Planned simulcast of Prince's 'Nothing Compares 2 U' on radio

Story highlights

  • The timing coincides with lyric in the Prince song
  • A radio station in his hometown of Minneapolis started the effort

(CNN)In Prince's song "Nothing Compares 2 U," he sings, "It's been seven hours and 13 days since you took your love away."

At 6:07 p.m. ET (5:07 p.m. CT /3:07 p.m. PT) Wednesday, some radio stations across the country are planning to play that song seven hours and 13 days since the surprising passing of the superstar singer.
    The effort to honor Prince, who died April 21 at age 57, has been led by his hometown radio station KCMP in Minneapolis.
    "I think the shocking suddenness to Prince's passing and at such a young age have combined to throw the entire world for a loop," KCMP program director Jim McGuinn told Billboard.
    "Like (David) Bowie, Prince's music made us all more alive, more accepting, more open to being able to express who we are," McGuinn said. "But, like no artist in our lifetimes, Prince united people with his music. Black, white, young, old, rich, poor, he cut across all boundaries with music that touched on rock, funk, soul, pop, R&B, new wave and jazz, and the world responded."
    Many fans are also familiar with the Sinead O'Connor's 1990 cover of Prince's tune. In her version, she changed the lyric to "seven hours and 15 days."