Complete coverage on

Opinion

If it was just a political pander, it was a beauty. But if it was a serious statement of philosophy, it was chilling -- even scary.

Latest Stories

Like, OMG!! Zuck speaks Mandarin?!!updated Thu Oct 23 2014 18:08:44

So, Mark Zuckerberg apparently speaks Mandarin.

With Ferguson, it's not what you think updated Thu Oct 23 2014 17:54:57

The new "leaks" from the grand jury on the Michael Brown shooting have once again stoked the imagination of the American public and the world. The implication of these leaks is that Officer Darren Wilson won't be indicted, so everyone wants to know how Ferguson will react.

How not to respond to Ebolaupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 16:56:12

There is no word more reviled in America than "Ebola," especially since the death of Thomas Eric Duncan, the Liberian national who had traveled to Dallas. But as Ebola has spread, it has become increasingly clear that if there is to be any chance of stopping the disease -- not only here in America, but across the world -- then the United States must lead through inspiring example.

Veteran: My search for a PTSD cure led me to the Amazonupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 16:35:22

Just out of high school, my young developing mind couldn't resist the temptation of the Marine recruiters: They promised challenge and hardship, in comparison to the other armed services, which promised money and travel as their main recruiting incentives.

Transgender military members: One accepted, one notupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 12:19:25

One of us is British and the other American. But we have many important things in common. Both of us are in the military and were deployed to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. We're both proud to serve and fight for our countries -- and both of us have served successfully. But when our military colleagues found out that we are transgender, our careers took different paths. Here are our stories:

Ebola will elevate respect for nursesupdated Thu Oct 23 2014 07:56:22

Back in the day, nurses will tell you, if a doctor came into a room and no chair was available for him, a nurse would have to give up her seat. Those days are long gone, but for a long time, nurses didn't have a guaranteed seat at the health care policy table?until now.

This is not supposed to happen in Canadaupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 20:48:40

It was a surprise, even for a journalist, to be driving down Wellington Street, the city's ceremonial thoroughfare, and to find myself swept into the chaotic aftermath of a disaster. I was rushing to a television studio at mid-morning and passing by the National War Memorial, just minutes after the shooting. A solider was down.

Are we hypocrites over Renee Zellweger?updated Wed Oct 22 2014 18:53:09

Renee Zellweger looks different than she did 10 years ago.

How poaching fuels terrorism fundingupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 13:05:27

Half a million dollars. That's how much it cost Osama bin Laden and his band of extremists to carry out the most deadly attack on U.S. soil since Pearl Harbor.

Ferguson grand jury: Protector of liberty or of police abuse? updated Wed Oct 22 2014 09:05:56

If the local grand jury brings no charges against police Officer Darren Wilson in the case of Michael Brown's killing, street protests in Ferguson, Missouri, are inevitable. Demonstrators angry about Wilson's shooting of the unarmed black teenager in August already decry the grand jury's secrecy and "lack of transparency." But for those who believe that the grand jury procedure is some sort of cop and prosecutor conspiracy to trample the rights of minority citizens, a little background on this hallowed institution might be in order.

Mandy Moore: For Africa, health care that worksupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 08:20:55

I've just returned from a visit to Tanzania with the global health and development organization Population Services International to better understand the challenges facing health workers in the developing world. The outbreak of Ebola only underscores the dire need for trained health workers -- a global shortage of nearly 7.2 million health workers, according to the World Health Organization.

What Ben Bradlee stood forupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 07:26:56

The death of famed Washington Post editor Ben Bradlee on Tuesday marks the symbolic end of an important era in American journalism, one that, unfortunately, was very different than our own.

How the 'Seinfeld election' could actually make a differenceupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 07:24:32

First, let's be clear: No one can blame voters if they a) are turned off by this election, b) are worried more about other things in their lives and c) don't think that it matters much who controls the Senate, which is what is up for grabs this year.

Mike Rowe defends himself after whooping crane showupdated Wed Oct 22 2014 06:53:07

When CNN's Mike Rowe visited a bird sanctuary on his new series "Somebody's Gotta Do It," he drew some heat from viewers.

How NATO can respond to Swedish mysteryupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 19:41:38

Recent developments off the coast of Sweden raise many questions, and we do not as yet have answers.

What we got wrong about the Vaticanupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 18:35:23

It was described as a "dramatic shift" and a "bombshell." One writer dubbed it a "stunning change." Even the Human Rights Campaign, the LGBT advocacy organization, announced a "seismic shift in Rome." So it was all the more disheartening that the Catholic Church's Synod of Bishops decided to backpedal on its surprisingly welcoming language for LGBT people and their families from earlier in the week with the release on Saturday of the final document from its meeting.

Shame on Monica Lewinskyupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 12:48:36

Shameless. There's no other word to describe Monica Lewinsky. Sixteen years after her affair with President Bill Clinton became public knowledge, she's returned to the limelight with a campaign against cyberbullying -- of which she claims to have been "patient zero."

East Coast, Gulf Coast should get used to tidal floodsupdated Tue Oct 21 2014 12:00:43

Two years ago next week, Superstorm Sandy barreled through parts of the United States, causing $65 billion worth of damage to communities up and down the Eastern seaboard. Sandy, which brought extensive flooding to New York and Atlantic City, was described by many as a once in a generation storm.

Why should donating an organ cost so much?updated Tue Oct 21 2014 09:12:09

Thirty years ago, the United States enacted a law that has inadvertently condemned hundreds of thousands of Americans to death. As a result of the National Organ Transplant Act, more Americans have lost their lives waiting for an organ than died in both World Wars, Korea, Vietnam, Afghanistan and Iraq put together.

Black Republican actress' racist remarks hurt GOP updated Tue Oct 21 2014 08:37:17

Fox News contributor and Republican as of 2012, black actress Stacey Dash proves she really wasn't acting in the movie "Clueless." Appearing on Fox News' "Hannity" show, Dash called all black people in Louisiana government freeloaders who don't work.

Can abortion be de-stigmatized?updated Tue Oct 21 2014 07:35:54

There is a new strategy in the battle over abortion rights. I don't quite know what to call it, but I haven't seen anything like it since the fictional 47-year-old Maude Findlay chose to abort her fetus on TV's "Maude" in 1972.

China's Confucius Institutes: Self-promotion or cultural imperialism?updated Tue Oct 21 2014 01:26:41

The rationale behind Confucius Institutes -- an international chain of academic centers run by an arm of the Chinese government -- is understandable.

Lessons from one deadly disease for handling Ebolaupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 16:12:55

Managing Ebola demands as much of our diligence in infection control practice as SARS did. And though Ebola may, in theory, be less contagious than the airborne SARS or Middle East respiratory syndrome viruses, it is spread through direct contact with infected body fluids or organs and has been demonstrably and tragically more fatal.

Attorney: Charges against liberated Mauritanian slave droppedupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 15:13:50

[Update, posted on October 23 at 10 a.m. ET]

Egg-freezing a better deal for companies than for womenupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 14:41:29

Apple and Facebook made the headlines last week on the news that they are offering coverage for their female employees to freeze their eggs. Financial support for egg-freezing represents a bold step by these tech leaders, intended to support women as they manage the modern-day conflict between work and family.

Pilot: Why we won't fly Ebola patientsupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 11:58:28

I glanced at the map display on my side of the passenger jet's instrument panel. A small blue circle within 100 miles of the magenta line that defined our course identified the airport in Gander, Newfoundland. This would be our best alternate if our medical problem became an emergency.

Opinion: We need more than warm words from Vatican on homosexualityupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 09:50:47

The pronouncement by the Roman Catholic Church at its extraordinary synod that "homosexuals have gifts and qualities to offer to the Christian community" has left many pondering if this is a turning point for the LGBTI debate.

The truth about the midterms -- hands up go vote!updated Mon Oct 20 2014 09:29:08

As the story goes, in 2010 there was a dramatic political course correction. The electorate that just two years earlier had overwhelmingly voted for hope and change, sweeping Democrats into office, up and down the ballot, across the country, had buyers' remorse.

ISIS reveals its strategyupdated Mon Oct 20 2014 08:28:32

ISIS is looking to take over a good chunk of the Middle East -- if not the entire Muslim world. At least, that's the message the terrorist movement is sending in its English online magazine, Dabiq.

Obama: One very successful president? updated Mon Oct 20 2014 08:23:41

President Obama's poll numbers have hit a new low and he's under fire for everything from the rise of ISIS to the response to the Ebola threat. So it may seem surprising to many readers that the Nobel Prize-winning economist Paul Krugman -- who has been one of the president's strongest critics from the left -- has written a cover story for Rolling Stone entitled "In Defense of Obama."

Why #Gamergate won't dieupdated Sun Oct 19 2014 13:46:01

It began as an attempt to shut up one woman -- a video-game developer who had criticized the entrenched sexism and misogyny in her industry -- by "slut-shaming" her and then threatening her.

GOP, don't undermine governmentupdated Sat Oct 18 2014 14:55:55

Conservatives can't bash and slash government and then suddenly act surprised if government isn't there when we need it. After all, anti-government rhetoric and anti-tax austerity have real-life consequences -- consequences playing out at this very moment in the public health response to Ebola.

Make the Halloween candy dish less temptingupdated Sat Oct 18 2014 11:39:22

When you hear "trick or treat" this year, think "nudge."

Kidnapped Nigerian girls 'pawns'updated Sat Oct 18 2014 00:42:58

The announcement by senior Nigerian military and government officials that an agreement has been reached with Boko Haram for the release of more than 200 kidnapped Chibok girls is welcome, although it has understandably been greeted with considerable caution. And news that a ceasefire has also been agreed, and that further negotiations will take place, is another positive development.

Where's the empathy for Ebola's African victims?updated Fri Oct 17 2014 17:13:33

The world's response to Ebola is its own sort of tragedy.

Russia must rethink orphanage systemupdated Fri Oct 17 2014 16:33:21

Russia's policies on foreign adoptions made headlines when the government announced it would no longer allow Americans to adopt Russian children. But hidden away in Russian orphanages are thousands of children with disabilities who aren't orphans, whose harmful treatment has long been hidden from public view -- even from most Russians.

From guerrillas to conquerors: How ISIS has changedupdated Fri Oct 17 2014 11:43:42

It is a question that the global community is seeking to understand as the crisis in Iraq and Syria deepens. How can such a numerically small force as ISIS, which calls itself the Islamic State, have taken control of vast swathes of Syria and Iraq, and how can it hold the ground taken while simultaneously conducting multiple offensive actions in both countries?

Women veterans deserve equal careupdated Fri Oct 17 2014 08:21:01

More than a quarter-million American women served honorably in the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. These brave women sacrificed much to keep us safe. Now that they are home, or soon to be home, our country has a solemn obligation to help them transition back to civilian life.

Was Amal Clooney anti-feminist to change her name?updated Fri Oct 17 2014 08:13:31

The website for London law firm Doughty Street Chambers crashed Tuesday after reports emerged that human rights attorney Amal Alamuddin, who married George Clooney in late September, had changed her name to Amal Clooney, as seen on her professional profile page. Everyone had to see for themselves -- and, predictably, throw up their collective arms in response.

NFL, pink ribbons not enough to win over womenupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 19:48:45

Of the two of us, Linda is the fan of professional football. And every football fan realizes football games are extremely violent. We are both also feminists. And every feminist knows the women's movement denounces all forms of violence. For a woman who is a football fan, this can be hard to reconcile.

When the Rick hits the fanupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 16:27:37

Once more, as I often do, I find myself wishing for the late, great Dr. Hunter S. Thompson. It was he who said, "When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro." But it was Florida Gov. Rick Scott who brought Thompson's maxim to life Wednesday. In fact, Gov. Scott brought it to the stage of a televised debate.

Will ISIS 'weaponize' foreign fighters?updated Thu Oct 16 2014 16:08:48

How big a threat do foreign fighters in Syria and Iraq pose to the West? It's a question that has been much on the mind of policymakers and commentators, especially since U.S. President Barack Obama announced the United States was ramping up its military role in the region. Will such fighters return with dangerous new skills and experience that they are determined to use against their home country? Or is the potential threat by these fighters overhyped?

Why CDC chief must goupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 08:11:39

This week Thomas Frieden, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, stepped up to the microphone and took responsibility for the worst mistake in Dallas' Ebola-stricken hospital: its utter lack of preparedness.

4 ways Democrats have already wonupdated Thu Oct 16 2014 07:50:37

The midterm elections are less than three weeks away, but by several measures, Democrats have already won.

Can we feed everyone?updated Wed Oct 15 2014 22:22:50

At some 7 billion people, the world can sometimes seem like a crowded place. But if the latest estimates are to be believed, then in less than a century it is going to feel even more so -- about 50% more crowded, in fact. Such dizzying numbers understandably raise an important question, one that we have been wrestling with at least since Thomas Malthus famously predicted that rising populations would create a food crunch: Can the world's supply of food continue to meet demand?

We need a surgeon general, not an Ebola czarupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 19:46:21

Many Americans might feel reassured when Tom Frieden, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Protection, says the battle against Ebola in the United States is being waged effectively. His bedside manner is impeccable and his calm confident demeanor inspiring. Yet many might also wonder how the Ebola virus entered the United States and appeared in Dallas under his watch in the first place.

Rubio: 5 steps to beat Ebolaupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 19:06:57

Today's world is more interconnected than ever, making the transmission of communicable diseases that originate abroad easier to reach our shores. And the ongoing Ebola outbreak is simply the latest unsettling reminder that all the benefits of an interconnected world also come with significant risks that must be addressed and mitigated.

Nightmare month for Ebola nursesupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 17:35:38

Nurses are the unsung heroes of the Ebola outbreak. Yet, there are troubling signs we're failing them.

'Fear-bola' hits epidemic proportionsupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 13:53:58

Right now, two-thirds of Americans are suffering from "Fear-bola," according to a new Washington Post poll. It's a hyper-contagious disease that affects the brain, making sufferers fear a widespread Ebola outbreak in the United States.

Can U.S. uphold its end of an Iran nuclear deal?updated Wed Oct 15 2014 10:14:06

With Iran's Foreign Minister Javad Zarif and U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry set to meet in Vienna and the November 24 deadline to the P5+1 and Iran nuclear talks in sight, the White House's ability to provide Iran with significant sanctions relief early in a nuclear deal remains unclear. At the same time, any perceived failure by the U.S. to deliver could complicate, if not poison, what will already be a tenuous post-deal period.

Don't let U.S. history be forgottenupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 09:37:19

Elections such as the one approaching in November tend to focus Americans on our differences. We intensely debate competing visions for the future of our country. We listen to a variety of candidates try to persuade us to vote for them. And we watch as intricate coalitions become majorities.

What if your business is called ISIS?updated Wed Oct 15 2014 08:45:18

Through sweat, toil and sacrifice, you built your business into a success. Things are looking good. But suddenly, a horrific terrorist group emerges that calls itself the same name as your company.

Why more women choose not to marryupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 08:21:02

Some revolutions happen in a single day; others over decades. The rise of the voluntarily single woman has been happening in Western societies slowly, over time, concomitant with well-paying jobs, legal protection from economic or physical abuse, reliable birth control and the possibility of fulfilling careers and adventures.

Democrats who run from Obama take a riskupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 07:53:00

Democratic candidates who run from President Obama in red states where he is unpopular are making a big mistake. Their holding Obama at arm's length deprives voters of a clear choice at the ballot box.

Opinion: Why we must talk to the bad guys -- even ISISupdated Wed Oct 15 2014 07:23:01

When people watch the cold-blooded beheading of a western journalist on TV they react emotionally. They want revenge. So do I. But I have come to understand that is not the best way to go about tackling terrorist groups. History suggests you need a coolly thought-out strategy if you want to "degrade and ultimately destroy" ISIS as U.S. President Barack Obama put it, rather than a knee-jerk reaction.

The 'big lesson' Mike Rowe learned several hundred times updated Wed Oct 15 2014 05:42:15

I had drinks not long ago with a woman I know. Let's call her Claire.

Mississippi has something to shout aboutupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 19:56:50

Which state has given us B.B. King, Jimmy Buffett, Sam Cooke, Faith Hill, Britney Spears and Elvis Presley?

Did White House cover up Secret Service scandal?updated Tue Oct 14 2014 19:18:28

It's time to deal with another scandal involving the Secret Service ? one that leads directly into the White House.

Why women fight against ISISupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 16:02:41

Just when you thought it was impossible for ISIS to become any more contemptible, the group in its latest publication boasts of its success in bringing the return of slavery. More specifically, it announced and provided elaborate justification for the enslavement of women.

3 ways the Catholic church should embrace gay rightsupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 15:37:16

The Catholic church can't have it both ways on gay rights.

Ebola highlights public health crisisupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 13:06:00

The death of Liberian national Thomas Eric Duncan, who succumbed to Ebola in a Dallas hospital, is of course tragic. But the extraordinarily poor way his case appears to have been handled may also inadvertently have done the United States an enormous service -- not just in shining a light on the threat posed by this virus but also by revealing the profound problems both in our health care delivery system and the public health programs supposed to help prevent outbreaks, track contacts and control the spread of disease.

Don't let Big Tobacco crush e-cigarettesupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 11:35:57

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is considering how to best regulate electronic cigarettes as tobacco products. While some regulation is needed, the current proposal entails a huge paperwork burden that will create a barrier to entry into the market for all but the biggest players -- namely, Big Tobacco.

Why women don't get raisesupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 10:14:23

In American business great CEOs embody their companies. They persuasively connect their companies' brands to the emotions, desires, aspirations and, yes, the fears and challenges of consumers -- men and women alike. Jack Welch of General Electric, Roger Enrico of PepsiCo, Howard Schultz of Starbucks, Steve Jobs of Apple all come to mind.

I'm a feminist, and I converted to Islamupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 08:11:43

I am a Muslim, but I wasn't always. I converted to Islam in November 2001, two months after 9/11.

What lures Americans to Syria fightupdated Tue Oct 14 2014 07:25:25

Over the past two years, 12 Americans have been charged with supporting militant groups fighting in Syria or have died while fighting with such groups.

The danger of assisted suicide lawsupdated Mon Oct 13 2014 15:05:18

My heart goes out to Brittany Maynard, who is dying of brain cancer and who wrote last week about her desire for what is often referred to as "death with dignity."

Why America changed its mind on gay marriageupdated Mon Oct 13 2014 08:46:21

In 2003, Massachusetts became the first state to legalize same-sex marriage. At that time, 60% of Americans opposed the idea and the move provoked an immediate backlash. In the next year, 12 states passed constitutional amendments outlawing same-sex marriage. Eventually 30 states, including traditionally liberal California, passed such measures.

Election 2014: Why voters don't careupdated Mon Oct 13 2014 07:45:38

While America faces many big issues -- unrest in the Middle East, the effects of climate change, uneven economic growth, growing income inequality, a costly and less than optimal health care system and more -- the contest to control the House and Senate does not really seem to be turning into a defining struggle over the national agenda.

Sayreville football team case went far beyond hazingupdated Sun Oct 12 2014 19:19:34

On Friday, the Sayreville High School football team was supposed to host a rival team in a homecoming game. But instead of taking the field, seven Sayreville, New Jersey, players were taken into custody, arrested and charged in flagrant sexual assaults on younger players. Many have referred to the incident as pervasive locker room "hazing."

White House blames Panetta, not its own faultsupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 19:32:42

The publication this week of memoirs by Leon Panetta has stirred up a sharp controversy in the press, but as so often happens these days in Washington, the focus seems to be on the sensational rather than the important.

Police and communities of color need to build trustupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 17:30:33

Historically in the United States, communities of color and the police have maintained strained relationships. The death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, has stirred up dormant, yet strong emotions.

Peace Prize winners' message on heroismupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 16:26:14

By now, everyone knows who Malala Yousafzai is. But most people had never heard of the heroic and highly effective work of her fellow Nobel Peace Prize winner, Kailash Satyarthi. By awarding the prize jointly to both of them, the Nobel Committee made an inspired choice.

Supreme Court should act on gay marriage updated Fri Oct 10 2014 13:53:00

What is going on inside the heads of those nine Supreme Court justices? This week's legal drama around same-sex marriage makes me worry that they're all thinking more about politics than doing right by the Constitution.

What to tell your kid about Christopher Columbusupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 12:51:05

In October 2013, my daughter came home from school excited about Christopher Columbus. He had come to visit her class! During his visit, he told the children that he had figured out the world was round and then bravely led his crew to discover America. Then they all made telescopes.

Time for policy of truth on North Koreaupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 11:14:48

North Korea's dictator is still missing. Kim Jong Un has not been seen in public since early September, and on Friday he missed the symbolically important anniversary of the Korean Workers' Party.

Raise minimum wage; working people should not live in povertyupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 08:17:55

No one who works full-time -- in this, one of the wealthiest nations on Earth -- should have to raise a family in poverty. That is the fundamental principle behind our work to increase the national minimum wage. And today, on 10/10, National Minimum Wage Day, we are saying louder than ever that hard work should be rewarded with fair pay of at least $10.10 per hour.

Malala is the new symbol of hopeupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 08:13:17

You have to love Malala.

Breaking the taboo: It's time to talk about mental healthupdated Fri Oct 10 2014 07:48:40

On World Mental Health Day, around the globe many of us, perhaps hundreds of thousands or even millions, will be raising awareness of mental health issues to challenge outdated views, and to put an end to life-limiting, and sometimes life-threatening, stigma and discrimination that's still attached to having a mental health problem in so many countries and communities.

How to keep viruses in the wild from finding humansupdated Thu Oct 09 2014 17:53:07

Much has been written about the many failures the ongoing Ebola crisis in West Africa represents: from the genuine lack of access to basic health care in many developing countries to the fact that the front line first response has largely fallen upon the brave volunteers of the nongovernmental sector.

The implicit racism in Ebola tragedyupdated Thu Oct 09 2014 16:58:23

The tragedy of Ebola is not just its staggering toll. It's also the implicit racism that the deadly virus has spawned. The anecdotes are sickening, particularly a Reuters report this week that children of African immigrants in Dallas -- little ones with no connection to Thomas Duncan, the Liberian Ebola patient who died Wednesday in a local hospital -- have been branded "Ebola kids" simply because of their heritage or skin color.

Obama administration must answer Ebola questionsupdated Thu Oct 09 2014 16:07:12

Ebola is now a big enough concern that the American people deserve some straight answers. And judging from the latest polling, plenty of people will be listening to what they are.

GOP strategy won't fool womenupdated Thu Oct 09 2014 09:01:35

If they're going to pull out a victory in the midterm elections, Republicans need to win over women. But they're doing everything in their power to alienate them, from pushing extreme anti-abortion measures that even most Republican voters oppose to blocking equal-pay legislation to, well, just opening their mouths. A leading Republican congressional candidate in Georgia recently said, sure, a woman can run for office if she is "within the authority of her husband."

Why Kim is probably still in chargeupdated Wed Oct 08 2014 19:10:35

Speculation has been rampant over what exactly has happened to North Korean leader Kim Jong Un. After all, Kim hasn't been seen in public in over a month, and the country's media took the unusual step of admitting that Kim is in an "uncomfortable physical condition." Some commentators believe this suggests Kim might be more seriously ill than the country is letting on. But others have speculated something more dramatic might have occurred -- namely a coup.

The problem with U.S. priorities in Syriaupdated Wed Oct 08 2014 16:49:19

"Where your treasure is, there is your heart also." So goes one biblical quote that could be applied to the United States' intervention in Syria.

Raven-Symone, we are black Americansupdated Wed Oct 08 2014 14:25:19

I get it. Raven-Symone doesn't like labels. But she is wrong to run away from her blackness, seemingly hoping that no one acknowledges her beautiful brown skin and the history written all over her face.

When assisted suicide is not the answerupdated Wed Oct 08 2014 12:32:01

I once took care of an 84-year-old woman with end-stage heart failure who told me she couldn't bear feeling short of breath any longer and pleaded with me to help her die. "Is November 15 a good day for you?" she asked.

The only way to defeat ISIS updated Wed Oct 08 2014 09:11:44

The story of Ahmad al-Shayea is the story of all that has been wrong -- and continues to be wrong -- with the United States and our allies' campaign against Islamist extremism.

Mike Rowe opens up on pay, public office and the 'skills gap'updated Wed Oct 08 2014 06:37:47

Between Mike Rowe's television work and his philanthropic efforts with the Mike Rowe Works Foundation, Rowe holds true to one central passion: tipping his hat to those who work hard without much fanfare.

Hong Kong in crisis: Does former colonial ruler have any responsibility?updated Tue Oct 07 2014 23:00:29

The world has been watching events unfold in Hong Kong in recent weeks, after tens of thousands of pro-democracy protesters took to the streets to occupy key locations in the heart of this financial hub.

U.S. hard-liners missing point on Iranupdated Tue Oct 07 2014 17:36:11

As the November 24 deadline for a deal over Iran's nuclear program approaches, Washington seems fixated on the technical details of what an agreement should look like: the types of centrifuges Iran might be able to keep, for example, or the level of low-enriched uranium it could stockpile. But as important as these discussions are, the focus on mechanics risks missing a bigger and arguably more important reality: that the negotiations are central to the future of Iran's political system.

The group that could help defeat the ISIS behemothupdated Tue Oct 07 2014 16:03:26

Despite facing a punishing air bombing campaign, the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria continues to march across Syria. This week, it tightened its siege on the Syrian Kurdish town of Kobani. Though it is too soon to write off the American strategy to "degrade and ultimately destroy" ISIS by relying on air power and Syrian rebels, the opening week was a box office flop.

My right to death with dignity at 29 updated Tue Oct 07 2014 15:26:32

On New Year's Day, after months of suffering from debilitating headaches, I learned that I had brain cancer.

Bill Maher's Muslim problem updated Tue Oct 07 2014 13:21:43

Bill Maher, the man famous for hating religion, is now becoming infamous for hating one religion in particular: Islam.

Turkey's tough choice: Take on ISIS or the PKK?updated Tue Oct 07 2014 12:11:45

Turkey is in a tough spot. It has ISIS militants threatening the Syrian border town of Kobani, inching ever closer to confronting Turkish security forces. In addition thousands of Syrian Kurds, fleeing ISIS attacks, have massed along its border, adding further to Ankara's troubles.

Opinion: Saudi Arabia's women need more than a sporting chance to compete with the bestupdated Tue Oct 07 2014 01:36:45

The year 2012 was a historic one for Saudi Arabia. It was the first time two women from the country competed at an Olympic Games. A month earlier, ten Saudi women climbed to Mount Everest base camp, headed by Princess Reema Bandar to raise awareness of breast cancer and to promote physical activity.

Opinion: China relies on old tricks to control coverage of Hong Kong protestsupdated Mon Oct 06 2014 22:24:01

Hong Kong's pro-democracy demonstrations have been front-page fodder this past week in international media, which have painted the story as a David-and-Goliath struggle between local Hong Kongers and a powerful but distant authoritarian master in Beijing.

Why we have to keep searching for MH370updated Mon Oct 06 2014 18:47:37

I know from experience how the lack of tangible evidence gnaws at an accident investigator. Eventually, the passion driving efforts to find answers is replaced with a feeling of futility and hopelessness. For the investigator in charge, valuable time that could be spent on the search and investigation will be spent justifying the cost of the search to the bureaucracy. But as the search for Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 resumes after a four-month hiatus, investigators must realize the question here is not how much it will cost to find the airplane and determine the cause to ensure it won't happen again. Instead, the question should be this: How much will it cost if they don't?

We recommend

From around the web