Team USA in Rio: The Olympic athletes to follow on Instagram

U.S. Olympic gymnast Simone Biles

Story highlights

  • Team USA is made up of 554 athletes this year
  • They will represent the U.S. in 27 sports

(CNN)From gymnasts to divers to kayakers, some of Team USA's most social savvy athletes are making their mark in Rio de Janiero, one Instagram photo at a time. Here are some of the best personal accounts to follow for a behind-the-scenes look at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games.

Gymnastics

Simone Biles
Aly Raisman

When you're 5'2" and the Cuban volleyball players are 6'9" #ShortGirlProbs

A photo posted by Alexandra Raisman (@alyraisman) on

Sam Mikulak

What do I listen to during workouts? @christofimusic soundcloud.com/christofi

A video posted by Samuel Mikulak (@samuelmikulak) on

Other gymnasts worth following: Gabby Douglas (@gabbycvdouglas), Laurie Hernandez (@lauriehernandez_), Madison Kocian (@madison_kocian), Jake Dalton (@jake_dalton)

Swimming

Michael Phelps
Bonus: Phelps has an infant son, Boomer, who also has an Instagram account.

Mom where did I get this belly?? @nicole.m.johnson

A photo posted by boomer phelps (@boomerrphelps) on

Ryan Lochte

Views from the 4 #drake

A photo posted by Ryanlochte (@ryanlochte) on

Elizabeth Beisel

Some turn action for all the IMers out there #roadtorio vc: @russellmark1226

A video posted by Elizabeth Beisel (@ebeisel34) on

Another swimmer worth following: Jimmy Feigen (@jimmyfeigen)

Volleyball

April Ross

Where the magic happens 😜 getting tailored "backstage" at @poloralphlauren ❤️🇺🇸

A photo posted by April Ross (@aprilrossbeach) on

Rachel Adams

Our balcony view in the Olympic village 😍

A photo posted by Rachael Adams (@rachaeladams) on

Archery

Mackenzie Brown

Getting some good arrows in and a little bit of fun too

A photo posted by Mackenzie Brown (@mackbrown14) on

Rugby

Carlin Isles

Acceleration work, just working on cadence!! #rio #olympics #speedkills #fast #hardwork

A video posted by Carlin Isles (@carlinisles) on

Canoeing and Kayaking

Michal Smolen

Fencing

Miles Chamley-Watson
Dagmara Wozniak

Diving

Sam Dorman

Final big day before we head off to the Olympics! 🇺🇸 #407 #slowmo #cantpointthatstupidrightfoot

A video posted by Sam Dorman (@sam_dorman1) on

Kassidy Cook

Almost time 🇺🇸💪🏽 #TeamUSAOlympicTrials #Rio2016

A photo posted by Kassidy Cook (@kassidycook13) on

Other divers worth following: David Boudia (@davidboudia)

Field Hockey

Stefanie Fee

Having fun in the Olympic village! #un1ted #rioolympics2016

A photo posted by Stefanie Fee (@stefee2) on

Modern Pentathalon

Margaux Isaksen

5 days post operation and back at it. When the going gets tough the tough get going. #RoadtoRio

A photo posted by Margaux Isaksen (@margauxisaksen) on

Soccer

Crystal Dunn

Steppin into pregame training like...💁🏾

A photo posted by Crystal Dunn (@cdunn19) on