep 04 2014 10:59:56

President Obama's favorite television shows include "House of Cards" and "Mad Men." One can imagine that when his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin wants to kick back and relax, all he will need to do is turn on the nightly news and watch the latest reports from the NATO Summit in Wales.

Will Eric Cantor help Wall Street?updated Thu Sep 04 2014 07:46:17

After an unexpected loss in the Republican primary, former House Majority Leader Eric Cantor resigned from Congress and nabbed the brass ring: A lucrative vice chairmanship at boutique investment firm Moelis & Co., along with a slot on its board of directors. The ex-representative for Virginia's 7th Congressional District will be making at least $1.6 million next year in addition to a hefty signing bonus.

NATO's moment of truth on Ukraineupdated Thu Sep 04 2014 07:26:14

As Moscow escalates its invasion of eastern Ukraine and NATO convenes this week in Wales, the United States, NATO, and free nations around the world confront a pivotal moment of truth.

Ukraine's strong argument for military aidupdated Thu Sep 04 2014 00:05:11

As Western leaders gather in Newport, Wales, for this week's NATO summit, the Ukrainian army is taking a pounding from Russia-supported rebel fighters in the country's east and south. The central question now confronting President Barack Obama and colleagues is whether to supply Kiev with heavy arms.

We need to think outside the box on ISISupdated Wed Sep 03 2014 16:54:00

When President Barack Obama said recently that "we don't have a strategy yet" to defeat the Islamic State -- also known as ISIS or ISIL -- many people were scandalized. Columnists attacked him for what they said was his admission of a deep failure. His own staff had to run around defending and explaining what he said. It was seen as a terrible blunder.

Don't ban reclining seats, ban jerks on planesupdated Wed Sep 03 2014 14:54:22

In a little more than a week there have been three, yes three, planes diverted because passengers have thrown hissy fits over reclining seats.

Why Obama needs to be the explainer in chiefupdated Wed Sep 03 2014 12:37:20

After weeks of vague pronouncements on world events, President Obama finally spoke forcefully Wednesday. He delivered a strong statement about the horrendous beheadings of journalists Steven Sotloff and James Foley and spoke about what the U.S. planned to do with ISIS, the terror group which calls itself the Islamic State.

Opinion: Summer 2014, racial divides and ugliness in Americaupdated Wed Sep 03 2014 11:32:30

The name "Ferguson" will enter America's political vocabulary alongside cities like Detroit, Harlem and South Central Los Angeles -- places where black Americans rioted in the streets following the violent mistreatment of unarmed black men at the hands of police.

Why Muslims must challenge ISIS atrocities, propagandaupdated Wed Sep 03 2014 10:24:26

Last night, a video emerged of the execution of American journalist Steven Sotloff, at the hands of Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi's ISIS, the extreme jihadist group that has illegitimately declared the establishment of a militant "caliphate" in Syria and Iraq.

Lift ban on transgender military membersupdated Wed Sep 03 2014 08:09:26

Three years after the repeal of "don't ask, don't tell," the now-defunct law prohibiting gay men, lesbians and bisexuals from serving openly in the armed forces, many Americans might not know that a significant form of discrimination still exists: The U.S. military bans transgender people.

Stop the insanity of reclining airplane seatsupdated Tue Sep 02 2014 23:46:02

We have now witnessed the third instance in only nine days of a flight being diverted from its original destination because someone leaned her seat back and someone objected.

Opinion: Pakistan's perilous democratic transitionupdated Tue Sep 02 2014 20:28:48

Pakistan's perilous democratic transition has been rocked by the ongoing anti-government protests.

North Korean diplomacy: Americans as baitupdated Tue Sep 02 2014 11:31:52

Living at the China-North Korea border, I had the unique opportunity to train under two North Korean tae kwon do masters. While I told people I was there to learn the rare North Korean martial art from some of their best instructors, I was secretly helping North Korean refugees on the 6,000-mile modern-day underground railroad from the Hermit Kingdom to South Korea, for food and a better life.

Can technology prevent another Ferguson?updated Tue Sep 02 2014 08:03:18

In my home town of St. Louis, a petition has gained traction calling for police to wear body cameras that capture everything in front of them while they are doing their jobs. This would be just a step beyond the idea of putting dashboard cameras on all police cars, which some police agencies around the country have started doing. The reasoning goes that with these cameras, we might deter police misconduct and get better answers to disputed questions like what happened in the Michael Brown shooting in Ferguson.

Kirsten Gillibrand's good call on 'fat' commentsupdated Tue Sep 02 2014 08:00:28

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand's new book reveals that her colleagues in Congress have called her "porky" and "fat" and made other remarks about her weight. Yes, of course the public is outraged by her insensitive colleagues. Should we know who did the name-calling? And should they be shamed into offering public apologies?

Rick Perry's 'ISIS at the border' soundbiteupdated Tue Sep 02 2014 07:45:13

Not so long ago, we defined relations between Mexico and the United States by how its president got along with our president. Yet, when the U.S. chief executive is distracted by events in Russia and the Middle East, what counts now is how Mexican President Enrique Pena Nieto relates to the governors of U.S. states.

Who's at fault over J-Law's nude photo hack?updated Mon Sep 01 2014 16:23:27

The latest nude celebrity photo leak is yet another case of how the Internet often lets people do whatever they want to whomever they want.

The ugly return of anti-Semitismupdated Mon Sep 01 2014 11:32:46

On Sunday, there was a rally in London to protest something I never thought would need protesting in modern Britain: the rise of anti-Semitism.

We recommend

From around the web