Investigating the President

 Bowles Testifies Before Grand Jury (04-02-98)

 White House Supports News Media's Request (04-01-98)

 Starr Investigation Costs Just Shy of $30 Million (04-01-98)

 Landow Not A Clinton Confidant (03-27-98)

 More Stories...


 Ken Starr Discusses His Investigation (04-02-98)

 More Transcripts...


 Lewinsky Father: Executive Privilege Will Prolong Daughter's Suffering (03-23-98)

 More Polls...


 Legal Documents Released In The Jones v. Clinton Case

 The Willey-Clinton Letters

 The Julie Steele Affidavit

Video On Demand

 CNN Special: What Do We Know? (03-13-98)


Voter's Voice

 Starr vb. Clinton (03-24-98)



 A Chronology: Key Moments In The Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal

 Cast of Characters In The Clinton-Lewinsky Scandal


 Community: Debate the scandal on the AllPolitics messageboard.


Reload often for latest news

White House Scandal At A Glance: March 5

Today's developments:

  • U.S. District Judge Norma Holloway Johnson heard arguments from lawyers for Monica Lewinsky and Independent Counsel Ken Starr on whether the former intern already has a legally binding immunity agreement. Lewinsky's lawyers, William Ginsburg and Nathaniel Speights, insist they worked out such an agreement with Starr's prosecutors last month. Starr's office denies any such deal exists. The parties met for most of the day Thursday and left the courthouse without comment.

  • Vernon Jordan, lobbyist and friend of President Bill Clinton, finished a second day of grand jury testimony. On leaving the courthouse, Jordan said he had not told or encouraged Lewinsky to lie.

  • Clinton acknowledged in his deposition in the Paula Jones case he was aware of efforts by Jordan to find Lewinsky a private sector job and had a relationship with her that included gift exchanges and possibly some meetings alone, sources confirm to CNN. But these sources say the president ruled out any sexual relationship with Lewinsky.

  • The president's private attorneys said they intend to file formal complaints with the judges overseeing the Jones case as well as the Lewinsky grand jury investigation over the leaked deposition. Attorneys Robert Bennett, David Kendall and Mickey Kantor denied they were the source of the leak.

  • A three-judge appeals panel in Arkansas heard claims of ethics violations by Starr from Frank Mandanici, a Connecticut attorney and persistent Starr critic.

View a previous 'At A Glance'

Wednesday, March 4
Tuesday, March 3
Thursday, Feb. 26
Wednesday, Feb. 25
Tuesday, Feb. 24
Friday, Feb. 20
Thursday, Feb. 19
Wednesday, Feb. 18
Tuesday, Feb. 17
Monday, Feb. 16
Friday, Feb. 13
Thursday, Feb. 12
Wednesday, Feb. 11
Tuesday, Feb. 10
Monday, Feb. 9
Friday, Feb. 6
Thursday, Feb. 5
Wednesday, Feb. 4
Tuesday, Feb. 3
Friday, Jan. 30
Thursday, Jan. 29
Wednesday, Jan. 28
Tuesday, Jan. 27
Monday, Jan. 26
Sunday, Jan. 25
Saturday, Jan. 24
Friday, Jan. 23
Thursday, Jan. 22
In Other News

Thursday March 5, 1998

Lewinsky Lawyers, Starr Argue Over Immunity Agreement
Thompson Committee Wraps Up Its Work
Democratic Fund-Raiser Johnny Chung Agrees To Plead Guilty
Clinton Codefendant Says Jones Has No Case
Democratic Fund-Raiser Arrested
White House Scandal At A Glance
Judges To Hear Ethics Complaints Against Starr
New Details Of Clinton's Jones Deposition Leaked

Barnes & Noble book search

Archives   |   CQ News   |   TIME On Politics   |   Feedback   |   Help

Copyright © 1998 AllPolitics All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this information is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.
Who we are.