Updated 12-2-97

Introduction

Background

The New Law

Timeline

Trends
California
Wisconsin
S. Carolina

Challenges

Appendices
State Links
State Caseloads
Block Grants

Related Stories

The Great American Welfare Lab Wisconsin has cut its rolls by half. Many former recipients are working, but where have the rest of them gone? By Adam Cohen/TIME (4/21/97)

A Blue-Ribbon County Marquette County, Wisconsin, sheds its welfare load. By Adam Cohen/TIME (4/21/97)

Let Them Eat Birthday Cake Clinton's welfare reform dismays the President's favorite poverty scholar By Jack E. White/TIME (9/2/96)

Ripping Up Welfare With not a little drama, Clinton grudgingly approves the G.O.P. bill, and the U.S. starts a vast and risky experiment By George J. Church/TIME (8/12/96)

Related Sites

The Department of Health and Human Services Welfare Reform Page

Health and Human Services Welfare Reform Fact Sheet

More...

Counterpoint

Should Congress restore welfare funds for legal immigrants?

Navigation

Infocus

State Block Grant Levels

Fundamental to the new welfare law is Washington's decision to let states manage their own welfare programs, supported by so-called "block grants" from Washington. Those grants, fixed at funding levels for AFDC in fiscal 1995, fiscal 1994 or the average of fiscal 1992-94 (whichever is greatest) vary from state to state. Below are estimates for state-by-state funding per poor child compiled by Congressional Quarterly.

Funding Per Poor Child Per Fiscal Year

Alabama: $363
Alaska: $3,173
Arizona: $834
Arkansas: $376
California: Over $1,500
Colorado: $1,115
Connecticut: $1,682
Delaware: $1,505
District of Columbia: $1,611
Florida: $634
Georgia: $852
Hawaii: $2,335
Idaho: $495
Illinois: $858
Indiana: $751
Iowa: $1,160
Kansas: $821
Kentucky: $665
Louisiana: $344
Maine: $1,382
Maryland: $1,166
Massachusetts: $2,016
Michigan: $1,342
Minnesota: $1,469
Mississippi: $355
Missouri: $713
Montana: $1,160
Nebraska: $867
Nevada: $729
New Hampshire: $1,082
New Jersey: $1,263
New Mexico: $966
New York: Over $1,500
North Carolina: $865
North Dakota: $1,088
Ohio: $1,161
Oklahoma: $655
Oregon: $1,307
Pennsylvania: $1,303
Rhode Island: $2,231
South Carolina: $390
South Dakota: $537
Tennessee: $594
Texas: $339
Utah: $947
Vermont: $2,761
Virginia: $728
Washington: Over $1,500
West Virginia: $843
Wisconsin: $1,463
Wyoming: $1,131
back